Old 20th August 2008, 20:57   #1

A bad day on 19th Aug'08

August 19, 2008

What transpired today with me would've in normal course resulted in a
very irritated foul-mouthed character, but somehow I'm at peace with self.

Wifey's Safari (1998) had a wiper problem and I had decided that today
I would get the same rectified. Took the vehicle to the garage in the
morning at 9:45 and it was diagnosed that the teeth of the plastic
gear inside the wiper motor had gone bust and needed replacement. The
necessary changes were done and by 12 I was on my way back home to
drop the Safari and get the Scorpio to the garage. Why?

Yesterday morning when I cranked the Scorpio for the first time, it
started as usual but somehow the sound was different than everyday but
I didn't pay much attention. While putting the seat-belt on, my gaze
suddenly fell on the instrument panel and to my horror the RPM meter
was dead. I revved up and suddenly it sprang to life and I was
relieved but that was working up in the back of my mind. At noon while
driving in Delhi, I suddenly discovered that the RPM meter was dead
again. I immediately slammed on the brakes to see if they were working
and found that they were. I stopped the vehicle and checked the engine
bay and found the belt to be intact. In fact the main belt and the PS
belt were replaced at 67K on 30th Mar'08, and had run 8K kms after
that. So the alternator had stopped charging and hence the RPM meter
was dead. I returned home after the end of the day with full AC on and
HLs blazing. The battery - AMCO-75AH installed on 26th Dec'06 (18
months warranty), held on. So today morning after Safari's work it was
Bull's turn to visit the garage.

I was apprehensive if the vehicle would crank, but at half turn of the
key it sprang to life. The battery was holding tight. I drove to the
garage. The alternator (MICO) was opened and it was discovered that
the carbon brushes in the cut-out were totally worn out. A new set of
MICO brushes were installed and by 1 the Bull was ready to roll.
Damages: Rs. 200/- including the part.

Left the garage and took NH8 (Gurgaon expressway) to Delhi for office.
At the toll plaza stopped for a short while to recharge the tags for
Scorpio and Safari and then proceeded further. Due to a trailer turned
turtle on the Vasant Vihar road the traffic was being diverted towards
Dhaula Kuan. This should've warned me that things were not going to be
right for me..!!! As soon as I reached the the road towards Dhaula
Kuan there was a traffic jam and I slowed down and stopped. Then the
traffic crawled a bit and I too and then to my horror found that the
brakes wouldn't engage. I pulled the hand brake to stop the vehicle
and saw that the RPM meter was dead again and the battery light was
on. Switching on the hazard lights I moved to the left slowly, stopped
and opened the bonnet. The main belt was in tatters. Called the garage
and the mechanic advised that since I was quite far from his place I shouldn't think of coming to him as the vehicle would heat-up but rather find a mechanic there itself and get the new belt installed.

Where would I find a mechanic on that road? So, I took a U turn and thought of heading towards the garage. By now the temp gauge started showing attitude and the vehicle was heating up. So, I after taking a U-turn parked on the left, opened the hood and switched off. Today the
weather too was not kind and it was warm, sunny & muggy. Then I
remembered that I had subscribed to RACE car help and called them up
asking for help. I was not much worried as I had kept the old removed
the main belt as spare. The helpline car came after 45 mins and the
mechanic after looking at the innards declared that it was beyond him
to repair and this could be done in a garage only. When I asked him to
tow me to the garage, he said that since he came in a Maruti Omni, he
couldn't pull this behemoth. Instead he suggested that he would cool
the engine by pouring water on the radiator etc. and that I could
drive to some place where I would get the mechanic.

In the meanwhile I had called up fellow Scopriona Roshan to inform him about my predicament and talk to him as well to kill boredom. Little did I know that Mr. Povaiah would make me a guinea pig for one of his bright
ideas. He suggested that if I switch on the AC then the condensor
cooling fan would come on and in the process provide some cooling.
Also if I put the thermostat to the hot position, then it would enable
the hot water to circulate thus cooling the engine in the process. I
added my bright idea to his by putting the air circulation mode to
fresh air instead of recirculation thinking that it would further cool
the engine.

Voila, this worked like magic and the temp gauge remained below the
half mark and with two pit stops and some more water throwing I
managed to reach the garage. I must mention though that three times
the temp shot up and red mark lit up and started blinking. I then
immediately switched off the engine, stopped the car and opened the
hood to cool it off.

At the garage the belt was changed and I insisted on changing the PS
belt as well. Both the belts costed Rs.480/-; Main Belt - Rs.390/- and
PS belt - Rs.90/-. I was not charged any labour for installing the
belts. Returned home at 8 pm, sweaty, hungry and tired. Had a shower,
a shot of caffeine and wrote how I spent my day..

I forgot to mention that since yesterday the alternator wasn't
charging. And today it charged only for about 8 kms. I must mention
that the AMCO battery really held on and cranked the engine every time
in the first attempt itself. Before reaching the garage the vehicle
practically drove in a hybrid mode - diesel + electrical power.
Old 20th August 2008, 21:16   #2

Oh my goodness!
What a way to spend a day?? Thank god you made it home finally.
Bad things do happen but atleast when it's related to cars and vehicles, it's something to relish and be happy about later on. Ain't it?

One thing's for sure: Guruji didn't get Behenji's Ashirwad today!
Old 20th August 2008, 21:18   #3

Dude, sorry to hear the above. No doubt you had a horrid time and came out as a winner. A beast and bull came to repairs at the same time. But is pouring water on the radiator is a good idea for modern engines?
Old 20th August 2008, 21:23   #4

Which Garage do you take your trucks to?

