Old 28th February 2022, 23:28   #6001

Re: FASTag: All you need to know about procuring & using it!

Originally Posted by varkey View Post
Yes, the Fastag security balance did work as intended (in my case its Rs 150). However, Paytm also has this refundable security deposit of Rs 250, I am really not sure when that get used other than it being refundable if I cancel the account. I had got this tag back in late 2018 or early 2019, now if you get it from the roadside kiosks, I think this second Rs 250 security deposit is not charged. YMMV.
I agree that the UI is slightly confusing. I have a Fastag security balance of Rs 250 and I don't have any refundable security deposit but I remember that I was charged a one-off price of Rs 100 for the Paytm tag itself.

Are you saying that the moment amount is deducted from the Fastag security balance (in my case Rs 250) then automatically the tag is blacklisted?

If this is the case then somehow PayTM and even other Fastag operators should send an immediate "alert" SMS or Whatsapp message or even an automated voice call to the user account indicating that the tag is blacklisted. This might help the user to re-charge the wallet.
searacer932 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th February 2022, 23:43   #6002

Originally Posted by searacer932 View Post
I agree that the UI is slightly confusing. I have a Fastag security balance of Rs 250 and I don't have any refundable security deposit but I remember that I was charged a one-off price of Rs 100 for the Paytm tag itself.
I guess they don't have a standard way to do it. I had paid Rs 500 total (Rs 150 security balance, Rs 250 security deposit, and Rs 100 cost of the tag). In my case, I feel they are holding on to this Rs 250 security deposit, with no real purpose. I'll open a ticket if they can refund or maybe add it to the main fastag balance.

Originally Posted by searacer932 View Post
Are you saying that the moment amount is deducted from the Fastag security balance (in my case Rs 250) then automatically the tag is blacklisted?

If this is the case then somehow PayTM and even other Fastag operators should send an immediate "alert" SMS or Whatsapp message or even an automated voice call to the user account indicating that the tag is blacklisted. This might help the user to re-charge the wallet.
I think so, at-least that's what happened to me. The app did show that as the amount is less than Rs 150, the tag will not work. But the app UI doesn't it make obviously clear on a quick glance that the tag is blacklisted, definitely need some improvement there. Also, the available tag balance (from two of my tags) being clubbed sort of misled me.

They did send a regular SMS notification saying that the balance is low and I need to recharge, however when you are driving with tolls coming up within 1-2 hour interval, nobody is going to read the message. Even when I stopped at the toll gate, checking the Paytm app, it didn't occur to me to check the messages, I only noticed it later.
I agree that a voice call would have definitely helped or an alert sound from the Paytm app perhaps.
varkey is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 1st March 2022, 17:04   #6003

In my case, I feel they are holding on to this Rs 250 security deposit, with no real purpose. I'll open a ticket if they can refund or maybe add it to the main fastag balance.
But the security deposit is meant to be refunded only when the tag is cancelled, at which time if any dues are pending from the user's side they will deduct and refund. It was never meant to cover scenarios where the balance available is not enough to pay at a toll plaza.

BTW, how does one get to open a ticket with Paytm customer care? Both chat and phone support never seem to allow us get past the automation. Till a few years back, there was a simple Message Us option.
adisan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st March 2022, 18:06   #6004

Originally Posted by adisan View Post
But the security deposit is meant to be refunded only when the tag is cancelled, at which time if any dues are pending from the user's side they will deduct and refund.
I understand, its just that if I buy a new tag now, all I need to pay is Rs 350 which includes Rs 250 as fastag balance not security deposit. So the concept of security deposit is done away with except for old customers from what I understand.

FASTag: All you need to know about procuring & using it!-screenshot-20220301-5.55.27-pm.png

I also came across this article which says that threshold amount is no longer necessary and the vehicle should be allowed to pass as long as the balance is non-negative.

So my intention is mostly to just to reach out to them and see if I can get my existing tag converted to the new system. Not sure if its even possible, but worth a try I guess.

