Team-BHP > Street Experiences
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 2nd March 2009, 15:33   #1

Driving Fundas (An anthropological study of traffic behaviour)

Hi guys,

Crossroads without signals are really interesting in terms of collective coordination (thousands of people, rickshaws, coolies, buses, etc. have to find their way through without collision). No signals means lot of adjustements, adaptations between vehicules and negotiations. As part of a bigger research project on driving manners, I am studying these kinds of complex traffic situations and i am trying to build a software to simulate it

Here is a link to a few videos I have shot of Mumbai crossroads if u are patient to go through this

Artmap
and then click on trafic (4th icon on the right side)

(you have to scrolldown a little bit to reach the videos and it takes a little time to show up, I guess, but it is worth seeing ! And sorry for the language on the Artmap site, it is in french !)

I would be glad to share the progress of this project with you and open a debate on driving fundaas

First question is : how do you handle crossroads without signals ? Do you apply any strategy ? and do you think driving has anything to do with strategy ?

Second question is : "Pahale Pahale Aap" is a line I have heard many times here

I would like to know if anyone has already heard about this principle ? What does it mean for you ? What's your point of view about it ?
Old 3rd March 2009, 02:13   #2
Team-BHP Support

Hi Traffico,

An anthropologist studying the traffic behaviours in India - how interesting!

I took a good look through your blog (all the videos - since im not a francophone). Cool stuff.

Your post reminded me of a simulation i watched years ago. It was about a large mass of people entering a train. (Can't remember if it was in an indian context or not).