Old 27th December 2024, 11:29   #8176

Re: The Credit Card Thread

Hello all, need some suggestion - Currently have a HDFC Regalia card and have accumulated close to 38000 points. Need to do something about this and I am not finding anything attractive. Please suggest if I should just continue accumulating until they begin to expire or can something be done about this. Right now I have the following options:
  • Cash redemption at close to 1:5 ratio, I am getting around 7500 rupees
  • Redemption for food e-vouchers at 1:5 ratio
  • Redemption for amazon vouchers at 1:10 ratio
  • Not interested in buying random material gifts
  • Grocery vouchers at roughly 1:3

Until recently I have redeemed my points against reliance vouchers whenever they would be near expiry.

Would it make sense to transfer to Airmiles such as Intermiles or Krisflyer? I rarely fly domestic and neither to SE Asia to make use of Krisflyer.
Old 28th December 2024, 10:39   #8177

Originally Posted by audioholic View Post
Hello all, need some suggestion - Currently have a HDFC Regalia card and have accumulated close to 38000 points. Need to do something about this and I am not finding anything attractive. Please suggest if I should just continue accumulating until they begin to expire or can something be done about this. Right now I have the following options:

Until recently I have redeemed my points against reliance vouchers whenever they would be near expiry.

Would it make sense to transfer to Airmiles such as Intermiles or Krisflyer? I rarely fly domestic and neither to SE Asia to make use of Krisflyer.
You could consider transferring to Accor ALL membership, this gives you an option to book a variety of hotels and pay with points. The transfer ratio would be 1:0.5 giving you 19000 points.

1000 ALL points is valued at €20 which is approx Rs1750, therefore your 19000 points would be valued at approx Rs33250. This would give you MUCH BETTER value than converting to vouchers directly with HDFC. You can check in the Accor ALL app to see if any hotels appeal to you and align with your travel plans.
s4ch is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 28th December 2024, 16:41   #8178

Based on advice shared here last month, I was able to ricochet Infinite credit card points from 115k odd to 130k.

Today got the following mail from HDFC, does it look like a good bargain, especially for Etihad, as we plan to visit family based in Europe in June next year?
The Credit Card Thread-whatsapp-image-20241228-16.31.45.jpeg  

Old 28th December 2024, 18:23   #8179

Originally Posted by s4ch View Post
You could consider transferring to Accor ALL membership, this gives you an option to book a variety of hotels and pay with points. The transfer ratio would be 1:0.5 giving you 19000 points.

1000 ALL points is valued at €20 which is approx Rs1750, therefore your 19000 points would be valued at approx Rs33250. This would give you MUCH BETTER value than converting to vouchers directly with HDFC. You can check in the Accor ALL app to see if any hotels appeal to you and align with your travel plans.
Thanks for this suggestion. Sounds like a very good option. However I broke my head trying to do this but didnt seem to understand how I can transfer points into accor. I tried the CC redemption site, didnt find this option. Even in smartbuy or regalia portal i dont see this option. Does this scheme apply to Regalia or only to higher rated cards?
Old 28th December 2024, 19:38   #8180

I am in a dilemma:

Which voucher shall I avail? (kindly look attached image)

I already have one Taj voucher of 5k. Individually it's nothing, I guess but within few months I can have 5000x4 (20L spends on credit card) so the total would be 25k in vouchers which can be redeemed at any Taj property. I am not into luxury stays in hotels as I prefer exploring city than stay. But for the sake of redemption I will have to make a trip to stay at one of the Taj properties. Which raise further queries:

Is voucher applicable in every Taj property?

Is it for room booking only or can be redeemed for services like spa, restaurant etc?

If one night room rent is 25k and I have 5 vouchers of 5k each. Can multiple vouchers be clubbed?

Often Taj have offers like 2+1 (stay for 3 nights pay for 2). Can I redeem vouchers under this scheme?

Or shall I avail Smartbuy voucher? I can only redeem it on flight and only on Smartbuy portal.
The Credit Card Thread-whatsapp-image-20241228-18.58.15.jpeg  

Old 29th December 2024, 08:33   #8181

Originally Posted by turbospooler View Post
For Infinia, I used SmartBuy affiliate for getting 3X to 10X reward points per month. Almost ₹1L spend was giving 20k points per month and I was having those spends for 6-7 months to rake up the points for Singapore Airlines ticket.
Isn't the smartbuy accumulation capped at 15k points a month?

Originally Posted by century View Post
I already have one Taj voucher of 5k. Individually it's nothing, I guess but within few months I can have 5000x4 (20L spends on credit card) so the total would be 25k
You may want to confirm if you do get a repeat voucher because it seems like an annual milestone benefit that you get once. I may be wrong, but that's how it works on other personal cards that you get an annual milestone once on achieving a spend and then you may repeat it again within a year but get no milestone benefit.

