Team-BHP > Street Experiences
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 26th November 2007, 19:12   #1
BHPian

What makes Tata Indica 1.4 Petrol, India's Ultimate Sleeper Car !

sleeper (n. or adj.) - A sleeper (US English) or Q-car (British English) is a car that has high performance and an unassuming exterior.

I am new to the world of "actual" driving as I turned 18 just a few months ago, my backseat driving skills notwithstanding.

My car is a humble 2003 "Tata Indica V2 LSi 16-Bit Microprocessor 75 BHP Petrol" (well, that's what the badging says).

I've spent almost three months learning about the car (apart from improving my driving skills) and staying behind the wheel of my petrol Indica gave me a lot of pleasant surprises:

The main reason for the surprises:
Most of the Indicas sold are diesels for reasons I don't want to elaborate upon and insult your intelligence. Thus, everybody presumes that my car is a diesel.

Here it goes:

At the time of starting:
People feel that this car will start with a huge groan. But to their surprise, it almost purrs to a start (if you are comparing with the diesel).

At fuel stations:
In most cases, the pump employee blindly presumes that, "here comes another call-centre cabbie, and will definitely fill the cheapest available diesel". So, he will ask me, "Diesel ?". When I say, "Speed Petrol", it is interesting to note the rather confused expression on the poor chap's face. Many times, he'll be hesitant while filling petrol with the fear that I am putting petrol in a diesel car.

At traffic lights: