Team-BHP > Shifting gears
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 1st December 2011, 14:37   #856
BHPian

Re: Quirky logic and funny comments from non-petrol head friends

About a month ago i sold my Esteem to a friend of mine who happens to be a complete novice when it comes to cars. This was his first car, so before i handed over the vehicle to him i patiently sat and told him how to go about regular checks/maintainance i.e. checking coolant levels, engine oil etc etc.

After he took delevery of the car, once in a while he used to call me for queries like how to top up the wiper wash fluid, when to use choke to start etc.

Now here's the best part, this morning he calls me (Sounding totally panicy over the phone) here's how our conversation went:

Friend - "Aadith, what is that meter that comes on the right side of the speedo meter with C&H written on it? (Referring to the temperature gauge)

Me- Hmmm...that's the temperature gauge (I couldnt help but think that my poor friend would have forgotten to top up coolant and would have seized the engine)

Friend- Daiii...it's stuck just above C da, why isin't it going up all the way till H. How to fill the temperature gauge fully

That was it...i burst out laughing and explained to him what optmum engine running temperature is and so on and so forth!
aadithsince1980 is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 1st December 2011, 14:44   #857
Senior - BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by pankaj09 View Post
i once went to a WASAN TATA showroom in Mumbai and inquired about the Indigo.

I asked the salesperson "How powerful the A/c is?" he replied saying "It is a 1.5 ton A/c"

There is nothing funny about this. Ton is an accepted unit of refrigeration and is not limited to just house hold units. A ton basically means it requires a ton of ice to meet the cooling demands of the room. And 1.5 Ton is an OK number for the car.
anilisanil is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 1st December 2011, 15:12   #858
BHPian