Last edited by alok9345 : 29th December 2024 at 08:37. Reason: Added another response
Old 29th December 2024, 08:50   #8182

On HDFC Bizblack card it is not like that. For every 5 lakh spends one can get 5k voucher (Taj or Smartbuy) till 20 lakh. So max 4 vouchers in a calender year.
The Credit Card Thread-20241228_184246.jpg  

Old 29th December 2024, 12:16   #8183

Thanks for this suggestion. Sounds like a very good option. However I broke my head trying to do this but didnt seem to understand how I can transfer points into accor. I tried the CC redemption site, didnt find this option. Even in smartbuy or regalia portal i dont see this option. Does this scheme apply to Regalia or only to higher rated cards?
This link should work for transferring points. If you scroll down there is a banner you can click on for points transfer: https://offers.reward360.in/v1/regaliagold

Please double check all the terms and conditions to make sure they match and meet your expectations.
Old 29th December 2024, 13:21   #8184

Originally Posted by s4ch View Post
This link should work for transferring points. If you scroll down there is a banner you can click on for points transfer: https://offers.reward360.in/v1/regaliagold

Please double check all the terms and conditions to make sure they match and meet your expectations.
Looks like it is only available for Regalia Gold and not for the regular Regalia Need to explore CC upgrade options now

EDIT: Figured out I was eligible for upgrade to Regalia gold and have opted for it

Thanks again S4CH

Last edited by audioholic : 29th December 2024 at 13:31.
audioholic is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th December 2024, 11:28   #8185

Originally Posted by alok9345 View Post
Isn't the smartbuy accumulation capped at 15k points a month?
Yes, it is. But the 4X or 9X bonus is capped at 15k, so the base points on spending will continue to earn points over and above this cap.
turbospooler is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 31st December 2024, 17:38   #8186

I did Mumbai to Christchurch via Singapore on Singapore Airlines Business Class seat for 125k SQ miles + ₹6k approx. All of those points transferred from HDFC Infinia in 1:1 ratio.
Attachment 2702289.
May I know how did you transfer to Krisflyer from HDFC/Infinia?

I dont see the option on https://offers.smartbuy.hdfcbank.com...ravel#airmiles. Is it recently removed maybe?
Old 31st December 2024, 20:38   #8187

Originally Posted by JardaniJovonov View Post
May I know how did you transfer to Krisflyer from HDFC/Infinia?

I dont see the option on https://offers.smartbuy.hdfcbank.com...ravel#airmiles. Is it recently removed maybe?
It is on the old rewards page which is accessible when you login to NetBanking and then redeem rewards. Only 3 partners were accessible via the Netbanking route: KrisFlyer, Intermiles and Air India (or Vistara).
turbospooler is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 31st December 2024, 21:03   #8188

It is on the old rewards page which is accessible when you login to NetBanking and then redeem rewards. Only 3 partners were accessible via the Netbanking route: KrisFlyer, Intermiles and Air India (or Vistara).
https://netportal.hdfcbank.com/login#/openMarketLoginCC

This is the login page that you are talking about I think. I got this from this forum only and bookmarked it.

After registering and login one need to click on "MORE ACTIONS" drop down button then click on "Redeem Reward Points". This will logout you from current window and a new pop-up window will open. First you need to register your frequent flyer program by giving FFP number of Krisflyer or Intermiles (no Air India though, maybe in future). At last you can convert.
century is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 31st December 2024, 22:24   #8189

My preferred transfer partner from HDFC Infinia is Tanishq. Though only 70% of the value can be achieved, it's still my preferred method of using my reward points.

It allows to buy vouchers worth 50K per quarter. I buy for 70K, pay 21k cash and 49k using points. I do it twice in a year and get 1.4L worth of gold purchase from Tanishq by paying 42K. On the 42K spend from smartbuy, I get points for future spend too!

I have accumulated 87K points. I have another few expenses to go, and my wife's next-year birthday/anniversary gift is sorted!
  1. Axis Atlas & Amex Gold are for Accor and ITC/Marriott.
  2. Axis Club Vistara is for gold status and Air India flights.
  3. EazyDiner for those dining discounts.
  4. HDFC Tata Neu Rupay Credit card for UPI payments.
  5. SBI Octane card for HP 7% fuel points

This essentially sums up my credit card portfolio.
raviemailid is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 1st January 2025, 18:27   #8190

Figured out I was eligible for upgrade to Regalia gold and have opted for it
HDFC was pushing me too for upgrading from regalia to its gold version, but it has annual charges of 2500 while my current regalia is lifetime free.

Any chance they will waive off the yearly charges?