Old 7th May 2014, 13:25   #1156

Re: Quirky logic and funny comments from non-petrol head friends

I was asked this by a friend, only yesterday, who saw a picture on Facebook, of my Gurkha with it's front right wheel inside a deep ditch -
Quote -
You must get a lot of punctures. Do you know how to repair them, or change a tire?
- Unquote
Old 7th May 2014, 14:00   #1157

This is the limit of everything

This is a comment by one of my classmates and please note that I m from a clas of Mechanical Engineers

One fine day, while travelling in the Delhi metro my friend proclaims to me
That how does Tata manage to run the indica on only two pistons.?

Me shocked and confused asked him on what does he exactly meant?

He again simplified that how Does Tata manage to rUN two pistons in V configuration.

I laughed at him and asked him what made him think so?

He said isnt the engine named V2?
And I almost jumped off the train after listenening that.

I laughed for nearly 5 minutes and then prooved him on how V2 is a moniker for "Version 2" and not V-2
And that indica has an inline 4 configuration

Even till the evening I couldnt forget this!

Made my day.
Old 13th June 2014, 06:52   #1158

I have this colleague who was talking about his M5, I got excited and asked him to bring it because I wanted to see it. Imagine my disappointment - and amusement - when his "M5" turned out to be a 528i with msport package! The guy actually thinks his car is an M5 and is very excited about it, I didn't want to bust his party .

Last edited by rajushank84 : 13th June 2014 at 06:53.
Old 20th June 2014, 11:01   #1159

I don't know whether this is the right place for this post. Various reasons were given for painting the words "Horn OK Please" on the back side of most of the trucks in India.

1. Those days when there were only single lane roads, trucks used to have a light bulb hung by the side of the words OK. So, whenever, the vehicle following the truck wanted to overtake, the driver of the truck used to switch on the bulb once it is OK for the vehicle to overtake. And honk to let know of the truck driver of your intention to overtake.

2. Advertisement for OK detergent soap

3. During world war II days, trucks transporting troops were run "On Kerosene" and were not reliable on road and hence the warning "On Kerosene"
Old 30th June 2014, 21:28   #1160

This one is a week old.

We had brought a new Omni to replace our old one and it was just a week old during the time of this incident.

I had just come back from office. My brother told me that there was petrol leaking from the exhaust of the Omni (he had tried to drive it). I started it, and when I checked, I found out that it was water and not petrol.

I rankle my brother whenever I get the chance, about this incident.
Old 1st July 2014, 08:31   #1161

From someone who participated in Pebble Beach Concours and many heritage (classic) car shows in India, has a collection of enviable heritage bikes and I initially thought to believe, but could not.

The X1 at present is the erstwhile X5 or X3, can't recall which, but either of the both.
Old 1st July 2014, 13:14   #1162

This one is unique.

One day my neighbor was traveling with me to our office as he had some work nearby.
We were in my office's Maruti Van. We were doing a decent 70kmph, when a Safari zoomed past me, a few moments later, a Scorpio followed. On seeing this we had the following conversation:

He: What's the speed of the car?( He was sitting at the back, and my driver was driving.)

Me: 70 Kmph.

He: You know, the speed of the Safari and the Scorpio was also close to 70 kmph?

Me: No bhai! It must be at least 85kmph.

He: Are Nahi... Uske tyre bade hai, to jada nahi ghumte. Apne tyre chote hain to bas ghumte hi rahte hai... Apna 70 kmph aur uska 70 kmph alag alag hai...

Me and my driver were in splits...
Old 3rd July 2014, 11:37   #1163

A 'Bike for sale' email had this as in the list specifications of the bike:
Name:  karizma.GIF
Views: 3134
Size:  2.2 KB
Old 3rd July 2014, 15:24   #1164

I collected these from different sources -

1) Hard braking can deploy airbags.

2) ABS and air bags are all gimmick to fetch money. In city they are of no use and in highway i drive slow.

3) From a Maruti Alto 800 driver who used to drive ambassador before- This car is very fast. Just press the accelerator it will just fly off no other car can even come close to this !

4) From an ambassador mechanic who opened the bonnet of a Fiat Palio 1.2- Earlier these engines were used in air crafts now they found there way to these modern cars!!!

5) 5th gear is the special gear. If you engage 5th gear no other car can catch you. It was a statement from the 90's.
Old 3rd July 2014, 15:35   #1165

Heard from a old school mechanic : These days laptops repair cars not mechanic. These are called laptop cars.
Old 3rd July 2014, 16:23   #1166

A few years ago, while I was immersed in an F1 race, my uncle, who happens to be the joker of the family, arrived. He stopped by the TV and a couple of curious minutes of staring-at-the-screen later, he remarked, "Hey! What's this?? Almost all the drivers are South Indians!". This remark both startled and surprised me. I reluctantly peeled my eyes away from the screen and asked him who he meant. This was the reply I got-
"M. Shyamachar, S. Vittal, H. Kovil Annan, K. Rakhi Annan, N. Karthikeyan, etc., etc..".
schakravarthy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd July 2014, 16:27   #1167

This was funny. My manager had bought a new Skoda Fabia and claimed to be a 1.6 version.
We happened to check the new vehicle and he happened to open the hood!
My goodness, it was a 1.2 engine and clearly mentioned in engine cover as 1.2 .

I brought this to his notice. And this is what he said:
"Arey nahin its actually 1.6, by mistake they have placed 1.2 cover"
PrideRed is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd July 2014, 17:03   #1168

Few years back me and my friends hired a Tempo Traveller to go to a trek. The base station of the trek is on the hill for which there is a steep climb. When we were climbing the driver was refusing to engage the first gear and was trying his maximum in the second gear only and was also riding the clutch. On asking him to get on to 1st he told its a special gear only to be used under extreme circumstances and he refused to use it. I tried to explain but he was so clear on his point that we all had to get down so that he can climb on 2nd gear.
He had around 50k driving experience driving a Tempo Traveller.
Old 3rd July 2014, 17:45   #1169

There is this person I know who said that it would be impossible for the police to tow a vehicle if it is parked and left in 2nd gear. Apparently, it can be done in 1st but not in 2nd.
Old 3rd July 2014, 18:12   #1170

CBZ was the first 4 stroke bike with a 5th cog.

- I heard my neighbor claiming that CBJee has 5 gears and you can engage 5th only after 100 km/h.
- At toyota ASS, one driver was claiming that a Qualis can never topple even at 140kmph.