Old 25th November 2022, 10:46   #5971

Re: The Credit Card Thread

Originally Posted by ballfry View Post
Can someone chime in on how long the approximate wait time is for Amex to process a new card application?

I am travelling internationally for a short while and would like to know if the card can be expected to arrive in about a week.
I applied in october. VKYC took 2 days and card came 2 days later. Amex is running a referral offer right now where you get additional points as well as the referrer. DM if you need a referral.
bharanidharang is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 26th November 2022, 09:52   #5972

Originally Posted by Sahil View Post
Good card and good offer from Axis. I have just applied and asked them to match my limit of my HDFC Infinia, let's see if they manage to do so as the limit is high.

Taking this as my secondary card based on this review: https://www.cardexpert.in/axis-vistara-infinite-review/

Since Air India will soon absorb Vistara, it maybe a good time to start accumulating points as they will in all likelihood do a direct points swap/merger to air india points once the process is fully done. This although may take sometime.
Did you apply for it online through their website? I called them up to change my existing Axis CC to one of these but they said they cannot do it and it is only through online applications. The customer care guy offered me the Magnus CC instead which also has some travel benefits.
Pancham is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th November 2022, 10:05   #5973

Originally Posted by Pancham View Post
Did you apply for it online through their website? I called them up to change my existing Axis CC to one of these but they said they cannot do it and it is only through online applications. The customer care guy offered me the Magnus CC instead which also has some travel benefits.
I did it online but then did a physical KYC instead of the online one. They have taken a long time internally for this but I got an email yesterday that decision will be given by Monday. Reason I opted for physical was to be able to show them my existing credit card bill and limit. Have told them I will refuse the card if limit not matched.

Magnus is good but reward % not as good as the Vistara. You can compare them on www.cardexpert.in where both reviews are there.

My Infinia is primary card and 90% spends are on it, secondary card is citi premier miles which ain’t that good anymore hence getting this. Also I’ve realised domestically I’m flying Vistara 80% of the times anyway.

Last edited by Sahil : 26th November 2022 at 10:07.
Sahil is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 27th November 2022, 01:43   #5974

The customer care guy offered me the Magnus CC instead which also has some travel benefits.
Grab it with all the hands you have with your eyes closed!

It offers free VIP service in Indian airports (upto 8 times max with each passenger being charged as 1 time) and unlimited domestic and international lounges. At International lounge you also get to take 8 free guests. This alone is worth its 10000 fee. But this is not it's biggest feature.

Magnus offers 25,000 bonus points on spending 1 lakh points in a calendar month, on top of existing 12 points per 200 (minimum). It also has offers like 20x points or Jockey, 45x points on Marks & Spencer etc. on Axis Grabdeals (It is like HDFC Smartbuy). This is capped at max 10000 points per month. So if you buy Jockey things worth 4000, you will get back 8400 points. Read on to know how to get maximum value for these.

So on 1 lakh spends, you get minimum of 31,000 points and can easily get 35,000 points. That's 35,000 points which is worth only Rs. 7000 and is 7% return.

Now if suppose you are not exited by that, and are like well I can get 10% elsewhere, then wait, there is more.

You can transfer points from Traveledge to Vistara, Club ITC, Qatar Airways, Marriott, Hyatt, etc. at 5:4 points ratio. so 35,000 points become 28000 points there. At Vistara you can easily get them to be worth 0.8 to 1.6 Rs per point depending on when and where you are booking, to it becomes a whopping 26-40% return on spends. Like Vistara Delhi to London direct flight on 22 Jan right now costs Rs 52,000. But with points it is 30,000 points + 1395 taxes. Also, with Vistara rolling into Air India, the network is just gonna expand. Or you can transfer the points to Club ITC at 5:4 and then transfer them from ITC to Marriott at 2:3, making your effective transfer to Marriott be 5:6.

So if you are a avid traveler and know how to use points, this card is going to be amazing for you. But you have to know how to use the Grabdeals portal as it is same HDFC Smartbuy to extract maximum benefits.
anti21 is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 27th November 2022, 08:56   #5975

Originally Posted by anti21 View Post
Grab it with all the hands you have with your eyes closed!

It offers free VIP service in Indian airports (upto 8 times max with each passenger being charged as 1 time) and unlimited domestic and international lounges. At International lounge you also get to take 8 free guests. This alone is worth its 10000 fee.
Okay, so this is interesting. The customer care guy did not give me these details. One question, what is this ‘VIP service’ in Indian airports? What all does it include?
Old 27th November 2022, 09:53   #5976

Okay, so this is interesting. The customer care guy did not give me these details. One question, what is this ‘VIP service’ in Indian airports? What all does it include?
Best to ask in the "Airlines and Airports" threads (there are two of them), but based on observations, I think there are 4 types of VIPs:

1. People flying non-economy classes.
2. Celebrities (not everyone, but the real big ones - say, a top cricketer or actor)
3. People the airline considers as VIPs (business leaders, other stars, prize/award winners etc.)
4. People who the government consider are VIPs (politicians, senior officers of the administration, official guests of government...).

