Register

Old 6th June 2025, 14:15   #1

Your D-day experiences. Post your experience of the first drive home of your newly bought car.

I’d like to jot down my experiences from the day I brought home my purchased car.
Some people may have uneventful delivery-day stories, while others might have something more memorable to share. Most of my experiences were fairly normal, but a few moments stood out—especially during the first drive home. Here’s a look at those:

1) Maruti 800
Your D-day experiences. Post your experience of the first drive home of your newly bought car.-800_1.jpg
Nothing particularly special here, except that it was my first time driving a floor-shift car. Until then, we had a Premier Padmini with the iconic steering-mounted gear shifter. My dad brought along a knowledgeable friend just in case I had trouble driving. Thankfully, I managed to get the car home without any issues. This was in July 1997.

2) Honda Civic
Your D-day experiences. Post your experience of the first drive home of your newly bought car.-civic.jpg
We bought this car used. The final ₹50,000 was paid via demand draft, which we handed over to the private seller (a fellow Bhpian, Xtremeg) before taking delivery.

I happily got into the car, started it, and tried to disengage the handbrake. I pushed the button and pushed down with all my might, but it wouldn’t budge. Meanwhile, the seller’s driver had parked the car halfway between their bungalow gate and the middle of the road—causing a mini traffic jam. Cars were waiting for me, and I started to panic. I sounded the horn of the car and the driver quickly came over and released the handbrake without any fuss. It felt like the car didn’t want to leave its old home! 😊. This was in July 2011.

It was a rainy day on the day of delivery. My dad needed to use the restroom on the way home, but we were stuck in traffic. The Civic was so silent that I accidentally cranked the engine twice while it was already running, which triggered the check engine light giving me quite a scare .

Later, my dad got out and asked me to meet him at a public restroom en route. As I approached the spot, I saw the road ahead was flooded. I was hesitant to drive through it. Luckily, I saw a Skoda Octavia navigate the same stretch successfully, so I followed it and made it across. I couldn’t believe I drove through water on the very day I took delivery! Thankfully, the rest of the journey was smooth.

3) Hyundai Verna & Maruti Swift
Nothing noteworthy here. The drives were pretty mundane without anything worth mentioning.

Would love to hear your D-day (delivery-day) experiences too, if you have any!

Note to mods- Kindly merge or delete thread if needed.

sumeethaldankar is online now   (20) Thanks
Old 8th June 2025, 21:14   #2

Re: Your D-day experiences. Post your experience of the first drive home of your newly bought car.

The best delivery experience was from Maruti, for me. Hands down, they still have the best customer service. This was back in 2012, we booked a silver Maruthi Swift Vdi. Was quoted a 6 month waiting period. Surprise call in 2 months that our vehicle is enroute. They provided a 5 ltr diesel coupon, sweets, few goodies, discounted accessories (around 15% ), a mini god idol for dashboard. It was our family's first car and though we have purchased few other vehicles ever since (Pulsar 200ns, Maruthi Alto K10, Hyundai Creta, Yamaha Fazer, RE Bear 650) nothing matched the first one

Last edited by Rudra Sen : 8th June 2025 at 22:10. Reason: Typo edited
glvenubt11 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 8th June 2025, 21:59   #3

Infractions: 0/2 (9)
Re: Your D-day experiences. Post your experience of the first drive home of your newly bought car.

Maruti GYPSY 2017 MPFI

My Dad had a gypsy in 90’s for around 3 years and used extensively.

For reasons unknown I fell in love with the gypsy since the time I saw it.i just wanted one for myself.

Come 2017 I took the delivery of the Gypsy.For me this was the most fascinating time and I was the most excited on that day. Even if I buy a rolls Royce phantom in the future I probably wouldn’t be so excited like I was on that day.i used this vehicle for 3.5 years clocking 70000 kms before I decided to give it away.Travelled to almost every point in India with the GYPSY.I had the time of my life driving this vehicle for 3.5 years.But I really didn’t realise that until it went away.

The only regret I have in my life is selling that vehicle.i really miss driving it and owning one.I might just pick one again in the future.

This thread has really fueled my desire and love for the gypsy again.My Jimny is going to have his brother back in the future.
Your D-day experiences. Post your experience of the first drive home of your newly bought car.-img_3532.jpeg  

Your D-day experiences. Post your experience of the first drive home of your newly bought car.-img_3534.jpeg  

Your D-day experiences. Post your experience of the first drive home of your newly bought car.-img_3536.jpeg  

Himalayanbaba is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 9th June 2025, 10:14   #4

In August & September, 2023, my Toyota Fortuner (White 4x2 Automatic) had done around 175000kms and was 7 years old. I met with a couple of small accidents at the same time and car kept staying in the showroom.

The Sales head saw me and just like that saw an opportunity. We spoke and he made me a brilliant offer for the car and I was sold. I booked a new one right there on the spot. The only thing was that I wanted a Black 4x4 AT.

