Old 26th December 2013, 14:11   #61

Re: Why the media blackout on the Aston Martin crash?

Ha!
This is hypocrisy at its best. Umpteen number of times of I have read on the forum itself how people settle dues after accidents outside of the police station. I honestly dont even recall that many cases where someone has filed an FIR and received money through the other guy or his insurer (They must be there, im sure).

I am not pointing at the legitimacy, or not, of the actions which seem to indicate that chhotta () ampbani was driving or not.
What I fail to understand is how people are so up in arms against the Audi and elantra people settling this out of court.
We crash into people for whom 2000 bucks may be classified as pocket change, and no questions asked.
They just crashed into someone for whom and Audi and an elantra were pocket change.
I say, good for them, and stay away from "wide-load" vehicles.....
mayankk is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 26th December 2013, 14:39   #62

According to the latest report the owner of the Audi has denied that Reliance has compensated them with the new Audi and claims that it was bought via the insurance company. Hilarious to know. Infact would love to get all my policies done via this insurance company which settles claim so fast and so well.
drmohitg is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th December 2013, 14:54   #63

Just one thing on my mind, what would have happened if either of these victims (as per the current situation) were the ones who crashed into the Aston Martin?

I am sure they would be jail.

All that is happening right now, are just the perks of being rich.
parrys is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 26th December 2013, 15:00   #64

According to the latest report the owner of the Audi has denied that Reliance has compensated them with the new Audi and claims that it was bought via the insurance company. Hilarious to know. Infact would love to get all my policies done via this insurance company which settles claim so fast and so well.
For all we know, Audi owner might have had insurance policy with 'Reliance General Insurance' . As claimed, the insurance company not only settled the claim super-fast but also provided enough moolah to upgrade from A4 to A6 (some reports erroneously claim that she was driving A6 on the accident day).

For god sake, none of the parties is doing anything illegal by reaching an out-of-court settlement. So, where's the problem in owning up? Or does it reflect a bigger malaise of our society, wherein majority does so called 'unholy' stuff behind the curtains and maintain 'holier than thou' facade on the front?
Gotham_City is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th December 2013, 15:04   #65

Originally Posted by parrys View Post
Just one thing on my mind, what would have happened if either of these victims (as per the current situation) were the ones who crashed into the Aston Martin?

I am sure they would be jail.

All that is happening right now, are just the perks of being rich.
I doubt that they would have been jailed since the offence doesn't merit that punishment legally. In all probability they would have been punished on the spot by the zillion " security muscle men" following the car. And on top of it there insurance company would have had some sleepless nights getting that Aston Martin fixed.
Old 26th December 2013, 15:12   #66

Originally Posted by mayankk View Post
This is hypocrisy at its best. Umpteen number of times of I have read on the forum itself how people settle dues after accidents outside of the police station. I honestly dont even recall that many cases where someone has filed an FIR and received money through the other guy or his insurer (They must be there, im sure).
I think most people are upset about this because they believe that the person responsible for the accident (presumably driving the Aston) has gotten away with clean hands.

In a case like this, the end outcome would be the same - regardless of who was driving the car. In fact its better for the Audi and Elantra guys that it was who it was (son of an Ambani, driver of an Ambani, whomever).

HOWEVER... if the Aston driver had done more serious harm or (godforbid) killed somebody - chances are we'd be in the exact same situation : driver a possible fall-guy, settlement attempts, no police action taken, guilty party roaming free and not paying any legal penalty.

That's whats bothering most people.

Media black-out would seem suspicious if the driver had actually hurt or killed someone. However, in this case - where its just damaged cars, I don't think the media should waste their (or my) time on it.

Unfortunately, some people are still expecting the media to act as if someone was killed.

Sure, the media could focus on the possible fall-guy showing up the next day - but without any proof (ccTV footage, solid eye-witnesses, etc) its all speculation beyond a point.

cya
R

Last edited by Rehaan : 26th December 2013 at 15:20.
Rehaan is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 26th December 2013, 15:13   #67

On the contrary for any newspaper worth its (greedy) salt this news story is absolute gold.Very expensive sportcars accident,son of a big shot involved,switched drivers(aha!) and hitting some other expensive cars who are not exactly autorickshaw walas,so you have a creditable "victim".News guys who are adept at smelling rats even where there is no story must have smelt a whole elephant in this one.Normally they would have grilled and hung out the big shots son to dry and dug up every bone and skeleton in the closet.

But they havnt and believe me,this is because the big shot happened to be the biggest fish in the pond who has every finger in every pie in town.Some phone calls and its all over.

Not thats a big issue anyway,nobody got injured and they will be well compensated.That A4 guy should just whine a bit and he will be given an A8 ;-)(Or has be got an A6?)

