Old 20th March 2006, 19:06   #16

my condolences to the S.I's family. may his soul rest in peace. this is one of those "rotten apple" cases where a few miscreants ruin the party for the entire team. hope the guilty get what they deserve, and soon.
Old 20th March 2006, 19:55   #17

sad... what a disgrace. condolences to the SI's family
Old 20th March 2006, 20:23   #18
aZa

damn ... i'm just too shocked to hear this coming from b'lore. Delhi/Noida is different story ...

My condolences to the cops family and friends.
Old 20th March 2006, 20:43   #19

Thats shocking news ! Condolences to the family of the deceased.

Also in the report its written , thick smoke blocked the number plates - I mean what do they mean ? The Scorpio was running on steam engine or what ? How callous of the other cops on duty there. Hope they get the culprit fast.
Old 20th March 2006, 22:48   #20

Thats Bad man.. My condolences to the SI's family..
Old 20th March 2006, 23:55   #21

Sincere condolences to the SI's family ..

Its really pathetic to see such state of affairs .. Was out of station this weekend so dont have much idea about this incident ... But , on reading ajmats post i thought it was a case of drag racing that went bad .. Then coming to think of it again drag racing at MGs or any other place in a SCORPIO ??? Naah , this could well be an incident of drunken driving , or something that went bad .. Im not sure how many would want to race that too in a scorpio .. Regarding the incident with satya , the best thing to do would be to let him pass ..

Also whats the status of the police checks now , arent the late night meets at MG's or LCD happening ?? Or have the cops stomped down on them completely ..
Old 21st March 2006, 09:17   #22

Originally Posted by normally_crazy
Also in the report its written , thick smoke blocked the number plates - I mean what do they mean ? The Scorpio was running on steam engine or what ? How callous of the other cops on duty there. Hope they get the culprit fast.
Brainy cop's... Have anybody seen number plate blocked by smoke?. May be immediately after start but not after 5/10 feet.... Loop holes are always there to escape..

Last edited by ksethuram : 21st March 2006 at 09:32.
Old 21st March 2006, 09:35   #23

Originally Posted by ksethuram
Satya - If you follow city speed limits no need to do a colin mcrae until a biker or autowala jumps in.

the car that i am talking about was being driven slowly .....but as there is no proper lighting ..most of the drivers used to notice it at the last moment ....also saw a few bikers skid to halt just in front of teh barriers ....no wonder when i was passing through that place later in teh night ...saw a few glass pieces and also one of teh metal barriers was twisted ...
Originally Posted by amitoj
Yessssss! They should put up warning signs before the barricades saying "We are checking papers up ahead. Feel free to make a U Turn now!".
no !!they were not checking papers...the cops were busy on the other side ....inspite of teh cops being there with wireless sets ...there were so many bikers who were breaking the red light ....
but this car driver who swerved to avoid that barrier was unlucky to be caught

Last edited by speedsatya : 21st March 2006 at 09:36.
Old 21st March 2006, 10:11   #24

Originally Posted by speedsatya
.....but as there is no proper lighting ..most of the drivers used to notice it at the last moment .....
No proper lighting on MG Road?? For those who suffer from nightblindness maybe.

Originally Posted by speedsatya
no !!they were not checking papers...the cops were busy on the other side ....
Arre i was joking yaar. Same goes for Zappo's reply as well.

But spare a thought for the cops... when they dont do anything, we curse them. When they do something, we still curse them for not doing it the way we would wish it to be done.

And McL, u wondering why would someone drag in a scorpio?? My college going neighbour drags in his lazy bum indigo!
Old 21st March 2006, 10:21   #25

Originally Posted by amitoj
No proper lighting on MG Road?? For those who suffer from nightblindness maybe.

!
noo but this stretch was not properly lit ....

hehe dragging in an indigo!!!!!!!!hahah...
Old 21st March 2006, 12:05   #26

Sincere condolences to the SI's family

Sincere condolences to the SI's family....

what a bum how can he live & drive with blood on his hands....

i remember this one time wen i had a kinetic..

my bike an this bike frm bandra had snoop dogg written on the frnt....

i never even knew the guy....

but i remember bt 3 yrs ago....

he hit a 3-4yr old gurl on carter road....

to his & my bad luck that gurl happened to be a SI first daughter...

bt to my good luck my bike had the snoop dogg in yellow....

i remember when these guys caught me on carter rd...

they asked me whether i did it.....

i jus said no...

and the cop asked me whether i knew the other guy....

but i didnt, they found him eventually....

and trust me the villagers didnt spare the life out him.....

cheers.....

pSycholyn
Old 21st March 2006, 12:16   #27

My heartfelt sympathies go out to the SI's family.

Guys like the Scorpio driver must be found and severely punished.

I recall an incident on Residency Rd about 8 years back where a speeding red Cielo knocked down and dragged a young girl and her father who were crossing the road, killing both of them. As far as I know, the culprit was never brought to justice.
Old 21st March 2006, 16:14   #28

Originally Posted by John

I recall an incident on Residency Rd about 8 years back where a speeding red Cielo knocked down and dragged a young girl and her father who were crossing the road, killing both of them. As far as I know, the culprit was never brought to justice.

This is despite the fact that the victims family were influential folks.

Currently, the cops are nailing down any black Scorpio. some folks have taken their cars to the cop shop for verification.
Old 21st March 2006, 17:13   #29

i feel this is more of a case of drunken driving rather than drag strip racing...
agreed the mg road drag scene has worsened but the government or some individual body should take an initiative to encourage the sport by opening a drag/ race strip that would stop such midnight runs....

however in bangalore, whether it is day/ night most of the drivers use it like a drag strip not caring for life/ property.

bangalore is sure slipping....
Old 21st March 2006, 20:19   #30

That was something really bad which happened in b'lore. Recently i have noticed lots of rash driving in b'lore, people here are all in a hurry, and they just don't follow the traffic rules. One common thing which i have noticed here is that in traffic signals, even before the light turns green, people start driving off...At times it funny to see guys trying to rip hard on their under powered bikes..they do anything and everything to go fast, they just don't bother in breaking the traffic rules...One thing for sure day by day people are driving fast without any sense or control. Some credit also goes the RTO who just go ahead and issue license after taking some money as bribe from the citizens !!