They had one available in Nagpur. They arranged the same one for me and instead of getting it here, which would mean that someone else will drive it for 300 kms, I decided to take delivery from Nagpur itself.

My wife and I went to Nagpur the next day via Vande Bharat Express and reached by noon. We were waiting for the confirmation from our trusted bank that the loan for the difference amount is disbursed. By afternoon we went to check the car and with a PDI checklist from TeamBhp in hand, I felt like a little child.

Due to some issue, the bank couldn’t process the disbursal and so we both decided to travel another day. We had to leave the car in the showroom because for obvious reasons we couldn’t ask the showroom to give us the car without the full payment.

We reached the railway station and boarded another train to Raipur.
The train started moving and the phone rang. The bank manager apologised and I told him that I was travelling back. He immediately took the showroom sales head in conference and he took them into confidence.

Fast forward a couple of minutes, my wife and I, jumped from the slow moving train onto the platform. We went to the showroom and took its delivery and drove back to Raipur. It was raining cats and dogs the whole way back but I still remember this delivery experience. (In no way do I promote this or ask anyone to compromise on safety)

The Black one was our third Fortuner and Fifth Toyota Vehicle. It was also the second time when I had brought the vehicle home without paying in full.

This was taken in the day of the delivery!!
Your D-day experiences. Post your experience of the first drive home of your newly bought car.-img_4190.jpeg  

Last edited by libranof1987 : 9th June 2025 at 11:26. Reason: Merging back-to-back posts
adityaNview is offline   (16) Thanks
Old 9th June 2025, 11:08   #5

My first car, a Chevy Spark, was delivered on October 29th, 2009, by the Kropex dealership on Hosur Road. It was completely my choice, and nobody among my relatives knew about this car. An LPG car with a sequential kit and auto switchover to petrol/LPG was never heard of in 2009. The first nuisance of that day: I can never forgive the Corporation Bank staff who, on the previous day, had issued a cash of ₹1.25 lakhs to me. They failed to notice a few counterfeit currencies totaling ₹2000. When I went to deposit the same at SBI, it was rejected by SBI Bank on Bannerghatta Road. Those days without UPI and very basic internet banking created a lot of inconvenience before taking the vehicle delivery, as I had to pay the amount to the dealership.
deehunk is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 9th June 2025, 12:55   #6

Butterflies of anticipation! Had it for my first car and did not diminish for my second at all. My account here will focus on my last experience with Tafe Access Skoda, St Mark's Road

The cab ride to the dealership felt incredibly special and I could spot the car covered under the ceremonial cover even before entering the dealership. The lovely heritage (looking) building added to the charm. The staff were a bit surprised to see my solo arrival (was in such a phase) and Oh! it was also the tail end of Covid with me wearing a mask.

Quick unveiling with photo op, no cake cutting but I had a hamper for my sales advisor. I turned on the ignition (and the engine at their insistence) although it was inside the showroom). A quick run through the key functions but I was too preoccupied to digest them all. I humbly requested them to manoeuvre the car from the narrow confines of the showroom to near the exit.

From my Polo, the Octavia (mk 4) was larger, more complicated in functions with most operated from the infotainment screen. Gingerly stepped out with a massive sudden brake as the dense traffic along St Mark's road greeted me. It was a swift affair at the dealership with all the standard accessories installed or in the boot. I did not get the OE rubber mats until weeks later though.

After squeezing my way to Shell for my first fill I realised that the decorative tape was still in place.
Your D-day experiences. Post your experience of the first drive home of your newly bought car.-pxl_20211230_122432261.jpg

The drive through the busy Bellary road to Yelahanka was gingerly all the way (no, I did not floor it) and upon reaching my society I realised I needed to park this thing between my (infamous) pillars.

The very next day I headed out for a 300 km drive into the hills
Your D-day experiences. Post your experience of the first drive home of your newly bought car.-pxl_20211231_0721372772.jpg

Last edited by Rudra Sen : 10th June 2025 at 15:02. Reason: Edited
GeeTee TSI is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 9th June 2025, 14:40   #7

We still remember taking delivery of 2006 Wagon R VXi (the then top model) in UP. Cash was king and we remember carrying money in polythene bags! No PDI, no checks, just give us the car for mandatory pooja, tank full and family ice cream! Paper work was smooth as the dealership belonged to dad's friend. It is still with us for its tall boy design which is easy on parents knees, with some dents and doing daily duties flawlessly with the superb AC, unhurt electricals and a friend's FNG!