Mahindra A.S.S in gurgaon is bad,only thing good is they have access to genuine spares.
Old 20th August 2008, 21:27   #5

Oh, thats really sad to hear. But your post has helped me to know some more tech stuff of the vehicle Thanks.
Btw, what is PS belt?
Old 20th August 2008, 21:31   #6

I go to Rakesh Automobiles on the Sheetla Mata Road... You won't catch me dead going to ASCs.

Originally Posted by .anshuman View Post
Which Garage do you take your trucks to?

Mahindra A.S.S in gurgaon is bad,only thing good is they have access to genuine spares.
PS belt = Power Steering Belt

Originally Posted by mjothi View Post
Oh, thats really sad to hear. But your post has helped me to know some more tech stuff of the vehicle Thanks.
Btw, what is PS belt?
Old 20th August 2008, 21:36   #7

Oh cmon,Guruji!
This is barely a bad day.
A bad day would be losing an engine . Something like this:
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/4x4-of...tml#post935582
Old 20th August 2008, 21:50   #8

Guruji,

This isn't a bad day, I have a couple of unmentionable happenings today which makes your bad day a walk in the park ! Cheer up ! It wasn't as bad as mine.

Yes the love of your car does hurt when it goes down. Nevertheless its not as bad as your luck going down on you all at once on a given day.

M M
Old 21st August 2008, 02:27   #9

Originally Posted by gd1418 View Post
Returned home at 8 pm, sweaty, hungry and tired. Had a shower,
a shot of caffeine and wrote how I spent my day..
Caffeine?? Guruji, tabiyat to thik hai??
Old 21st August 2008, 05:43   #10

Originally Posted by iraghava View Post
arre, liquid caffiene bhai! why are you so surprised? don't you drink coffee?

GD Sir your Safari is 98 model right? time perhaps for a change? 10 years is a good service life for an Indian SUV.
Old 21st August 2008, 09:05   #11

You are right. Sometimes one needs to be reminded about the vulnerability of the vehicles.

Behenji offered to send her bullet proof X3 along with the paraphrenalia like the NSG 'kaali billi' etc., but you know I don't flaunt, hence declined.

Originally Posted by speedzak View Post
Bad things do happen but atleast when it's related to cars and vehicles, it's something to relish and be happy about later on. Ain't it?

One thing's for sure: Guruji didn't get Behenji's Ashirwad today!
Originally Posted by snaronikar View Post
Dude, sorry to hear the above. No doubt you had a horrid time and came out as a winner. A beast and bull came to repairs at the same time. But is pouring water on the radiator is a good idea for modern engines?
I don't know about that, but it worked for me and took me to my trusted garage. As of now I've not found any adversity by pouring water, if something crops up then rest assured, this forum will be the first one to know, after me..

You are right Big Man. But what happens with oneself is a bad day or a good day for that person. It may pale in comparison to what others go through or went through.

Originally Posted by nitrous View Post
Oh cmon,Guruji!
This is barely a bad day.
A bad day would be losing an engine . Something like this:
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/4x4-of...tml#post935582

Originally Posted by mmmjgm View Post
Guruji,

This isn't a bad day, I have a couple of unmentionable happenings today which makes your bad day a walk in the park ! Cheer up ! It wasn't as bad as mine.

Yes the love of your car does hurt when it goes down. Nevertheless its not as bad as your luck going down on you all at once on a given day.

M M
Ishaan, I don't blame you. The virus you contracted on one of your various nefarious & nocturnal activities seems to have clouded your brain too. Have you heard something called the coffee liquor?
Originally Posted by iraghava View Post
Originally Posted by rev_hard View Post
arre, liquid caffiene bhai! why are you so surprised? don't you drink coffee?

GD Sir your Safari is 98 model right? time perhaps for a change? 10 years is a good service life for an Indian SUV.

Rev, this happened with my Scoprio which is a 2004 model. I wouldn't change the Safari. I love it immensely.

Last edited by Technocrat : 23rd August 2008 at 13:22. Reason: Plesa use Multquote option & use edit if posting within 15 minutes
Old 21st August 2008, 09:43   #12

Originally Posted by gd1418 View Post
You are right. Sometimes one needs to be reminded about the vulnerability of the vehicles.

Behenji offered to send her bullet proof X3 along with the paraphrenalia like the NSG 'kaali billi' etc., but you know I don't flaunt, hence declined.

I don't know about that, but it worked for me and took me to my trusted garage. As of now I've not found any adversity by pouring water, if something crops up then rest assured, this forum will be the first one to know, after me..
True true...

Our guruji is the down to earth guy who doesn't like to flaunt off..That's y he has those HL's on top of his Bull

Last edited by krazydriver84 : 21st August 2008 at 09:51. Reason: missed a comment
Old 21st August 2008, 10:00   #13

And what happened to the brakes which werent engaging... I though that was a much bigger headache?
Old 21st August 2008, 10:26   #14

LOL GD, sorry to hear but glad that you made it back without any serious damage. Sometimes life can be a B - in your place, I would have required something stronger than the coffee liqueurcheers:
Old 21st August 2008, 11:52   #15

I'm sure ET you know that this is the bane of newer diesel powerplants, where in the brakes sort of fail when the main belt breaks etc. The power braking system draws the air pressure/vaccum from the alternator unit.

So, when the belt snaps or slips off the power assist goes away and the brake pedal becomes extremely hard. One has to pump them really hard and literally stand on them to make it work as the hydraulic system is in place. Only if the hydraulics gave way.... In the process you get some shapely right leg calf..!!

That wasn't much of a headache for me as I knew this and was prepared.

Originally Posted by extreme_torque View Post
And what happened to the brakes which werent engaging... I though that was a much bigger headache?