Old 10th March 2013, 12:18   #331

Re: Mumbai Traffic

Hello All,

Just read a article in today's news paper:

Motorist slaps woman traffic constable - http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/c...w/18872409.cms

The car driver was talking on Mobile phone, traffic police caught him & instructed him to pay fine. The car driver - Vishal Bajpayee got into argument with constable & slapped her. He was later arrested under various sections.

A similar incident was reported couple of months back from Dahisar where a female passenger of car, slapped a male traffic constable who wanted to check the Car documents.

Friends, why are motorists so frustrated now-a-days? If a Traffic police catches you offending a traffic rule, you have to pay the fine - thats it. The more you argue - the more time & efforts you waste, because you have anyways violated a law & will have to pay the fine. Even if you have not offended any rules, it is thier duty to pull any vehicle & check license / papers / etc. Just because you are asked to halt for a while & others are not, is no reason to abuse / curse traffic cops.

Old 11th March 2013, 18:29   #332

Stress levels are running high.
  1. Bad Roads.
  2. Lack of Civic Sense, both from Pedestrians and Vehicle drivers.
  3. Step motherly treatment by the authorities.
  4. Non Existent Traffic Police, when it comes to regulating traffic.
  5. And when the Summer will peak the Heat will add to the woes

In addition, every single person on the street is a fighter in his/her life, fighting to meet targets, goals, and you what, achieving those targets, whether as an employee or as an entrepreneur.

And when we see so many officials in positions of authority not even making an effort to change things, that's when we snap.

And in no way is snapping right or admissible. But there is only so much that you can stretch a rubber band, right?

The poor traffic cops are standing in the pollution, heat and dust, are just part of a system that even they are frustrated with, and sorry to be cynical, I don't see any change in sight.

Hence it is imperative that everyone keeps a cool head while on the road.

Last edited by GTO : 12th March 2013 at 09:39. Reason: PM coming up
neofromcapone is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th March 2013, 12:15   #333

Hello All,

Anyone scheduled to pass though Aarey Fly-over on Western Express highway from Malad side towards Jogeshwari (South bound side of the fly-over) at night (expecially late night / early morning light passengers) take a note that the Tar layer of the road is being re-laid & the fly-over will be closed to traffic at night.

The tar layer on North bound side of the fly-over is already re-laid & the work done seems good as of now. Let us see how long does the fly-over remains in smooth state. I feel it will be good till monsoon, i.e. till mid July.

Old 14th March 2013, 14:49   #334

Hello All,

11 Member high power panel headed by additional Chief Secretary Mr. Amitabh Rajan has recommended introducing Congestion fee for solving Mumbai Traffic problems.

They have give two approaches for imposing congestion fee:
1. Congestion charge to restrict the number of vehicles in selected areas
2. Congestion pricing on certain goods in selected zones.

They have further recommended imposing a fixed amount cess on the consumption of petrol and diesel for cars in Mumbai city using this money for improvement of the public transport system.

Also according to the panel following there are major reason for current traffic situation in Mumbai:
1. Inadequate staff of the traffic police
2. Lack of proper equipments
3. Encroachment on roads and pavements
4. Illegal parking
5. Poor signage and marking on roads
6. Pedestrians using the carriageway
7. Improper parking by private and school buses and movement of BEST buses.
I feel most important point missed here is lack of disciplied driving.

Full article here: http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/c...w/18962568.cms

Old 14th March 2013, 14:56   #335

I think the largest cause of traffic in Mumbai is poor quality road surfaces, which keep the average speeds down. Every junction is not even making cars slow down, so many potholes and changes in surface, and one car slowing down causes each car behind it to slow down one after another like a ripple effect. This alone will improve traffic woes, or at least reduce travel time a fair amount.

The next thing they need to do is plan roads properly, and clear encroachments on roads which cause bottle necks.

Once the infrastructure is fine, only then should they look at charging us any more for using our cars.
Old 14th March 2013, 15:31   #336

I don't agree with those solutions.

A few simple steps to de-congest roads and make it safer for both pedestrians and drivers ..

1) Get rid of the hawkers on the pavements. Have separate hawking zones.

2) Build smooth pavements for people to walk on (no hawkers , no potholes)

3) Fence in the pavement so that people do not spill onto the roads.

4) Make FOB's / zebra crossings for people to cross. If they do not use it - and prefer crossing the roads while jay walking, make it clear to them that in case of an accident, the vehicle owner is not responsible.

5) For old people, give them the facility of elevators / lifts on the FOB's.

6) Remove all the auto rickshaw and taxi stands from the main roads. Shift them to by-lanes, even better give them dedicated stands. I feel all auto/taxi stands should be shifted under the flyovers in Mumbai.

7) Remove and destroy the illegal extensions of shops that spill over to the footpath / roads.

8) Get the BEST bus drivers to stop at the designated bus stop and not in the middle of the lane.

9) People should also behave like humans and not animals when boarding and alighting the buses. Haven't they heard of a queue system ?