Personally, I bought my sister's Brio 2012 S MT in Bangalore who had upgraded her vehicle and it was lying unused. With 22k on the odo in 2017 with no niggles whatsoever. Got the car serviced, changed the battery and drove one-shot with a friend to Mumbai. That road trip is still fresh with me (there's a hidden Pune story which, till today, makes us go rofl with stomach hurting!). It is still with me, crawling and hiding in the Bangalore traffic beautifully without burning the wallet. Memories memories!
prash2606 is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 9th June 2025, 16:27   #8

The most memorable experience of first drive of a new car was that of the Tata Harrier. Staying in Bangalore, booking a car & taking delivery with a Vasai dealer in Mumbai was an episode which will be etched in my mind thanks to Covid. Covered from head to toe post the delivery formalities started with a ton of butterflies in the stomach, even refuelling at the nearest bunk was done with utmost care. The drive from Vasai to Pune was a tensed one considering that I had to cross the Fountain Hotel bridge plus Ghodbunder Road, traverse the Thane Belapur traffic to a heave of sigh when the car hit the Pune Eway. The heart was pounding at a rate which could have been easily heard in the silent cabin as my wife and son were totally not speaking. The E way eased some tensions but the Pune City traffic did give some heart in the mouth events. Once we reached a destination there was a loud hurrah from family when I safely parked the huge car in the modest car parking space of my FIL.

We had gone without eating for 6 hrs bliss fully unaware that we were feeling hungry. Being Covid we had asked the dealer for no fan fare, no cake cutting etc and survived on 2 cups of tea till we reached Pune.
ghodlur is online now   (6) Thanks
Old 10th June 2025, 12:20   #9

Feb 1st 2023 - Tata Tiago XT Rhythm

Finally, the day arrived that I had been waiting for for more than two months. It was a Wednesday, and I had taken leave to collect the car from the dealership. It is my first car, and therefore, I was both nervous and a bit anxious, considering the horror stories I had read about Tata dealerships and the sales experience I had with them over two months.

My wife couldn't join me as she had to head to the office for work and couldn't take leave.

I was a fairly new driver at that time, having learnt to drive only in Nov 2022. Therefore, I had requested my brother to accompany me as he had been driving his Honda City since 2017. We checked the vehicle, did the necessary documentation, cut the cake, collected the keys and we took the vehicle home. He drove it as I was jittery and didn't want any untoward incident.

Your D-day experiences. Post your experience of the first drive home of your newly bought car.-img_2389.jpg

We parked the vehicle at his apartment parking lot, and my proud parents and nephew clicked photos along with it.

In the evening, I thought I would pick up my wife in our new car and get her to my bro's place. I was confident enough to do it, but this time, my bro had the jitters. He immediately told me he would accompany me.

I sat in the driver's seat for the first time and admired the interiors and all the controls. It didn't take much time for me to get acquainted, as it was similar to MS Alto that I had learnt driving in.

I started the car, put it into gear, and while taking a turn, narrowly missed a pillar that was on the other side of the parking lot. My brother had his heart in his mouth and yelled at me to be careful. I had a sheepish, nervous grin and drove ahead.

The pickup point is around 5-6 kms away at Gottigere Nice Road junction from Arekere signal, which is jam-packed in the evening. I was driving cautiously and slowly while my brother was blabbering instructions on how to keep my vehicle away from other vehicles.

Finally, we reached the pickup point with 0 incidents. My wife was already waiting, and she was overjoyed looking at our new vehicle. Like a little girl, she excitedly sat in the rear seat, and my bro had a gala time talking about how my driving gave him the horrors.

From there, we went to a Ganesha temple near Mico layout, where the roads are narrow and jammed with traffic. By this time, I had enough confidence to drive carefully. We did the puja and went to my bro's home again.

Dinner time was fun as we were discussing my driving experience, and everyone was happy to see me with a new car after almost 38 years of my existence.

Post dinner, my bro offered to drop us at our house in Kanakapura Road in our car, but I denied, as I wanted to drive more and get acquainted with the new car quickly. For the entire half an hour of our journey, he was nervously sitting at home till I messaged him that we and the car had reached home safe and sound.

When we reached, my friends were waiting at the parking lot and they were overjoyed looking at the car. They became little kids going over the exteriors and interiors of the car and discussing them in detail. The red colour was the highlight and we couldn't stop gushing about it.

My wife and I were so excited about our new car that we sat in there for almost 10-15 minutes just happy about everything.

After more than 2 years and 22000+ kms, we still look at the car with the same excitement and happiness.

That first drive on our first car on the first day gave me a hell lot of confidence as a new driver.

Last edited by KarthikK : 10th June 2025 at 13:13. Reason: Only two smileys allowed per post please :)
raovarunn is online now   (6) Thanks
Old 10th June 2025, 12:21   #10

One of the happiest moment in my life was when I took the delivery of my Polo 1.5 TDI which was our family's first car during September 2014. My parents received the key and they were extemely happy too.
Your D-day experiences. Post your experience of the first drive home of your newly bought car.-polophoto.jpg  

Last edited by KarthikK : 10th June 2025 at 13:14.
dataguy is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 10th June 2025, 13:25   #11

My first car was my i10 sportz model which I purchased as part of a group deal with a 5 other company employees in Hyderabad. Nothing much about it.

