View Poll Results: What is your Home to Office + Office to Home commute time?
Less than 30 minutes 113 27.63%
30 minutes to 60 minutes 102 24.94%
1 hour to 2 hours 109 26.65%
2 hours to 3 hours 54 13.20%
3 hours to 4 hours 24 5.87%
More than 4 hours 7 1.71%
Voters: 409. You may not vote on this poll

Old 16th August 2024, 07:50   #46

Re: What is your daily office commute like?

Not to work, but to college.

18km one way. I have 3 routes to choose from:
Good roads but jam packed traffic
Shorter distance but absolutely packed traffic
Horrible roads but no traffic

I obviously commute by the 3rd option. I used a bike for a year and a half, racking up 20k kms in that time period. Been using a car since November 2023, covered 10k kms in this period only by my commutes.
saikishor is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 16th August 2024, 08:09   #47

My workplace is 28 km from my residence (Andheri East to Kala Ghoda). If I leave early, say by 7:45, its a pleasurable drive via the Western Express Highway, sea link, coastal road and marine drive . It takes 50 min.

The drive back home is the opposite. Long patches of crawling traffic, bottlenecks as vehicles try to cut the queue to flyovers and sneak in from the sides, slowing everyone down. It takes me 2 hours to reach home.

Thus I drive to work maybe once in 2 weeks. On all other days I take the train. Its uncomfortable but cheap and fast.

Guess the law about Time Cost and Quality holds true here. One can have only two out of three.
cityslicker86 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th August 2024, 08:10   #48

35 Kilometres from suburbs to core city in chennai and back. Morning, it's 1.15 hours as I start at 7.15. evening, anywhere between 1.5 hours to 2.5 hours. Special days like Pongal eve, deepavali eve, it's a long way to go ��. I still remember the chennai floods 2015, where i managed to reach home in 9 hours.
Old 16th August 2024, 08:21   #49

For me it used to be 1 hr in the morning and 1.5 hrs in the evening for 30 Km commute between Kharghar and Chembur.

Now in Ahmedabad, the 6 Km commute between home and office is 20 minutes in the morning (17 if I am lucky with atleast 1 signal) and 30 minutes in the evening
Old 16th August 2024, 08:49   #50

I commute from Electronic City to Magrath Road and back everyday. I'm trying to work around the traffic by leaving for work early, but it still takes up atleast 2 hours of my day (to and fro) at a minimum. Such a pain sometimes
WhiskeyTangoFox is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 16th August 2024, 08:50   #51

^^Once the yellow metro line opens, you could try using it. Might save time & stress of driving.
Old 16th August 2024, 09:01   #52

I may have done which most of us would not give up. I just took a new job with a very decent hike and at a very reputed organization and at a senior management level. The only downside is this job requires me to work from office.

I knew about this beforehand and took a conscious decision. My work location is about 30 kms from home and I have now totally given up driving. My Honda has not accumulated 50 kms in last one month. I used to drive to my earlier job but now I always take the train. Local trains are dirt cheap (an AC local yearly pass comes to a bit over 18k INR. Earlier I used to spend nothing less than 60k INR just on my Annual petrol bills) and damn fast than road commutes in Mumbai. It takes me just an hour and 15 minutes door to door to commute by local train, which by road would be anywhere between 2.5 to 3 hrs. (One word WEH, if you know you know)

I understand that local train commutes can be harrowing but it all comes down to timing your commute (even in rush hour there will be that one train which is not patronised) and finding a group of people with whom you commute everyday. The AC locals have added that bit of additional comfort and do help in keeping you fresh in the morning.

Surprisingly I found out after joining that our SVPs also use the trains to save time.

Last edited by Dieseltuned : 16th August 2024 at 09:02.
Dieseltuned is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 16th August 2024, 09:13   #53

I hope college counts. i just finished this may.

College was 6 kms away.

College starts at an odd 2.15pm. Roads are deserted, so it takes a maximum of 10 minutes and a minimum of 6 minutes.

Ends at 7.30. Peak rush hour. There are multiple routes all ~6kms,

An hour at worst and 45 minutes at best. The worst problem is that, the majority of my route involves a straight road.
Old 16th August 2024, 09:25   #54

Originally Posted by drhoneycake View Post
Daily commute 150 kms daily
Car ODO : 1Lac kms in 2.5 years 😁
For that kind of daily mileage, you should have reached 100K much earlier. no? I do half of your daily mileage with some highway drives thrown in, and I've done 86K across 2 cars since March 2022.
Old 16th August 2024, 09:54   #55

Pune, Pimple Saudagar to Hinjewadi Ph 3. I work 3 days a week from office. I leave at 8 am with travel time around 40 minutes. I leave office around 2 pm to avoid evening traffic and work rest of the day from home. Travel time around 35 minutes. Traffic is less on Thu-Fri compared to Mon-Wed. I listen to FM radio during my commute.
LightningMcking is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th August 2024, 09:58   #56

Originally Posted by narayans80 View Post
For that kind of daily mileage, you should have reached 100K much earlier. no? I do half of your daily mileage with some highway drives thrown in, and I've done 86K across 2 cars since March 2022.
This 150kms is 5 days a week.
Also I use my wife’s car 2 days a week. So that also does a lot of running.

You can say running is shared 60-40 b/w two cars.

Last edited by drhoneycake : 16th August 2024 at 09:59.
drhoneycake is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th August 2024, 10:30   #57

Originally Posted by Dieseltuned View Post
Surprisingly I found out after joining that our SVPs also use the trains to save time.
During my college days i used to take the 8:08 malad local, as with most trains during office hours this one also had a fixed set of co-travelers everyday.

once i heard somone in the group telling one person "kya bhai kitna din C class chalayega, ab E class lelo" i thought they are pulling his leg untill few months later i actually saw him driving a C class.

So, not surprising that many people with money and at top positions travel via Local.
Gaur is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th August 2024, 10:34   #58

Daily commute - 60km
Place - Bangalore

Frequency of office visit - Once/twice every week

I travel from Hoodi/Whitefield to KIADB Hardware Park near airport. Usually I take the Budigere route (especially on days when there is rain or expectation of rain) and it takes me about an hour to reach office. While coming back, because of evening rush hour traffic it takes about an hour and a half.

I enjoy my commute because the road is decent except in some patches where I get to experience off-roading. I also find this route much better than the ORR - Hennur road which is more start stop and has boring scenery.

Last edited by graaja : 16th August 2024 at 11:09. Reason: Typos
Old 16th August 2024, 10:56   #59

During my office days in Chandigarh, use to take ~25 mins to cover 17 kms, however now it's just under a minute. From my room to my home office

One of the blessed ones to be WFH.
gauravdgr8 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th August 2024, 11:02   #60

I stay in Pune and my office is around 13 kms one way and mainly drive to office (I do carpool).

I start to office around 8:50 am and mostly reach office around 9:30 am. So run of around 40 minutes. Return from office to home around 5 pm and it takes around 50-55 minutes.
My office asks 3 days work from office but I mostly go to office daily.

With Pune metro now fully operational on my office route, I also have an option to Metro. I do take it once or twice a week. Really good initiative by my office to provide shuttle service every 45 minutes for Pick up and drop to Bund Garden metro station.

But since my home is a 10 minutes away from Metro station by auto\bike and multiple hops needed, I end up spending 1 hour both ways if I use Metro.

Also taking car to office helps me to finish some calls while driving to office which is difficult in Metro.