Team-BHP > Street Experiences
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 23rd September 2008, 21:52   #1
BHPian

Be careful when driving from Kannur to Kozhikode (Calicut)

Thought of warning all of you guys who might go through this route. I know its something that might be fixed in few days time but I've been travelling through this route for 4 years now and did not see any change .

Well, I was driving back from Kannur to Kozhikode at 10pm doing at about 70-80kmph day before yesterday. At Kollamchira, a oncoming vehicle (believe it was an HM Ambassador) was overtaking another with high beam lights on. I could not see a thing so I started slowing down but was too late to realize and I had hit the divider there. My car’s front tyre was totally gone and the alloy wheel had broken, The rear tubeless tyre also was punctured but could be fixed by using a tube in it, the front bumper was broken to the left, front under body mud guard was broken. I called the highway police and they sent the Maruti guys to fix the tyres.

In case, any of you drive through this route at night, please be careful at Kollamchira, its around 5 mins from Koyilandy junction when coming from Kozhikode to Kannur. There comes this 1km long unexpected divider.

Kerala Highway Police No. : 9946 50 0107
24Hr Maruti Helpline No. : 9847 00 0000
Maruti Breakdown : 9447 87 4537

I was driving back from Bangalore to Alanallur, Palakkad .
iWonder is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 24th September 2008, 04:30   #2
BANNED

Very famous and notorious!
It has claimed enough vehicles and damaged many human beings. There's a chain of these beautiful creations in this certain parts of NH17. Very sad that it's not yet buried in the tarring ceremonies which happens almost once every 2 years. Some years before, these were more cruel by being quiet high above the road enough to damage many gearboxes and oil sumps. Now, the tarmac level has decreased that.