BTW, how does one get to open a ticket with Paytm customer care? Both chat and phone support never seem to allow us get past the automation. Till a few years back, there was a simple Message Us option.
Oh I assumed we can send them an email or do something using the app, I was busy with work so I couldn't really open a ticket or reach out to them. Honestly this is one thing I hate, they come up with automated chat bots which seem to handle the most common scenarios but anything outside of that, we are left with no option to actually reach the customer care.
varkey is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st March 2022, 21:00   #6005

So my intention is mostly to just to reach out to them and see if I can get my existing tag converted to the new system. Not sure if its even possible, but worth a try I guess.
If you are able to get this done, please share the steps.
Otherwise a jugaad way to get it done would be to cancel the existing tag and get a new one.
adisan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st March 2022, 22:08   #6006

What is this Rs 250 minimum balance/security deposit in PayTm Fastag? I don't see anything in my PayTm App. But I think I bought the Fastag itself by paying Rs 250 or so. The fastag wallet has a constant balance of Rs 150, which is replenished from the main wallet as and when any debit happens. I simply load Rs 1k to my wallet before starting out and everything is smooth. Never got held up in any toll booth, ever.

In fact I went on the highway last weekend after a two year gap. Just sailed through all toll booths.
Gansan is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 1st March 2022, 23:07   #6007

Originally Posted by Gansan View Post
What is this Rs 250 minimum balance/security deposit in PayTm Fastag? I don't see anything in my PayTm App. But I think I bought the Fastag itself by paying Rs 250 or so.
When I bought mine from PayTm a little over 2 years back, I paid Rs 500, which includes 100 for the tag, 150 as minimum balance and 250 as refundable security deposit. For me too, the app shows only the minimum balance and not the security deposit.

After I bought, for a small period of time, the Rs 100 for tag issuance was not charged as part of an initiative to get more people to adopt Fastag.

How long back, and from where, did you buy yours? There seems to be some cost difference if bought from the agents who sit near toll plazas.

I understand, its just that if I buy a new tag now, all I need to pay is Rs 350 which includes Rs 250 as fastag balance not security deposit. So the concept of security deposit is done away with except for old customers from what I understand.
Out of curiosity I checked AIrtel and SBI Fastags. They still charge a refundable security deposit for new tags. Whereas Paytm does not, as you mentioned above.
Old 2nd March 2022, 00:22   #6008

It makes sense to get a clarity on this. The threshold should be removed or made at least as Rs 150 instead of Rs 250.

Also, there should be someway to alert the user in case if the balance is going to go below say Rs 100 so that the user can take proactive action.

If you are lucky enough to get clarification from PayTM on the threshold limit then please keep us updated
searacer932 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd March 2022, 11:08   #6009

How long back, and from where, did you buy yours? There seems to be some cost difference if bought from the agents who sit near toll plazas.
December 2019, from a mobile recharge shop in my area. I paid Rs 500 for it, the shop fellow said I will get a credit of Rs 150 in my wallet which I got the next day. He didn't say anything about deposit, so I assumed Rs 350 to be the cost of the Fastag.
Old 2nd March 2022, 11:52   #6010

December 2019, from a mobile recharge shop in my area. I paid Rs 500 for it, the shop fellow said I will get a credit of Rs 150 in my wallet which I got the next day. He didn't say anything about deposit, so I assumed Rs 350 to be the cost of the Fastag.
The tag cost should be only Rs 100.

The Rs 150 is a minimum balance which gets added to a "sub-wallet" as Paytm calls it. Toll payments are attempted from the main wallet balance. The "sub-wallet" will come into play only if the main wallet balance is insufficient to pay a toll, and it cannot be used for any other transactions.

The refundable deposit should be Rs 250, which will be repaid on tag closure. Whether it is automatic or we have to raise a claim at that time isn't clear. The Paytm automated chat and phone support do not address this, nor have they clearly provided other channels for contacting Paytm Care with our queries. The app does not show the refundable deposit amount anywhere.

As an aside, Paytm does not charge a refundable security deposit for new tags for class 4 vehicles any more, but they have increased the minimum balance to Rs 250.
Old 2nd March 2022, 12:52   #6011

The tag cost should be only Rs 100.

The Rs 150 is a minimum balance which gets added to a "sub-wallet" as Paytm calls it. Toll payments are attempted from the main wallet balance. The "sub-wallet" will come into play only if the main wallet balance is insufficient to pay a toll, and it cannot be used for any other transactions.

The refundable deposit should be Rs 250, which will be repaid on tag closure. Whether it is automatic or we have to raise a claim at that time isn't clear. The Paytm automated chat and phone support do not address this, nor have they clearly provided other channels for contacting Paytm Care with our queries. The app does not show the refundable deposit amount anywhere.

