Old 8th April 2011, 16:13   #676

Re: Quirky logic and funny comments from non-petrol head friends

For a change, a non-petrol head friend had me stumped, when he asked why the hatches have rear-wiper but sedans dont, while he thinks it should be the opposite. His logic was that given the rear glass of hatches are more perpendicular compared to the slanted glass of sedans, water should easily flow down with hatches compared to sedans. So, sedans need the wiper more than hatches.

I did not have an answer. Anyone ?
Old 8th April 2011, 16:20   #677

Originally Posted by supremeBaleno View Post
For a change, a non-petrol head friend had me stumped, when he asked why the hatches have rear-wiper but sedans dont, while he thinks it should be the opposite. His logic was that given the rear glass of hatches are more perpendicular compared to the slanted glass of sedans, water should easily flow down with hatches compared to sedans. So, sedans need the wiper more than hatches.

On the contrary, since sedans have slanted rear windshields, the wind (air flow) over the rear glass will dry the water, which is not the case with hatchbacks with more "perpendicular" rear windshields.
Old 8th April 2011, 16:25   #678

The rear windshield of vehicles without a boot are splattered with dust, mud etc. The provision for rear wash-wipe is more to do with cleaning the glass of this mud/dust.
Old 8th April 2011, 18:31   #679

Originally Posted by kiku007 View Post
The rear windshield of vehicles without a boot are splattered with dust, mud etc. The provision for rear wash-wipe is more to do with cleaning the glass of this mud/dust.
+1

Yes, the main purpose of rear windshield wash wipe is mainly remove dust, mud.

Hatches are more susceptible to these than sedans, hence most hatches have one, and sedans don't. However most think that the wipers are for wiping clear only water, and seldom use it to remove dust.
Old 8th April 2011, 21:35   #680

The technical term is creation of vortex due to which the rear windscreen on hatches get covered with mud whereas those of sedans don't.

This post will explain the concept better http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian...ml#post2018619

Last edited by MileCruncher : 8th April 2011 at 21:36.
Old 12th April 2011, 16:31   #681

My friend had bought a new Karizma ZMR and had posted pics on Facebook.
Some smart chap had commented on one of the pics and it read:
"Hey do you want to modify it?? We will add a V8 to it."
Old 12th April 2011, 17:33   #682

^^

can fix a seperate carrier and mount the engine!
Old 12th April 2011, 17:38   #683

Originally Posted by StrangeWizard View Post
"Hey do you want to modify it?? We will add a V8 to it."
V8!!!

Originally Posted by Latheesh View Post
^^

can fix a seperate carrier and mount the engine!
Or a trailer can be coupled to carry the new mill
Old 12th April 2011, 18:19   #684

My friends and me were going out somewhere when we spotted a Bentley. As usual I started drooling and my friend(doesn't have a clue about cars) said, " people buy these cars only because they are good looking. They have nothing in them. khaali dabba gaadi hai yeh toh!"
And according to him there is only 1 car that retails for 5 lacs i.e. Swift.

There are also some people who don't know anything about ex-showroom price, OTR price, octroi, different variants available in the car. They think that a car has got only 1 fixed price. My another friend told me that VW Polo comes for 4 lacs and Jetta for 10lacs.

^^ The above chap also said that even BMWs and Mercs don't offer power windows and music systems in base variants, then why to pay 30-40 lacs for them.
Old 12th April 2011, 18:40   #685

just found this thread- quite hilarious.

of the many quirks that i have endured - the one that sticks out -

was a friends friend talking about his Nexia- "Man, this car is so awesome that when the car reaches 6000 RPM the turbo really kicks in"

And - this is verbatim - i kid you not!
Old 12th April 2011, 23:04   #686

Originally Posted by madan80 View Post
was a friends friend talking about his Nexia- "Man, this car is so awesome that when the car reaches 6000 RPM the turbo really kicks in"
Well, I have no clue about the turbo kicking thing, but I do know that the Nexia was regarded as a hoot to drive by many car magazines, but was overshadowed by the City I think.
Old 12th April 2011, 23:20   #687

For a change, a non-petrol head friend had me stumped, when he asked why the hatches have rear-wiper but sedans dont,
Accent viva had rear wipers.

One of my friends drives a swift diesel. I asked him about turbo lag and I was shocked when he said that his car doesn't have a turbo.
Old 13th April 2011, 12:07   #688

Originally Posted by bluevolt View Post
Accent viva had rear wipers.
Well, the Accent Viva was a hatchback, and as much as a sedan. The hatch of the Viva opens completely including the rear windscreen. A 5 door vehicle is considered as a hatchback.

That is why some Octys and 309s have rear wipers.
Old 13th April 2011, 12:14   #689

Originally Posted by Arkin evoisrevo View Post
Well, the Accent Viva was a hatchback, and as much as a sedan. The hatch of the Viva opens completely including the rear windscreen. A 5 door vehicle is considered as a hatchback.

That is why some Octys and 309s have rear wipers.
Technically it is correct to call the Hyundai Accent Viva, Skoda Octavia (and likes) a - 'notchback'.

Last edited by Klub Class : 13th April 2011 at 12:22.
Old 13th April 2011, 14:12   #690

Originally Posted by StrangeWizard View Post
My friends and me were going out somewhere when we spotted a Bentley. As usual I started drooling and my friend(doesn't have a clue about cars) said, " people buy these cars only because they are good looking. They have nothing in them. khaali dabba gaadi hai yeh toh!"
And according to him there is only 1 car that retails for 5 lacs i.e. Swift.

There are also some people who don't know anything about ex-showroom price, OTR price, octroi, different variants available in the car. They think that a car has got only 1 fixed price. My another friend told me that VW Polo comes for 4 lacs and Jetta for 10lacs.

^^ The above chap also said that even BMWs and Mercs don't offer power windows and music systems in base variants, then why to pay 30-40 lacs for them.
Very very true.

After I bought an i10 1.2 Sportz variant, one of my cousin thought that the salesman cheated me as i10 is available for 3.5lac, very less than 4.8lacs at which I got my i10 for!

My cousin thinks of only one single price; the price for that variant which one of his friends or relatives had bought.
Safari for 7 lac, civic for 10 lac and mercedeeez for 20lac