10 ) All the auto rickshaw and taxi stands near the railway stations should have dedicated stands. Any taxi or rickshaw operating out of that should be fined or the vehicle confiscated.

11) Ensure that the traffic cops work to improve the traffic flow and not the money flow to their pockets.

12) If possible, try and synchronise signals to ease traffic pile-up.

13) Ensure that only the authorised / valid auto rickshaw and taxis are allowed to ply. Conduct surprise checks and cancel licenses / permits of drivers and owners of taxis / autos not complying with rules.

14) Instill some pride in your work force (BMC, Traffic police, BEST, auto rickshaw drivers, taxi drivers) to work for the betterment of the community - after all it will be beneficial for them too.

15) Have a strict licensing system for drivers of public transport vehicles eg Autos, Buses, taxis..

16) Stop the menace of banners in the city - these days banners are brazenly put up on signal light poles obstructing the drivers view.

Sadly the Government authorities will never do simple things - they will want to build fly overs at places where simply removing the hawkers and removing the illegal parking will work. The kick backs from the infra projects are too tempting.

Last edited by normally_crazy : 14th March 2013 at 15:33.
normally_crazy is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 14th March 2013, 16:10   #337

Originally Posted by normally_crazy View Post
I don't agree with those solutions.
Sadly the Government authorities will never do simple things - they will want to build fly overs at places where simply removing the hawkers and removing the illegal parking will work. The kick backs from the infra projects are too tempting.
Hello Normally_crazy,

Appreciate. If all the points you have listed are implemented, it will make Mumbai a perfect city to drive our Car.

But let us come back to reality - Authorities are not keen to implement any of these simple measures. Instead they are more interested in visiting Singapore & other developed countries every year to "study" the traffic management there & then implement (read implement - nothing) the system here.

Regarding hawkers, hope you know that one minister - Mr. Ajay Maken (Union minister for housing and urban poverty) is planning to introduce a Bill to issue licences to Hawkers & make them legal. The proposal is - Hawking will be allowed to 2.5% of the city’s population and licences should be provided to them . Link here - http://www.dnaindia.com/mumbai/repor...th-him_1805043

Regarding your suggestion for having smooth roads - We all know the commission system in Government tenders. Now imagine a scenario where roads are perfect & no new tenders are taken to repair / relay the roads - how will the black money flow? Thus it is in their interest to have roads such that they need repairs every year.

Old 14th March 2013, 16:54   #338

Originally Posted by Jignesh View Post
Hello All,

11 Member high power panel headed by additional Chief Secretary Mr. Amitabh Rajan has recommended introducing Congestion fee for solving Mumbai Traffic problems.

I feel most important point missed here is lack of disciplied driving.

Full article here: http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/c...w/18962568.cms

One more bullshit money making scheme for the most corrupt Maharashtra government.

Have they thought about giving world class public transport service before slapping this absurd charge?
Can we have a world class local train service, which runs on time and is not as crowded as today?
Can we get rid of rattletrap BEST buses and have proper airconditioned low floor buses on each and every main road?
Can we get rid of ancient fiat cabs and polluting auto rickshaws and get in proper full sized cabs and nano taxis who charge per the meter and dont say no?
Can we have corruption free implementation of various transportation schemes funded by world bank or MUTP or JURNUM? Can someone take ownership of the wretched metro and atleast get that damn thing running finally?

If the govt spends some serious time and money and atleast get the above going, I will gladly give up my personal transport and use public transport.

If we allow the govt to keep milking us with some absurd schemes it wont be long before they start charging double vision tax on all people using spectacles.
apachelongbow is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 18th March 2013, 11:50   #339

The Traffic Police talks of more Taxi Stands. So does the Taxi Union. I would like to point out the Taxi Union which has a stand at August Kranti Maidan has let it out for rent to a Raddiwala.

It would be in the interest of all if Taxi Stands are put to proper use instead of the same being let out for rent by the Taxi Union
Old 18th March 2013, 12:28   #340

Originally Posted by ashwin_m0 View Post
It would be in the interest of all if Taxi Stands are put to proper use instead of the same being let out for rent by the Taxi Union
Hello Ashwin,

Hope you have read the below news article last month: Authorities may issue 30,000 new permits for Autos soon - http://articles.timesofindia.indiati...ordinary-taxis

This will increase the number of Autos on Western + Eastern suburbs from 1.05 lacs to 1.35 lacs. The motive behind is to handle rejections by Autos & jobs to umployed youths. Further the union leader is demanding permints for more 2 lacs Autos on Western + Eastern suburbs.

This means that there will be further requirements for new Taxi & Auto stands, for which space is probably now available. But as pointed by you, even the existing stands are not used for the intended purpose.

Old 18th March 2013, 12:36   #341

Originally Posted by apachelongbow View Post
Can we have a world class local train service, which runs on time and is not as crowded as today?
Trains in Bombay do run on time and are very frequent. In the Western line, sometimes the next train comes into the platform as the previous one leaves it. The only way to make it less crowded is to ask half the people to not take the trains.

As far trains go, the main problem is the population.