I have only seen access to airport VIP services via non-VIP route (credit card, airline loyalty programme or by simply paying for it) only under category 1 above. Basically - separate check-in counters, priority boarding/disembarking, priority luggage retrieval and lounge access.
Old 27th November 2022, 13:14   #5977

It is Meet and Greet service also available at a price at most major Airports (Generally 2500 without lounge access and 3500 with lounge access). What it is basically you get a porter and an executive who takes you and your luggage through priority entrance gate, then via a buggy to check in counter (where they request for Business/Priority check in granting it is on the hands of the airline and not on them, if airlines decline, you have to go through standard lines while they accompany you). Then they take you to priority security check via buggy. Then if you want to go to lounge (or have taken the lounge one), they will drop you to the lounge. The porter will then go and wait at the gate for boarding to start and once it starts, will come and get you to drop you off at the gate (via buggy). You get this for 8 max persons in a year. So if you are traveling as family of 4, 4 out of 8 will be used up or you can use it for yourself 8 times while traveling.

In case, you take it at time of arrivals, they will pick you up at gate, then pick your luggage with you at luggage belt and then drop the luggage off in drop off area or parking (wherever your car is).

I also forgot to mention, Magnus gives you a 10000 worth Tata CLIQ vouchers on fee payment. So you get the card at effectively only GST.
anti21 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th November 2022, 14:21   #5978

I also forgot to mention, Magnus gives you a 10000 worth Tata CLIQ vouchers on fee payment. So you get the card at effectively only GST.
Thanks for the info. Yes, the Tata Cliq voucher or a domestic air ticket. The reason I wanted to get the Vistara card was that I get upgraded to the Gold club directly which has suddenly become very hard to reach. When Vistara was new they were allowing free upgrade to Silver/Gold (dont remember exactly) if you had a Jet Airway Gold/Platinum membership. But now, its incredibly hard it seems. But I am thinking about Magnus now. Lets see.

Last edited by Pancham : 27th November 2022 at 14:26.
Old 28th November 2022, 10:18   #5979

Finally, I see some chatter towards Axis cards. Tried talking about it around 3 Months back when Axis added some Airmiles partners on their top-end cards. The card that's on every CC Enthusiast's list is Axis Magnus. Magnus has dislodged the mighty Infinia from the top spot after a few years of dominance.

Its been three months since I took the plunge into Magnus which is also when Infinia become my secondary card. 2 Months later even added Axis Reserve to the wallet after closing down the Platinum Charge Card. So its been a huge shake in the wallet with regards to the Credit Cards I carry. And I have to admit, its a great shake up.

If you are somebody who spends more than a Lac at least in 4-5 months in a year and you love travelling, Magnus is your card to go to. Gives a whopping 24,800 Airmiles per month on normal spends. Can go much higher with the use of reward multiplier.

To give a perspective - One Economy ticket to anywhere in South-East Asia every month or one business class ticket every two months.

But I am going to talk about some of the show-off features of these two cards which I used on my recent visit to New Delhi:

Complimentary Luxury Airport Transfers (Courtesy - Axis Reserve)

- Home to Mumbai Airport - BMW 520d
- Delhi Airport to Hotel - S Class 350d
- Mumbai Airport to Home - BMW 730ld

Used the Meet & Greet Feature at Mumbai Airport. Was asked to get down at Gate 1. A Porter came to escort me through the VIP Gate and then through Business Class Security check (All this while with a Premium Economy Domestic ticket). An Airport buggy was kept available at all points to move from one point to another. It felt extremely funny that I would sit in a buggy for like 150-200 meters.

Even at the lounge when I stood in the queue to get in, the porter asked me if my card had 'Tap to Pay' enabled. Was asked to give the card and boarding pas, she went ahead of the queue swiped on the machine and asked me to go in the lounge without any waiting time. Later, a buggy waiting again to take me from Lounge to Boarding gate.

