Re: The Cricket Thread

100 x 100 is achieved! what next.. 150?
Old 16th March 2012, 16:59   #6737

Originally Posted by download2live View Post
Somebody please go and fix up a match of Indians with Netherlands or Bangladesh or Kenya so that Tendulkar can get his darned 100th century and get over with it.

The kind of media attention this is getting, sheesh.
Finally the tamasha is over. Hopefully he will hang up his boots now.
Old 16th March 2012, 17:00   #6738

Hats off to master blaster.

He has given so much for this nation. A true Gentleman.

Let us enjoy this landmark and leave the discussion / comparison to a later occasion.

Last edited by BheemBoy : 16th March 2012 at 17:01. Reason: Edited HTML quotes
Old 16th March 2012, 17:04   #6739

Finally the tamasha is over. Hopefully he will hang up his boots now.
Yes and for all the talk of "he is not going after records", he had a better strike rate before scoring the hundred, slowed down just so that he could get his hundred and then finally went off scoring 114 off 147 balls. Yes right selfless.
Old 16th March 2012, 17:04   #6740

Salute our Master of Cricket. He has scored so many hundreds for us to celebrate, But let this to be his own century. Kindly do NOT criticize his great innings today! To me, it really doesn't matter if we lose this match because this slow RR. But this match will be remembered as Cricket God's milestone and
signs of his retirement(?).

Once again, Kudos to Sachin. I started watching cricket because of him, my BP always on high when he is batting @ 90s.
Old 16th March 2012, 17:10   #6741
Oxy

So now Sachin has 49 ODI hundreds right?

No prizes for guessing the next media circus act. The trauma is far from over.
Old 16th March 2012, 17:17   #6742

I guess this is not the way he wanted to go. Scoring a century against MIGHTY Bangladesh. If he (hopefully) has plans to go now that is.

In contrast see how gracefully Rahul Dravid bowed out.
Old 16th March 2012, 17:21   #6743

Please Retire now. Let others to come forward.
Old 16th March 2012, 17:35   #6744

I guess this is not the way he wanted to go. Scoring a century against MIGHTY Bangladesh. If he (hopefully) has plans to go now that is.

In contrast see how gracefully Rahul Dravid bowed out.
That was the first century he scored against the Bangladesh.
People tend to forget how he scored 99 other hundreds.
Had he not scored a century today then the lines would be 'Ohh ! He can't score against the Bangladeshis !'

At the end of the day, a century is a century and this is the 100th century.

How many times has this been discussed about Sachin's retirement in last 5 years and how many times has he silenced the critics !

Is he a slow fielder or unsafe catcher today?
No.

Is he a slow runner between the wickets?
No !

Has he lost his batting technique and can't play the ball well?
No !!

Does he feel anything like 39years old ?
No !!! Not at all.

Any good reason why he should retire ?
How many world class - Sachin standard player has India produced in last 5 years?

Please leave the poor guy and let him enjoy the game as much as he can.
Old 16th March 2012, 17:38   #6745

I would like to know how many super-talented youngsters (like Virat Kohli) are being forced to sit out of the team because SRT is playing. I guess that number would be around 0.

Virat Kohli - yes, he is doing great and hence he is a regular starter.
Rohit Sharma - he has talent no doubt, but can we put him in the same bracket as Kohli? IMO, not yet.
Suresh Raina: True flat-track bully. Again regular starter in ODI team.

Who else? Rahane? Pujara?

I don't think India is overflowing with batting talent who can replace Tendulkar. That said, I don't think Tendulkar can be a part of the next WC team. So he must retire from ODIs atleast 2 years before the next WC. I'm sure he will make that decision when the time is right.
Old 16th March 2012, 20:32   #6746

So I guess many of you guys wouldnt mind gracefully retiring at 40 and giving a "chance" to "youngsters" to do your job and excel at it. How many volunteers do I see here?
Old 16th March 2012, 20:44   #6747

I hope Sachin's 100 isn't going to cost us the game. We looked set to score 300+.

Bangladesh needs 57 from 39 with 6 wickets in hand.
Old 16th March 2012, 21:10   #6748

We need a death bowler, and need him fast !
Old 16th March 2012, 21:14   #6749

Originally Posted by StarrySky View Post
Rohit Sharma - he has talent no doubt, but can we put him in the same bracket as Kohli? IMO, not
Flat track bully.
Failed miserably in South Africa.
Had fun against WI in India.
Failed in Australia.
Old 16th March 2012, 21:15   #6750
PPS

My mom predicted at 5pm that whenever Sachin scores a 100 India looses! I laughed it off at that time, but i guess she is about to be proved right.
Lets give some credit to Bangladesh also, they are a decent team in home conditions.

Last edited by PPS : 16th March 2012 at 21:17.