Can we get rid of rattletrap BEST buses and have proper airconditioned low floor buses on each and every main road?
What is wrong with the current BEST buses? If all buses are airconditioned, the fares will increase. So a lot of people won't be able to afford it.

Can we get rid of ancient fiat cabs and polluting auto rickshaws and get in proper full sized cabs and nano taxis who charge per the meter and dont say no?
What's the advantage of full sized cabs over current ones? A lot of cabs are usually carrying a single passenger or 2. Most autos run on CNG - so why would they be more polluting than full sized cabs?
carboy is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 18th March 2013, 13:18   #342

Originally Posted by ghodlur View Post
Some respite expected for the commuters on the ever busy Ghodbunder Road in Thane in the coming week. The Manpada flyover is in the final stages of completion, the work has progressed much faster than expected ever since Shiv Sena had threatened to throw the flyover open by March 10 if not completed before that.
The Manpada flyover after a much heehawing has been thrown open to public after the inaguration on last Saturday. The amount of political turnout for the inaguration would put to shame the public money wasted in making the event. Too many cops manning the area resulted in the km long traffic jam. Now the flyover is open, the traffic at the area has reduced substantially.

Originally Posted by carboy View Post
What is wrong with the current BEST buses? If all buses are airconditioned, the fares will increase. So a lot of people won't be able to afford it.
The current BEST buses are packed to the hilt, the only way out is to increase the frequencies. Also the hour of the need is to introduce single entry/exit type buses to avoid people hanging out precariously at the exit doors, does not neccessarily needs to be air conditioned.
Old 18th March 2013, 14:06   #343

Originally Posted by ghodlur View Post
The current BEST buses are packed to the hilt, the only way out is to increase the frequencies.
Sure. But replacing all existing buses with new airconditioned ones as suggested by the post I was replying to will make it that much harder to increase the frequency.
Old 18th March 2013, 14:22   #344

The solution to Bombay's traffic woes is, to have an state-of-the-art public transportation system (could not even type the sentence without laughing on the irony of it )
I would gladly take the train from Malad to Chruchgate, any day, if I could get inside the train that is.

I was in Delhi couple of weeks ago, took a Metro from Jangpura to Kohat Enclave, I had to change from Violet Line to Yellow Line and then finally to Red Line, three trains and I had some luggage too. And all this is absolute ease and with all my dignity intact, unlike travelling from even Malad to Churchgate.

In today's TOI, traffline.com did an promo article with the newspaper,
“Cars essentially cause road congestion. We must be harsh on car users and pump in more public transport. Environmental pollution also must be kept in mind,” says transport professional Sudhir Badami
Now the said transport pro is unintelligent of reality or is preferring to use his position to misguide. Or his words are being twisted to make good copy. Most of the times, us car users don't have a choice, we have to use the car as the other options simply don't cut it. If options are provided, imagine the savings in fuel alone and then the Fin Minster may not need to worry about outflow of $$$.

So while we are looking for solutions, here is one.

More detailed video ,albeit poor quality.

The entry and exit of passengers is one area that needs to be looked at this seems one weak area. I hope the Mumbai Metro starts and we can see less traffic on the Andheri - Ghatkopar Road at-least.

Our City deserves to have its people commute in dignity.

Last edited by neofromcapone : 18th March 2013 at 14:23. Reason: url added
neofromcapone is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 18th March 2013, 16:13   #345

Originally Posted by carboy View Post
Trains in Bombay do run on time and are very frequent. In the Western line, sometimes the next train comes into the platform as the previous one leaves it. The only way to make it less crowded is to ask half the people to not take the trains.

As far trains go, the main problem is the population.

What's the advantage of full sized cabs over current ones? A lot of cabs are usually carrying a single passenger or 2. Most autos run on CNG - so why would they be more polluting than full sized cabs?
If you read the context of my reply and preserve the whole text, you would notice it was against that hare brained suggestion to increase/introduce congestion tax and prevent people from driving cars.
If the govt wants people to stop commuting by cars, they must provide equivalent means of public transport, instead of expecting car owners to travel in heat and dust, rubbing shoulders with the masses, turn up into office sweating and with stained crumpled clothes.
Only when there are airconditioned metro trains, a/c buses with adequate frequency and good full sized cabs available will car owners be tempted to ditch private transport for public ones.

By the way, the upcoming monorail in Chembur is fully airconditioned and yet cheap. The cost of travelling the full 20kms is quoted at approx 15Rs one way. So its very much possible to have air conditioned buses and trains and yet not pinch the pocket of the travelling public.

Mumbai city has illegal slums and slum dwellers occupying and forming 60% of the population. Not only are they squatting illegally, now its become a trademark to provide them with cheap transportation so that they can come and squat in their hordes.
Which other civilized city in a civilized country allows this kind of atrocity on tax payers money?
Mumbai contributes more than 20% of total tax revenues for whole of India, having world class transport and infrastructure is the bare minumum we must expect in return.

Last edited by apachelongbow : 18th March 2013 at 16:22.