Team-BHP > Street Experiences
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 14th December 2008, 20:36   #1
BHPian

How much more fuel can a car take after Autocut?

This BP petrol station named Ajeya Service Station, No 15, Ramamurthy Nagar Main Road, Banasawadi, Bangalore - 43(Near Banasawadi-ring road junction). They filled 45.31 Litres of Petrol in My Honda City CVT(2005), whose manual says the capacity is 42Liters.

I have been driving this car for more than three years now and I got suspicious and checked the manuals. That is how I came to know that the capacity is 42L.
I had already paid the money by the time I read through the manual.

I asked for the manager, he said come back when the owner is there.
I said, if Bharath Petrolium want to keep its 'maryada' intact, this is the chance, I am not coming back to the station again for meare 3 litres of petrol. He did not seem to care. He is an irresponsible employee who passes the buck to the owner.

Now I would like to do maximum damage to these guys me spending the least effort. How can I do that? Who is the authority I should complain to?
Other than police, of course.
I have the bill that is attached below.

--
iwg.
Attached Thumbnails
How much more fuel can a car take after Autocut?-bpbill45l.jpg  

Old 14th December 2008, 21:16   #2
Senior - BHPian

Did they stop filling with the auto cut off or did they try to top it to the brink and made it to overflow? In that case they can fill more than what the specified tank capacity is.

Another important thing here is, did you go there after the tank totally dried up? Unlikely, since you drove the car, which means 2-3 litres of petrol may be already present in the tank. Cars normally have 8-10 litres in the reserve left even after you get the low fuel signal on.

Last edited by Guna : 14th December 2008 at 21:28.
Old 14th December 2008, 21:22   #3
Senior - BHPian