Depends on how you look at it, but I find the experience borderline embarrassing.
tejas08 is offline   (56) Thanks
Old 28th November 2022, 11:11   #5980

Which credit cards have good offers on Bookmyshow like buy 1 get 1, without silly price caps?
I earlier had the Citibank World debit card, which had this offer, but my relationship with Citibank has ended. So, looking for some credit cards with similar offer, as I am used to that and don't feel like paying the full amount on Bookmyshow
adimicra is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 28th November 2022, 11:41   #5981

Originally Posted by adimicra View Post
Which credit cards have good offers on Bookmyshow like buy 1 get 1, without silly price caps?
I earlier had the Citibank World debit card, which had this offer, but my relationship with Citibank has ended. So, looking for some credit cards with similar offer, as I am used to that and don't feel like paying the full amount on Bookmyshow
Axis Reserve / Magnus: INR 500/-
AU Zenith: INR 400/-
Visa Infinite cards: INR 300/- (AU Zenith can be used again under this)

Zenith is being offered as Life Time Free for few corporates. If you find your employer mentioned in this Link and Super A is written in front of it, you can get this card for free.
turbospooler is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 29th November 2022, 01:55   #5982

Originally Posted by tejas08 View Post
Finally, I see some chatter towards Axis cards. Tried talking about it around 3 Months back when Axis added some Airmiles partners on their top-end cards. The card that's on every CC Enthusiast's list is Axis Magnus. Magnus has dislodged the mighty Infinia from the top spot after a few years of dominance.
Yeah, even I've been trying to say that. Axis has nailed it with Magnus and Vistara Infinite. Two cards that are must have if you travel even twice a year (and have Vistara connectivity).

I was trying to get Infinia but ended up being offered Magnus and am so glad I took it. Not even bothered about Infinia now. Honestly, I see a devaluation of Magnus soon because it is too good to be true right now. 25000 bonus points on 100000 lakh INR spend is mind boggling. 45x points on Marks & Spencer!!! Buy a shirt worth 5000 per month and get 10000 points worth 8000 air miles!!!

They did introduce capping on points per month to 10000. Earlier they had an unlimited 20x points fest on Amazon. You could literally get stuff worth lakhs and get 240 points for every 200 INR spent. I guess the next thing to go would be 25000 bonus points or point transfer devaluation. So transfer as many as you can while the sun shines!

Originally Posted by tejas08 View Post
Depends on how you look at it, but I find the experience borderline embarrassing.
Haha, yeah. Everybody looking at you a fully abled young person roaming around in a buggy for minor distance and being escorted everywhere. Going to your gate or from your baggage pickup to a BMW 7 Series.
anti21 is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 29th November 2022, 15:25   #5983

Originally Posted by Sahil View Post
I got an email yesterday that decision will be given by Monday.
Did they get back to you? I applied online and got my KYC done at home. Got a message on 24th Nov stating 'Application is processed and is undergoing eligibility check' Status will be confirmed within 3 working days', haven't heard anything from them since.
Old 29th November 2022, 17:39   #5984

Originally Posted by abhi.modi05 View Post
Did they get back to you? I applied online and got my KYC done at home. Got a message on 24th Nov stating 'Application is processed and is undergoing eligibility check' Status will be confirmed within 3 working days', haven't heard anything from them since.
Yes, card has been dispatched. Let's see what limit comes when the card arrives
Old 29th November 2022, 22:08   #5985

Yeah, even I've been trying to say that. Axis has nailed it with Magnus and Vistara Infinite. Two cards that are must have if you travel even twice a year (and have Vistara connectivity).

I was trying to get Infinia but ended up being offered Magnus and am so glad I took it. Not even bothered about Infinia now. Honestly, I see a devaluation of Magnus soon because it is too good to be true right now. 25000 bonus points on 100000 lakh INR spend is mind boggling. 45x points on Marks & Spencer!!! Buy a shirt worth 5000 per month and get 10000 points worth 8000 air miles!!!

They did introduce capping on points per month to 10000. Earlier they had an unlimited 20x points fest on Amazon. You could literally get stuff worth lakhs and get 240 points for every 200 INR spent. I guess the next thing to go would be 25000 bonus points or point transfer devaluation. So transfer as many as you can while the sun shines!

I think its already devalued. I dont see 45x etc. benefits mentioned in the website. Comparing this with the Vistara, (I explored both the cards a bit) now it is clear why they are giving 25K points for 1L spends. For the Vistara Infinite card, you have to spend INR 1.66L to earn 5000 CV points which is equivalent to one Domestic ticket. In case of Magnus, (WITHOUT the 25k points option on 1L spend) you have to spend INR 4.16L to earn the same amount of CV points. Naturally, this has been introduced to bring both the cards at similar levels. So now you spend 1L to earn 25K points which is equivalent to 5K CV point. This is still 0.66L lesser than Vistara Infinite BUT you miss out on the Vistara gold membership.

Last edited by Pancham : 29th November 2022 at 22:09.