Nobody has spoken about the poor Rapide.Damages look bad but engine unharmed? May the Aston hit the road soon,sans the "Portly Young Man" behind the wheels.:-P

Last edited by avishar : 26th December 2013 at 15:17.
avishar is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 26th December 2013, 16:13   #68

Read this: http://www.ndtv.com/article/cities/m...-lateststories
As per the lady, a certain Ms. Ruparel, the insurance company played Santa, and replaced her 50lac Audi with a new Audi within 10 days, without a proper FIR and no investigation.
I really hope we all take insurance from such companies hence forth!!!!
apachelongbow is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 26th December 2013, 16:27   #69

Seriously its funny to hear all kinds of stories to cover up your mess. I could live with the fact that the cops finally accepted the driver as the one behind the wheels that night. But companies like Audi take more than a day to perform a regular service on there cars. How did they manage to evaluate this car so fast and all the paperwork got done and a new car bought within a week is beyond my understanding. Why can't they just admit that they received compensation for there loss which is a totally acceptable outcome in this situation.
drmohitg is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th December 2013, 16:53   #70

Originally Posted by mints21 View Post
I was following the Zee news clip (when it had initially reported the crash) yesterday on you tube, a lady clearly mentions on camera that it was the son who was behind the wheels and fled after accident. Now, on the contrary (as per media reports) the lady has given a different version and has refused to clearly identify the driver. Compensation has changed the versions so fast.
The lady in the clip who makes the accusation is different from the Audi owner - Ms. Ruparel. In the clip, Ruparel maintains she didn't see the driver of the Aston.

Originally Posted by liv2drv View Post
I find the people who are Acting as if they are 100% sure it was Ambani junior are behaving in the same way as the people who always blame the bigger car on the road for an incident.

Even though I do agree that it's all a bit sketchy..
Escort suv's following the AM, disappearing from the scene, the silence and cooperation from the owners of the other cars.. Not to mention an insurance company that pays out within days in India (that too enough for an A6 rather than the damaged A4).

I think we will have to give the benefit of doubt to the media, police and the Ambani's. after all, there is someone saying 'I did it'. If it is a lie (highly likely), it is sad that the integrity of the Audi owner is non existent. They can't be just poor power-less people. After all, they did buy a 25 year old an A4! They should stand up and do what's ethically right. Lets hope they have!!
But you lay down the reasons for coming to the Ambani son conclusion so well in your post!

Originally Posted by Rehaan View Post
Agree with you here. It's close to 'mob justice', which is never a good thing. I have my own opinion of what happened, but I also understand that i may be completely wrong.
No one is saying hang the guy but running away from the scene compounds the issue and makes it look worse than it is.

And we'd love to hear your opinion on what happened, with the requisite disclaimers.

Originally Posted by Gotham_City View Post
For all we know, Audi owner might have had insurance policy with 'Reliance General Insurance' .
Good one . Small point though - Reliance General Insurance is owned by Anil Ambani and I'm not too sure he'd be willing to help his estranged brother so quickly.

Last edited by StarScream : 26th December 2013 at 16:55.
StarScream is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th December 2013, 20:32   #71

I hardly find it odd that there were escort cars following an expensive car like the Aston Martin even though an Ambani wasn't in the car. It's taking out 4 crores on the roads un guarded.

Secondly, it was really a generous gesture by the Ambanis or whoever, to make it right by over compensating them. They didn't need to do this given the clout they have and nothing the victims could have done about it.

The victims were "lucky" it was an ambani and not some more influential jerk who would have dragged them thru the system.

Last edited by Raj1008 : 26th December 2013 at 20:34.
Raj1008 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th December 2013, 20:56   #72

Originally Posted by StarScream View Post

But you lay down the reasons for coming to the Ambani son conclusion so well in your post!

No one is saying hang the guy but running away from the scene compounds the issue and makes it look worse than it is.

And we'd love to hear your opinion on what happened, with the requisite disclaimers.

After reading through this thread (i had posted my comment on another before they were merged), I think the possibilities of it being Junior are getting higher, But I can't be certain, and i presume that is the same for most of us. So it is how it is...

But i would like to say what has already been said before; the importance of the matter is that this incident without death is a 'Hit and Run'. That turns a minor incident into a pretty serious crime! If it is the driver that is going to take the fall, then he should not get away lightly! This doesn't seem to be happening!

Also, in a country where a few sports cars are caught speeding becomes sensational national news, a 4cr (as reported) car which is more than the average persons life long income would quite easily become a big deal. Not to forget that it belongs to India's richest man who owns India's biggest everything (company, house, aircraft, etc). Add his son into the scene.. The media should've been having a field day!

By the way, Audi wouldn't dish out a car because an Air bag didn't pop. It happens all the time. The airbags are a supplemental restraint system.

Last edited by liv2drv : 26th December 2013 at 20:58.
Old 27th December 2013, 08:28   #73

New Audi bought with own money: Aston Martin mishap complainant.

There was no compensation involved. My car was declared a total loss and the insurance company was ready to replace my old Audi 4 with a new one. But I put in some more money and I upgraded it to the Audi 6
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/c...w/27989783.cms
Old 27th December 2013, 08:43   #74

I want to buy my next insurance from the same company. So quick to assess the damage and settle the claim! And instead of transferring the money to thw claimant's account they just buy an Audi and give her! I think that has to be a first foe the automobile insurance.

And the registration too was super quick with the same last four numbers! Who aays Indian system doesn't work?
Old 27th December 2013, 11:02   #75

Originally Posted by h@r$h@l View Post
This is all confusing. How can they say that both parties have recd new cars as compensation?

Attachment 1182663

Originally Posted by volkman10 View Post
New Audi bought with own money: Aston Martin mishap complainant.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/c...w/27989783.cms

If you go through the previous page you will find that they have themselves said that the insurance paid out. They then go onto say that the reason it was done so quick was because the air bag didn't deploy!!
liv2drv is offline   (1) Thanks