Old 4th March 2011, 14:12   #646

Re: Quirky logic and funny comments from non-petrol head friends

Originally Posted by RajaTaurus View Post
@Noopster, my experience with Camry - Manual (3 year) and Camry - Automatic (4 years) tells me Auto gives poor mileage in city drives, on highways there was no difference at all. Within City, the automatic crawls in 1st gear with 2-3k rpm and refuses to shift gear, while I used to crawl at 3rd gear with less than 1000 rpm. That makes the difference.
My driving overall with say 70% highway and 30% city traffic in Saudi, I get at least 3 kmpl more with manual than automatic. Of course, it also depends on the driving habits / skills!
OT : You might be the first guy in Saudi to check the mileage

Back to the topic,my friend had asked me whether you need to fill up the tank daily due to bad mileage of an automatic since I have a Corolla AT.

P.S: Though this is a topic for funny comments, a funny observation I have noted is that people who have just shifted to automatics automatically place their hand on the gear lever when they want to shift and the left leg searches for the clutch

Last edited by prateekm : 4th March 2011 at 14:32.
Old 4th March 2011, 14:28   #647

^^ You are absolutely right in two counts. One, checking mileage (I still have an Indian mind you see.!) Second, throwing right hand (there in Saudi) for gear change and left leg searching clutch is absolutely true, hitting the dead pedal wildly. I did it at least for a few months. This happened every time I brake - looking to down-shift.
Old 4th March 2011, 23:35   #648

i've experienced the fiat palio's name as "fiat polio" in a local garage near my place. Lol!!
Old 5th March 2011, 08:29   #649

Way back in the 90's when Tata Sumo was about to get launched, my relative told me this.

"You know dude, Tata is launching a 6-7 seater and its name is Tata Somu."
Old 5th March 2011, 10:10   #650

Originally Posted by callvvijay View Post
Way back in the 90's when Tata Sumo was about to get launched, my relative told me this.

"You know dude, Tata is launching a 6-7 seater and its name is Tata Somu."
On the same note - bulk of my friends have the idea that the SUMO is named so because it is big like a sumo wrestler!!
Old 5th March 2011, 10:22   #651

I have had a couple of people pronounce the new KIZASHI as KICHACHI . They were not able to pronounce the zee in Kizashi . So when you combine with Maruti, it reads MARUTI KI CHACHI . regret the poor joke, but thats how it sounded to me and i coudnt help laughing
Old 5th March 2011, 12:04   #652

Originally Posted by blackasta View Post
On the same note - bulk of my friends have the idea that the SUMO is named so because it is big like a sumo wrestler!!
although know now that its actually for "Sumant Moolgaonkar"
sorry, but i always thought, still do, that that IS the context.
ie, BIG....

Last edited by mayankk : 5th March 2011 at 12:06.
Old 5th March 2011, 12:31   #653

Originally Posted by prats View Post
They were not able to pronounce the zee in Kizashi.
I guess even I will never be able to pronounce the 'zee' in Kizashi either. I am stuck with the way they taught me in school to pronounce it as 'zed'.
Old 5th March 2011, 12:46   #654

Originally Posted by blackasta View Post
IMO, the only car that truly deserves to be called a Sumo is the Swift Dzire. The rear of both the car and the wrestler are quite identical.
Old 13th March 2011, 12:57   #655

Funny Used Car / Bike Advertisements

Hello Folks,

We all must have come across some funny car / bike advertisements when searching the Internet or going through the classifieds in newspapers or magazines. The choice of words is very important when giving an advertisement. A selection of wrong words or even a mix up of the right words changes the complete meaning of the advertisement!

Fellow Team-BHPians, if you have come across any funny advertisements, please do share!

Here is one such advertisement that I found on the Internet for a used Premier 118 NE. (Remember, the person wants to SELL the car! Enjoy!)

"I would like to purchase my Premier 118 NE, 1995 make, grey color, petrol vehicle,

A/C fitted company color no changes, excellent upholestry, new seats, new matting, new excide battery and brand new tyres. running very smooth.. no jerks. starts in first ignition. no dents, no scratches.

gear box is pantastic.

I would like to sell it immeadiately.

interested people can contact me at xx-xxxxxxxxxx, Individuals will be given priority."

Moderators : Please let me know if I need to mention the website from which I have quoted this advertisement.

Regards and Keep Revving,

Rahul Waghmare.
Old 13th March 2011, 13:07   #656

Re: Funny Used Car / Bike Advertisements

Generally in Mumbai illiterate agents give their advrt in local newspapers and it turns out like this,for sale of a used 1995 Maruti 800.

For sale maruti 800 yr 95 parsi used contact zafarali bhai on xx xxxxxxxx, distressed sale
Old 13th March 2011, 14:57   #657

Re: Funny Used Car / Bike Advertisements

I remember seeing one ad for a used Santro Xing in Deccan Chronicle paper in Hyderabad a few years back. The interesting part of the ad line went like this.

"Full Blown A/C with hot chilling capacity and cool heater"
Old 16th March 2011, 18:02   #658

Got a call, two minutes back, from a TML sales rep (SR) after I'd enquired about Safari 4x4 by calling a dealership:

SR: You're looking for 4x4?
Me: Yes
SR: You don't need 4x4, Safari has 140 PS as compared to 120 PS of Scorpio. There is enough power, you don't need 4x4.
Me: What if I want to go off road?
SR: You can buy Tata Aria!!!
Me: Thank you, bye (while having a laugh).
Old 16th March 2011, 19:00   #659

One of my colleagues had the image of a Harley Davidson' as his desktop background.
I asked which bike it's and he said 'Williamson' bike from US.
Old 23rd March 2011, 16:55   #660

In my school days i was led to believe that Dx stands for Deluxe and Vx = Video

in another case, a fellow resident for my complex had a look at our linea and was all praises for it.

later he says "See-nga-pore and America mein bahut dekha hai, badiya car hai" (seen a lot of them in seengapore and america)

Me: Lost for words sheepishly had to say "haan uncle bahut chalta hai"
didnt want to be rude to the old man after all the praises he had showered

and on hearing the door closing with a heavy "thud" the guard asks "jaam ho gaya kya" ( have the doors jammed)