Team-BHP > Street Experiences

Closed Thread
  Search this Thread
Old 22nd January 2008, 00:35   #1
BHPian

Skodas = bad drivers?

Before I get totally flamed, let me say I mean no offence to any other TeamBHPian here, and I am not usually fond of generalizations. Plus, there are probably several very responsible Skoda owners here, and I in no way want to disrespect them.

That said, I have been driving about 50km+ every day for the last 3 years. One thing that has stood out in my experience is that the average Skoda (esp. Octavia) drivers drive really bad! They just edge themselves between cars, overtake from the left and force themselves on other drivers.

All I want to ask is whether there is something inherent in the Octavia that makes people drive rashly? I have never driven one, but is there something peculiar about their acceleration or handling or sideview mirror visibility (or perhaps even target market) that suggests such a trend?
Old 22nd January 2008, 00:40   #2
BANNED

He have had a thread for scorpio and now for Skoda . At this rate we will have a thread for every car. Some one entrepreneurial can start a thread on Nano and believe me that will hit the max posts in no time .

IMHO, the most dangerous vehicle on Indian roads is the humble Indicab, an old age diesel and takes ages to hit 100, but bully everybody on road.
Old 22nd January 2008, 00:47   #3
BHPian

I dont think this is true buddy.. firstly most of the skodas are bought by middle aged guys and i dont think they will be doing an sporty or rash driving.

I have not seen anything unusual with the skodas but ofcourse on the highway they can easily cruise at high speeds..

i think u must have encountered a few petrol skodas or some rich kids having fun with with their cars. But i dont think skodas in general are driven rashly.
Old 22nd January 2008, 00:48   #4
Senior - BHPian

Thats because Skoda's also appeal greatly to people who pronounce it proudly as Sakoda.
Old 22nd January 2008, 01:12   #5