As an aside, Paytm does not charge a refundable security deposit for new tags for class 4 vehicles any more, but they have increased the minimum balance to Rs 250.
To check the refundable security deposit (Rs.250), in PayTM app, click on your vehicle number and select View FasTag details, it will show the refundable security deposit. For me it is visible.
thanixravindran is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 2nd March 2022, 20:32   #6012

Hello BHPian's,
I would like to share my FasTag journey and learning from it.

My car was fitted with FasTag by the dealer in 2017; they got ICICI FasTag, which I didn't want. Had to go thru hops to recharge it. I couldn’t do it thru online banking (my cell number was with ICICI current account and just wouldn’t work for me). I had to download an app called Pockets by ICICI and it was a pain to use.

The official FasTag app doesn't recognize my car details, said no account found, lucky for my I found eToll by ICICI and I could use it with any hassle, save one. Made my peace with it.

A year or so when the app was updated, my car was showing pending registration. I was stumped by this, but I was able to register my account, recharge it and I could manage living with it.

Story took a twist, I had to replace the windscreen (too many scratches, hampering night driving) and the FasTag couldn't be saved.

On my way back from Daman, I decided to pay 99/- and buy a replacement FasTag near the toll at Virar, asked them to transfer to Paytm FasTag, as that is the simplest one I have used. The boys said not possible, only with ICICI can I continue my FasTag journey.

Paid the money got a replacement tag. he send an sms with the account details.
Your ICICI Bank FASTag linked to vehicle no. MALA$%&$%*$%*$%*$%$* has been deactivated due to low balance. Please recharge your FASTag to continue
He told me to call ICICI and they can help sort the vehicle number not showing on your account.

Next day called the customer service centre of ICICI, surprise surprise, it wasn't as bad as feared, they sent me a link to solve my pending registration, which my dealer had registered with the chassis number, as the car was not done with the RTO and hence no car number. (Refer image for the details) for two days I was stuck as what is the RC number.

Finally got hold of a customer service agent and he told me let me check, after 15 mins he came back and said the chassis number is the RC number
Yes, the first thing I told him was “toh chasis number likho na, why are you calling it RC number.”

Filled the details, uploaded a pic of my RC, pretty smooth and fast, I got a message will take 24-48 hours.

The next day I got a message
“Your vehicle details have been updated. Now recharge your ICICI Bank FASTag Account for free using UPI. Kindly use the VPA netc.MHZZYYXXXX@icici”
Since then it has been super smooth sailing, now I can use GPay, Paytm or Amazon Pay to manage and recharge my account.
Honestly it is easy, just get a replacement from any stalls at any toll naka’s, stick it and done, just like that.

If the data input goes awry, dealing with humans on the phone is a patient exercise, but I am glad we have a strong IT infrastructure to run the FasTag system.
FASTag: All you need to know about procuring & using it!-img20220302wa0000.jpg  

neofromcapone is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 6th March 2022, 08:27   #6013

Re: Who is your preferred FASTag provider?

My father has a "C" class, and it came with a PayTm FASTag right from the dealership. But, for some unknown reason, no sensors have read it automatically, not even once (he travels very frequently from Chennai to Hyderabad, Banglore, Kerala ). So every time someone will have to manually scan it with the gun holding up the entire line, and once the toll operator told me its always a problem with the Mercedes and Audis since they come with thicker glass

I shifted to Equitas FASTag a few months ago, and it reads, so it's not a glass problem, weird experience with Paytm

Mod Note - There are many spelling and name mistakes. Please proofread your posts before submitting them.

Last edited by Turbanator : 6th March 2022 at 08:38. Reason: Spelling, language.
Old 6th March 2022, 10:40   #6014

Originally Posted by Sierra__foxtrot View Post
for some unknown reason, no sensors have read it automatically]
Thick glass theory is interesting but unbelievable !

Couple of reasons I can think of which may cause this issue-

- Tag placement on windshield.

- Tag is pasted on tinted area.

Do you suspect any of the above?

Last edited by Turbanator : 6th March 2022 at 10:54. Reason: Please Quote only releavent portion. Thanks.
Old 6th March 2022, 12:02   #6015

Originally Posted by Aviator_guy View Post
Thick glass theory is interesting but unbelievable !

Couple of reasons I can think of which may cause this issue-

- Tag placement on windshield.

- Tag is pasted on tinted area.

Do you suspect any of the above?
No. I don't suspect either cause since the equitas tag is pasted in the same area where I had the paytm tag stuck in and its also not a tinted area.

Last edited by Axe77 : 7th March 2022 at 21:29. Reason: Removing excessive dots and cleaning up the formatting.