Team-BHP > Street Experiences
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

View Poll Results: Has your driving style changed after observing mileage in realtime?
Yes, I am a more sedate driver with uniform speeds now 187 48.95%
No - I don't care 128 33.51%
Can't - My car/bike doesn't display mileage in real time 67 17.54%
Voters: 382. You may not vote on this poll

Search this Thread
Old 1st December 2017, 09:12   #1
Senior - BHPian

Does the Real-Time Fuel Economy indicator change your driving style?

In April, I brought home my Ford Aspire. While I missed the mad diesel torque of my 2008 Swift VDi, and felt happy at the potentially lower pollution, the FE was shockingly low. Mind you, I've always been a spirited driver. While I don't speed beyond 90-100, I was very quick to get there, even in my VDi. The net result was a mileage of 13-14 kpl in Chennai and 17 kpl in Gurgaon.

One key equipment in the Aspire was the Real Time Fuel Economy (RTFE) indicator.

See bottom part of this image from the official review:

Hard acceleration at low speeds showed me an instantaneous FE of as low as 2.2 kpl. First few tankfuls barely gave me 10-10.2 kpl. I had resigned myself to a low FE regime till I took the first long drive in the car.

On a drive to the hills, I started late morning, so I was driving fairly sedately - think 85 kph for 200km because of speed traps at regular intervals. My mileage for that section was so good (~20 kpl) that the environmentalist inside me completely changed my driving style.

Even now, I regularly maintain a constant speed wherever possible and avoid hard acceleration that was my hallmark in the VDi. The net result? Excellent mileage and a 15-20% lower carbon footprint.

A recent trip to Jaipur (complete with hill driving in Jaipur and crawling within the city) returned an impressive 17.85 kpl. My city mileage has also improved to 11.5 - 12+ at all times.