My second vehicle (my Innova Crysta 2.4 V MT Diesel) which I purchased after returning to India post COVID and I needed a MPV to accommodate all family members with luggage for long drives to Kumbakonam (which we do atleast once a month). The initial test drive was done by my brother and I could not drive as my India DL had expired (this was issued in 1998 and was not computerized. I had to go through the entire process for taking a new DL in Chennai. Will post on that if anyone needs info). Booked the G model (silver) it and was told the wait period was 90 days. Got a call around 40 days saying a different color (Avant Garde Bronze) and V model was available and ready for delivery. Took it and completed the payment formalities. I always had a kind of love for Innova (the rugged vehicle with soft innocent looks) and oh boy, it was so cool to have my own Innova. Brother drove it all the way home (still was lazy to go to renew the DL which stayed that way for another 6 months). Took it for a weekend drive to Yelagiri (yes, I drove it). Don't tell - I know it was wrong
loco-motor-007 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 10th June 2025, 14:11   #12

1. My very first car was a Hyundai Santro Xing XP. I had just finished getting my Driver's License and I was scared to drive it home in the evening. So I had my office colleague come with my parents and me to take delivery of the car. He drove it to a temple close to my house. Once the puja etc were done, I drove it to my home. I remember it vividly because I almost ran over my father when I took it out of the temple. My relatives still rib me about it

2. The second car I owned was a Ford Fiesta SXi. I got it from MPL Ford on Mount Road. It was pretty nondescript event. It was a great car, when it worked. The engine was replaced 15 days after delivery. The timing belt broke 30 days later. And within four years of ownership, the dash just stopped working.

3. The third car that I purchased was a Honda Civic manual. I dont remember its trim level. It was black and I drove it with a lot of trepidation back from the dealers. My wife came along with me.

4. The fourth car was a Honda CRV. I didn't go for delivery, but rather got it delivered home.

5. The fifth car was a Fortuner. Again, I didn't go for delivery, but got it delivered. I remember the pouring rains at that time.

6. The sixth car is a GLA. My wife and I actually went to pick it up from the Mount Road showroom. We had the usual Mercedes Benz hullabaloo with a cake, coffee etc etc. This was the only delivery where the security guy asked me for money. I told him to FO and complained later to the Mercedes Benz higher ups later.

7. The seventh car is a MG Comet. This was delivered home again as we couldn't go to the showroom.

So best experience would be the Civic. Worst overall might be the GLA.
hajaar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th June 2025, 14:22   #13

On the day of the delivery of my present car, I woke up in the morning and realised I was feverish!!

I popped a paracetamol in private as my wife would not let me go for the delivery if she knew I was feverish.

I went through the entire delivery process, the tank fill-up, visit to local temple for blessing of the Almighty, a quick drive around South Delhi for a demo of the car..

...and then came back home and crashed in bed for a typical 5 day viral cycle!! I used to watch my new car in the parking lot from my balcony for those days, just waiting to drive it.

(P.S. this was pre-covid era. Don't think i would risk it now!)
amitayu is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 10th June 2025, 14:58   #14

Intersting thread idea!

Brio Petrol [2011]
The car dealer was 150km away from home. While I had just learnt to drive a few months back, I did not want to risk so I asked the dealer to arrange a driver, and I comfortably sat in the rear seat.

Figo Diesel [2016]
The dealer was in south part of Bangalore, and I was living in North part, I took delivery during evening hours, reaching home back without any scratches through key traffic prone sections of city was such a nightmare.

Jeep Compass Diesel [2022]
I had moved out of Bangalore, but the dealer was in Bangalore. I took delivery in the morning and began driving back home with my family (~350km) when it was pouring cats and dogs all along. The feeling of driving a larger car, with a powerful engine in that context was quite an experience.

Tiago EV [2024]
First Automatic, being EV made the entire driving experience new to me, having an over enthusiastic son seated next, guiding me on car matters (in and out of car) made it very enjoyable.
Old 10th June 2025, 16:12   #15

Bought Deep Forest Scorpio N on 17th March 2025! Big day for me but apparently an even bigger day for my daughter.

She was jumping around like she got the keys, named the car “Popli” within 30 seconds of seeing it, and now we all respectfully refer to it as Popli. No debates allowed.

She insisted on inspecting every single accessory being fitted, like a tiny PDI inspector.

Fast forward to school drop-off day — she buckles up, pats the dashboard lovingly, and says:

“When I grow up, I’ll take you to your school in this car.”

Your D-day experiences. Post your experience of the first drive home of your newly bought car.-baani.jpg
Figo0202 is offline   (6) Thanks