Old 9th March 2016, 09:32   #226

Re: Scam/ Corruption in Toll Plaza

Originally Posted by NPX View Post
1. in my case, i live 15 kms from toll plaza on NH1 and all people living in the radius of 25 km are elligible for a monthly toll pass of ₹180 only. this rule is also there for all state highway toll booths in haryana.

2. NHAI website has all the information of toll booths on NHs.
toll booths on roads other than NHs are under the purview of the state govt.
Hi NPX, Question is not if you are content with 180/month? I'm questioning the practice of taxation? Please read my question again. Is this the website @ http://www.nhtis.org/? Thank you, that's a good find.

Anyone has experience contacting NHAI/other authorities for the tollbooth issues? Please PM me.

Last edited by anoop.nair : 9th March 2016 at 09:47. Reason: added url
Old 15th April 2016, 23:59   #227

Re: Cheating at Airoli toll plaza

Originally Posted by ShaileshHinge View Post
I have had this experience three times at Airoli toll plaza. They dont return the correct change. if you pay 100 Rs and you get returns in 10 rs...do count it. I have found 10 Rs less twice before. on confronting the guy he immediately gives you 10 more rs so he kind of knows that he gave less change.

I have been thinking of writing this for a while, but have refrained thinking could be honest mistake. But yesterday again they did this to me. But for 1 Rs this time. i gave 100 rs and i got back 64 Rs. On asking the guy for 1 Rs he asked me to give exact 5 Rs change. I declined, and kind of confronted him asking for full change to be returned. He immediately got back the 1 Re.

So he had the change but was elluding to give it back. Imagine how many vehicles pass by and how many these guys are earning by duping the car owners like this.

most of us wont care for 1Rs or some may even not care for 10 Rs which is what is giving these guys the confidence to do this cheating.

I make it a point to count the exact change at every booth i travel through but have experienced this problem only at Airoli Plaza.
Happened to me again today. I paid 100 rs. I was returned 5 dollars of 10 and 1 dollar of 5 wrapped in the reciept. I counted and confronted and the booth agent easily gave 10 rs more. I am sure they make a lot of money from people who dont count the change given back.
ShaileshHinge is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th April 2016, 20:45   #228

Nex time, when you go to NICE road, and ask for Tumkur road exit, ask the charge, it is 155, and the guy will definitely say 160, you will give money, and promptly collect the balance, happened with me twice, only the third time I noticed that the amount was 155, then very sheepishly the guy returned the balance amount!.

Please always check the receipts.

Shailesh
Old 16th April 2016, 21:16   #229

Do/Can tolls charge HCV's for overloading? Is this true?

Someone I know, doesn't pay this for his trucks, while others do, how do toll guys manage this?

Friends who can't read Hindi, the letter says, that overloaded vehicles have to pay 10 times more than the fixed rate.
Scam/ Corruption in Toll Plaza-4c840980b9be4f4a925ca4a684e7dc6f.jpg  

Old 29th April 2016, 13:01   #230

A ray of hope?

Had been to Gujarat couple of days back and was happy to see the following on all the tolls except the 2 at Ahmedabad Bypass (Where scams are still taking place)

Scam/ Corruption in Toll Plaza-screen-shot-20160429-1.00.23-pm.png
Tanveer_2558 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 29th April 2016, 14:01   #231

Originally Posted by Sheel View Post
Do/Can tolls charge HCV's for overloading? Is this true?

Someone I know, doesn't pay this for his trucks, while others do, how do toll guys manage this?

Friends who can't read Hindi, the letter says, that overloaded vehicles have to pay 10 times more than the fixed rate.
From what I understand, there is actually a lot of bribery that goes on in these toll plaza's as far as HCVs are concerned.
That's why even though there are fewer vehicles in the truck lane - it will always take longer.
Old 30th April 2016, 13:16   #232

Originally Posted by aspire View Post

Nex time, when you go to NICE road, and ask for Tumkur road exit, ask the charge, it is 155, and the guy will definitely say 160, you will give money, and promptly collect the balance, happened with me twice, only the third time I noticed that the amount was 155, then very sheepishly the guy returned the balance amount!.

Please always check the receipts.

Shailesh

Ya I have experienced this too quite frequently. My last experience was 2 days back. Was driving back with my colleague (she was driving, her car). So we entered the Tumkur Road NICE Entry and as we approached the toll booth my colleague asked the amount for BG Road exit. (First time for her and I was on the phone as her co-driver). Me being a regular on this sector I knew that it was INR 120, to my surprise the toll booth attendant told INR 150 and my colleague was about to pay when I got off the car, went near the toll booth and intervened. Yes a heated argument ensued and I let him off with a warning that I would complain with the NICE authorities.

Had I not been there, my poor colleague would've been fleeced.

This is been happening quite often these days.

