Old 6th August 2012, 11:34   #991

Originally Posted by radek

Or you are probably pointing to angry reaction of your friend.
Yes, im aware of the fact that not everyone knows the word ICE. I was pointing to the reaction as well as how we tend to converse with our non petrol head friends using these words, not realizing they'd ve no idea !
Old 6th August 2012, 11:55   #992

Re: Quirky logic and funny comments from non-petrol head friends

Originally Posted by shashank.nk View Post
Yes, im aware of the fact that not everyone knows the word ICE. I was pointing to the reaction as well as how we tend to converse with our non petrol head friends using these words, not realizing they'd ve no idea !
Better than what my dad said, when I said I will have to upgrade his new dzire's "ICE" if he wants a dash mounted screen for reversing.
Told me, "main koi college ka baccha nahi hoon jo gaadi mein baith ke cold-drink peeyunga."
(I am not a college student who will drink cold-drinks and will need ICE in the car).

mayankk is online now   (4) Thanks
Old 6th August 2012, 12:17   #993

Thread is going in a straight & speedy manner. Peoples are not even saving their father and grandfather.

I have also talked with some professional drivers about turbo chargers & inter coolers and they understood that function of turbo charger is to keep clean engine & inter cooler function is to keep engine cool. What to say?
Old 6th August 2012, 12:29   #994

I have never been a fan of ICE. All I need is a music system that can play MP3 from USB drive. Only recently I found out what the aux port is for! In my 4 year old car, the aux port has never been used. CD reader was used once or twice.

So when an email came from a friend a couple of years ago, saying one shouldn't switch on ICE immediately after switching on the car, but wait for some 15 minutes (so that one can notice any unusual sounds), I shot back a question to my friend: how can you move the car without switching on Internal Combustion Engine?
rohanjf is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 6th August 2012, 12:41   #995

Originally Posted by ac 427 View Post
my cousin (from surat): wow you brought a brio.
me: yes
my cousin: arey how much bhp it has
me: 88 bhp
my cousin: arey yaar you should have got the i20 it has 1200 bhp.
me: fainted.
volkswagen did all that for a 1000BHP veyron .... who knew i20 already mastered the art for mass production

Last edited by ankur_fox : 6th August 2012 at 12:44.
Old 6th August 2012, 19:41   #996

This is the conversation, which i had with my so called petrol head friend few hours back.

He- On seeing a superb on the road, You know superb is an awesome car.

I
- Ya, great car, No doubt. But A.S.S of skoda is not that good.

He
- Stops for a while and again says, You know my elder brother drove his friend's superb and did over 150 kmph in 2nd gear.

I- , Are you crazy or what ? 150 in 2nd gear.

He- You don't know, Cars like superb can easily do speed over 200kmph. These cars have speed limit of 400-450 Kmph.

I- You're dumb, buddy. Even cars like ferrari etc can't do speed in excess of 300kmph easily, and most of the some super cars have limited speed till 290-300kmph from the factory itself.

He- You don't know anything, Superb can easily do 150 in 2nd gear, with top speed of 350-400 kmph.

I-

Not to forget, I didn't started any automotive conversation with him after this.

Sameer

Last edited by sameerg001 : 6th August 2012 at 19:44.
Old 6th August 2012, 20:10   #997

One of my very knowledgeable friends once said, "Bigger cars (like Merc, BMW) have better fuel efficiency than Santro, Alto".

His logic: "Obviously, then why are they so expensive".

If at any moment I tell him torque, bhp figures of a car he says " yeh mechanic knowledge mereko nahi chahiye (I dont need any of this mechanic knowledge)" .
Old 6th August 2012, 20:11   #998

Originally Posted by sameerg001 View Post
Not to forget, I didn't started any automotive conversation with him after this.
yes yes, very advisable course of action for the sake of your sanity! else, he might even make you sit in that Superb
IronH4WK is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th August 2012, 20:19   #999

Originally Posted by IronH4WK

yes yes, very advisable course of action for the sake of your sanity! else, he might even make you sit in that Superb
What are you guys talking about?
There's a skoda RIGHT HERE on tbhp that could do those figures.
One marketing head, I think, his pet project.
Search for it.
Worth your while.

Last edited by mayankk : 6th August 2012 at 20:29.
Old 6th August 2012, 20:26   #1000

Originally Posted by mayankk View Post
What are you guys talking about?
There's a skoda RIGHT HERE on tbhp that kept could do those figures.
One marketing head, I think, his pet project.
Search for it.
Worth your while.
you're kidding, right?

150kmph in 2nd gear and top speed of 400-450kmph?

edit: found it - looky here!

Last edited by IronH4WK : 6th August 2012 at 20:37.
IronH4WK is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 6th August 2012, 20:28   #1001

Originally Posted by IronH4WK

you're kidding, right?

400-450kmph?
Not kidding.
Search for Indian skoda quad Cam.
May be the most amazing 10minutes of your life.
Old 6th August 2012, 22:53   #1002

Originally Posted by IronH4WK View Post
How i wish, I could sit in THAT superb *evil grin*

Originally Posted by mayankk View Post
Not kidding.
Search for Indian skoda quad Cam.
May be the most amazing 10minutes of your life.
Went through the entire and I just can't believe those figures, Unless I sit in that SKODA which can do 150kmph in 2nd gear.

Or I missed the joke here ?

Here's the another conversation, which i had with SAME so called petrol head friend of mine.

He- We booked a XUV.

I- Great buddy, which one ? W6 or W8 ?

He- W8

I- FWD OR AWD ?

He- AWD

I- Do you really need AWD just for driving that car in City like Delhi ?

He- We wanted to get the top-end version, we don't buy lower models.

I- Do you really know, What AWD is and what are the benefits on AWD over FWD ? Explaining him that features in both of the W8's are same.

He- Ya, I know yaar. Jisme do gear hote hai, Vo AWD hoti hai and Jisme ek gear hota hai vo FWD. ( The car with 2 gear levers is AWD and one with single gear is FWD )

I- Cutting his point in Between, Congratulations for the car

Really, Didn't wanted to hear any more automotive talks from him.

Sameer

Last edited by sameerg001 : 6th August 2012 at 22:56.
Old 6th August 2012, 23:38   #1003

Originally Posted by sameerg001

How i wish, I could sit in THAT superb *evil grin*

Went through the entire and I just can't believe those figures, Unless I sit in that SKODA which can do 150kmph in 2nd gear.

Or I missed the joke here ?
sameer,come on man!
that thread is the best pick-me-up ever!

h4wk- how hard did you laugh?

i think that octy has made it out,and its what was driven to 150 in 2nd.
mayankk is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 7th August 2012, 00:49   #1004

Originally Posted by mayankk
h4wk- how hard did you laugh?
Thanks to you, half my dinner almost resurfaced! At first I thought you were serious
Old 7th August 2012, 01:07   #1005

Originally Posted by IronH4WK View Post
you're kidding, right?

150kmph in 2nd gear and top speed of 400-450kmph?

edit: found it - looky here!

Thanks IronH4WK sir, I am wide awake now.