Old 6th April 2013, 18:07   #136

Re: Nationwide UID - will it work?

Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
Really? I was told they need the DIN key in their PC when they upload the document to the government website.
That is a stupid system!!! The site should allow uploading of signed documents without requiring the key at upload time. If a key is required during upload, it should be the auditor's key - that should be authentication and not for signing.

Of course, one should be thankful that biometric authentication isn't used. Otherwise you may have had to leave your finger or iris with the auditor :-)

You may not see the problem, but I do. I am familiar with digital encryption and regularly use openssl library in my work. I have designed many secure systems based on RSA public/private encryption.
I have also worked for many years on PKI & cryptography & security in general :-) Not now, though.

Last edited by carboy : 6th April 2013 at 18:16.
Old 9th April 2013, 15:04   #137

Some news on Aadhar - Date of birth to be incorporated in 'Aadhaar' cards
As per available information, more than Rs 2,000 crore have been spent on the UID scheme and 23 crore citizens have been enrolled while 21 crore Aadhaar numbers have been generated so far, Prabhune said.
2,000 crore for 21 crore numbers, that is 95 rupees is spent to generate 1 UID number, so far.

Last edited by msdivy : 9th April 2013 at 15:09.
Old 9th April 2013, 15:21   #138

Originally Posted by msdivy View Post
2,000 crore for 21 crore numbers, that is 95 crore rupees is spent to generate 1 UID number, so far.
You mean Rs.95 per UID?
Old 9th April 2013, 16:06   #139

You mean Rs.95 per UID?
Yes, I have corrected in my post.
Old 16th May 2013, 10:42   #140

http://m.thehindu.com/business/Indus...ce/?secid=2780

Surreptitiously making UID compulsory. Why is UID the only ID, why not PAN also? That is anyway linked to bank account.
Old 29th May 2013, 21:56   #141

I stay at Kasturi Nagar Bangalore. Should i visit Dooravani Nagar Post office ITI colony enrolment center or Indira Nagar 1st stage enrolment center?
Old 30th May 2013, 04:05   #142

There are contact phone numbers in UIDAI site. Suggest you call them up and check whether they cover your constituency or not.

-Ravi
Old 30th May 2013, 12:40   #143

Originally Posted by WindRide View Post
I stay at Kasturi Nagar Bangalore. Should i visit Dooravani Nagar Post office ITI colony enrolment center or Indira Nagar 1st stage enrolment center?
You can visit any center anywhere in India as long as you have all the documents.

Your aadhar card will arrive at the address proof you've provided.
Old 2nd July 2013, 11:38   #144

Is anyone able to download Eaadhar from the website.

Have been trying for last one month, using IE 8 and chrome. No success till date.
Old 2nd July 2013, 14:31   #145

Now the babus are trying to push the defunct (in my view) National Population Register through TV advertisements.
Old 2nd July 2013, 14:35   #146

Originally Posted by sgiitk View Post
Now the babus are trying to push the defunct (in my view) National Population Register through TV advertisements.
Yeah, I have been hearing these very silly ADs on car FM radio. I thought it was same as the Adhaar card.
Old 2nd July 2013, 14:55   #147

Yeah, I have been hearing these very silly ADs on car FM radio. I thought it was same as the Adhaar card.
No it is not - the babu-neta version. I did hear that when they call you they will pick up data from Aadhar which is UID (how I do not know).
Old 2nd July 2013, 20:28   #148
NPV

Originally Posted by lambuhere1 View Post
Is anyone able to download Eaadhar from the website.

Have been trying for last one month, using IE 8 and chrome. No success till date.
No luck, don't know if it's a browser compatibility issue since it does not even display an error message.
Other times, it's server side issues with internal server error
So far I've see both issues and still haven't been able to download the eAadhaar.
Old 2nd July 2013, 21:16   #149

Originally Posted by sgiitk View Post
I did hear that when they call you they will pick up data from Aadhar which is UID (how I do not know).
That means data is shared between different departments? Does that feel very secure?

Originally Posted by NPV View Post
No luck, don't know if it's a browser compatibility issue since it does not even display an error message.
Other times, it's server side issues with internal server error
So far I've see both issues and still haven't been able to download the eAadhaar.
In case of government web services, security is provided by being dysfunctional.
Old 8th July 2013, 22:36   #150

I had enrolled for Aadhar on 09/04/13. Today, when i checked the online status at their website, it says 'EID provided by you is still not available with us. Please check back after few days'.

It has been more than 3 months since the enrollment. Does it take so long for to receive the data?