Sent from my iPhone 6 using Team-BHP
drhoneycake is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd June 2016, 22:15   #233

Revised Toll rates in OMR Tollgates Chennai. One-way will be 25 from July 1st onwards.
Old 24th June 2016, 13:20   #234

Originally Posted by Jebs View Post
Revised Toll rates in OMR Tollgates Chennai. One-way will be 25 from July 1st onwards.
I stopped taking this stupid toll. God knows why they keep increasing every year and what additional facilities they made on this road. On top of this, even for 10 mins rain there will be water logging in multiple places creating numerous jams.
I enter to OMR through Sholls toll taking 0 toll receipt and exit through Chennai One toll road without paying (taking the bylanes before Sangeetha and exit near Chennai one building)
Every month I save 500 bucks.
Old 31st August 2016, 21:09   #235

It seems obvious that toll plaza contractors are under paying the staff. It is bad that they have to short change drivers.

I once gave a lift to an operator coming off his shift. He told me he had completed his B.A and was from the local village. I seem to recall he mentioning that his salary was 6-8k. This was 2 years ago.

It is not as if the contract holders are losing money. Please find attached a PDF of the toll collections of every booth in India since 2005-6. This is updated up to March 2016.

I was not sure how many lakhs made a crore. My local pawnbroker told me that 100 lakhs = 1 crore. Then he asked what item I had of that value. I made some vague excuse and walked off.

It is a 16 page document less than 120 kb in size. You will find toll plaza collections increasing each year as expected. However you will be shocked to see their annual collections. Some of them make up to 150 crores per annum. The richest as far as I could tell is Jaipur-Kishangarh at 330 crores.

I seem to be wasting time with my current work as far as money goes. 3 people sitting in a chair, in shifts, over 24 hours, giving out bits of paper worth 10 paise in cost and collecting 330 cores in a year is better than a Las Vegas Casinos' profits.
File Type: pdf Year Wise toll Collection India - Copy.pdf (118.7 KB, 577 views)

Last edited by hangover : 31st August 2016 at 21:17.
hangover is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 31st August 2016, 22:56   #236

We all are paying for the discounted amount that the toll operator offers for not issuing receipt. After all, developers are going to recover the amount that they spent. Amount netted by the individual toll operator has to be borne by all of us.

Such leakages are then factored in while arriving at future toll fee/ duration. Thereby increasing cost for all the users.

These petty crimes should be taken seriously.
Old 9th September 2016, 10:35   #237

So, here's a new trick I encountered at the Attibele toll plaza on my way to Chennai from Bangalore a couple days ago.
Its around 1830 in the evening and is beginning to get dark. I pull up at the counter and give him INR 25, which is the correct amount [as I recall].
Heres the conversation that followed after I handed over the money.
Toll Attendant : Current illa saar.
Me : Sari, adikkenu eega?
TA : [grinning sheepishly] receipt kodokke aagolla.
Me : [in a firm voice] toll kaasu thogollokke current idiya? receipt kodokke current illva?
TA : Ond-nimisha iri.......[5 seconds of fake fiddling on his machine]......... thogolli saar.

English Translation
Toll Attendant : No current saar.
Me : Alright, so what now?
TA : [grinning sheepishly] Cant give you a receipt.
Me : [in a firm voice] Really? You have "current" to collect toll money but no "current" to give me a receipt?
TA : Hang on a minute.......[5 seconds of fake fiddling on his machine]......... here you go saar.

I am not sure if any of you have encountered this. Don't fall for it.
The best part is, some motorists may fall for it and the money these guys make would run into 100s easily, if not 1000s. I mean, the old trick of short-changing by INR 1 or 2 will need many vehicles to make good money. With this trick, you just need to fool a few cars and you have a big chunk of cash!!
Kaumad is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 9th September 2016, 11:01   #238

A couple of weeks back we had hired a TT for a short trip to TN. At the Attibelle toll, there were a few guys standing outside the booth asking if we need a receipt. I guess they charge less if we don't ask for receipt. I insisted on the receipt and got charged the actual fare. I had not encountered this so far during my numerous trips down this route when I used to drive myself. Seems they target tourist vehicles.
Old 9th September 2016, 13:24   #239

Originally Posted by sbkumar View Post
A couple of weeks back we had hired a TT for a short trip to TN. At the Attibelle toll, there were a few guys standing outside the booth asking if we need a receipt. I guess they charge less if we don't ask for receipt. I insisted on the receipt and got charged the actual fare. I had not encountered this so far during my numerous trips down this route when I used to drive myself. Seems they target tourist vehicles.
At the exit / other end of the toll will the toll operator not ask for the receipt?
Old 9th September 2016, 18:45   #240

Originally Posted by bhandary View Post
At the exit / other end of the toll will the toll operator not ask for the receipt?
No, these are tolls on the NH and there is no such check. I have seen them check only in some state toll roads.