Old 9th March 2009, 17:08   #31

Seriously F5 F5 F5. I dont think we are getting the followup posts anytime soon?

Do you really have to take a break at such moments?

Thanks for sharing such life episodes as well.

<F5>
Old 9th March 2009, 17:14   #32

Disaster strikes again!

Dad stands up straight. He's ok, thank goodness.

The silence is broken by the sound of a very angry old man yelling and gesturing from inside the car.
His old wife looks scared. Very scared.

Are you OK?
A couple comes up running to Dad. We find out later that they are Canadian. My Dad smiles and nods and then apologizes to the driver.
I explain to the old man but he speaks no English.

Could you tell him we're very sorry and it is our fault. We were looking the other way as cars drive on the other side of the road...

The Canadian lady translates.
The old man still looks angry.

Still, no harm is done. The rain is falling heavier, visibilty is getting poor and its getting cold. We're about to disband and go home.

SKREEEEEE.....SCREEEEECH.....BANG!!!!

Everyone is startled.

A shiny red Alfa Romeo Spyder has crashed hard into the stationary Audi.
Old 9th March 2009, 17:40   #33

You seriously ought to start announcing time slots for your episodes !!
Old 9th March 2009, 17:45   #34

What to do?

The shock is too much for everyone. Everyone's reactions are different.

The Canadian couple are staring open-mouthed at the spectacle. My Dad has covered his mouth in shock. The old man looks like his head is going to burst. I don't know what I look like.

We run behind and it is incredible. The Alfa is smashed badly, the front is mangled. The Audi is dented. Marginally.
Inside the Alfa is a fuming young man with a tall and beautiful lady. He comes out shouting at the old man, the old man shouts back at him and then they both shout at us.

We're still apologizing. My Dad is genuinely sorry about the whole thing, especially now that he sees that a sports car has been banged up badly. There is a medley of German and English as the Canadian couple do their best to calm everyone down.

Look, we're tourists, we made a mistake and we're sorry. What can we do?
Is your mistake? Asks the young Alfa driver?
Yes, it is our mistake. We're sorry and we're going.
He holds up his hand for silence as he calls the police.

We now realise we cannot leave. The matter is confusing. Police? For a mistake?

In less than 2 minutes a police car is at hand. One officer speaks English badly. The other is silent.
The Canadian couple have offered us their best wishes and have gone.

Alfa's English is hard to understand. Then the young tall lady (Alfa's girlfriend) speaks and it is wonderful clean voice in perfect English. There is a lot of German speaking as they first discuss amongst themselves and take accounts in a little notebook.
Finally the officer speaks to my Father.

Passport please?
I do not have it here. It is in my hotel.
He frowns. You must have. It is illegal to walk around in Germany without.
Sorry, I didn't know.
Do you have insurance?
Yes.
Here in Germany valid?
Yes.

As part of the visa formalities to Europe, it is necessary to get overseas mediclaim too.
OK. Your insurance pay for repair of Alfa.
What?? No.
Yes.
My insurance is medical. It pays for me if I am injured. It doesn't pay for the repair of a car.
My father rolls his eyes.
How much money you have then? You pay for car.

Now we're angry and confused raising our voices. This sounds like harassment.

Then the tall girl steps in and speaks to us in English.

You see, in Germany, if you ram into a car from behind, the insurance of the car behind pays for the damage. Now logically our Alfa would have paid for the repair of both the Alfa and the Audi (Which needs no repair, but still)

However since you have clearly and openly admitted that this was not the Alfa's fault and it was your fault, now the insurance of the Alfa will not pay anything! (Huh???)
By admitting your fault in front of everyone you have made the case clear. You must pay for the repair of the Alfa. Either from your pocket, or from your insurance.

We're stunned.

How much money you have? asks the policeman.
Old 9th March 2009, 17:52   #35

What the.

Sam F5 F5 F5. Ding dong. This is getting interesting.

By the way , i was stunned to look at your pic but then 13 years is a lot of time.
Old 9th March 2009, 17:54   #36

Originally Posted by abhinav.gupta88 View Post
By the way , i was stunned to look at your pic but then 13 years is a lot of time.
Exactly - here is one man who understands. Everyone is stunned/shocked/ making fun whatever. But let's see how many have the courage to post a picture of themselves that was taken 13 years ago, lol.

Ah well, lol.
Old 9th March 2009, 17:55   #37

Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post

We're stunned.

How much money you have?
We're stunned.

How much patience one should have to read next post?
Old 9th March 2009, 18:02   #38

Pay for Alfa Romeo's Damage?

kya time hai aapka. .
Old 9th March 2009, 18:11   #39

Can we get back to the story

F5!
Old 9th March 2009, 18:14   #40

What to do? Continued.

It is pointless trying to talk reason to anyone. People are heated up and the general feeling is very unfriendly towards us.
Plus everyone is talking amongst themselves in German and we're just standing there.

Aap theek ho papa?
Thoda pair mein maar lagee hia, baaki theek hai. No problem.
Inka kya karein?
I don't know. Dekhte hai.

Suddenly the policeman turns to Dad. Are you paying for the repair of Alfa?
I do not even know what it will cost.

The Alfa guys says angrily, about 25000DM.
My heart sinks. We're doomed.
We don't have that much money and we are not going to pay!
If you don't pay you go to jail!
Says the policeman angrily.
Why? I interject. We're travelling. If you come to India and this happens to you, we won't arrest you! We made a simple mistake because our traffic is on the other side! I am not thinking straight and any nonsense is coming out of my mouth.

The policeman is both rude and angry. He tells us that Dad has to go with them to the police station. No choices are offered. He is firm and not nice at all.
Before I can say anything, one hand is placed on my father's head and the other hand holds him tight, bending his head into the green police car.

I offer to come with them.
No.
No? What do you mean, we are together!
No.
He turns to the tall girl (Alfa's girlfriend) and explains to her quickly in German, indicating that she translate.
He places me a business card in my shocked hands and slams the door shut, taking my father with him.

The old man and his wife drive off in the Audi. Alfa is bending and staring at his car. Alfa's girlfriend is standing next to me quietly.

I am in stunned silence.

My father has been arrested.

Last edited by Sam Kapasi : 9th March 2009 at 18:15.
Old 9th March 2009, 18:24   #41

Exactly - here is one man who understands. Everyone is stunned/shocked/ making fun whatever. But let's see how many have the courage to post a picture of themselves that was taken 13 years ago, lol.

Ah well, lol.
I was merely 7 but will try to search and scan a pic ( if you promise not to laugh)

The Alfa guys says angrily, about 25000DM.
How much was 1 DM?
My father has been arrested.
What the hell? Pure cruelity.

Last edited by abhinav.gupta88 : 9th March 2009 at 18:25.
Old 9th March 2009, 18:24   #42

F5 F5 F5 . . .Sirji can't we have this story without any breaks.
Old 9th March 2009, 18:25   #43

I am now leaving from office with a heavy heart that I have to wait till tommorow for the whole story.

But its worth the wait.

Mansi
Old 9th March 2009, 18:41   #44

Sam Kapasi

Please publish a program schedule for your stories, including the posting times of each installment.

Else my F5 button is dead.

Get on with it!
Old 9th March 2009, 18:44   #45

Originally Posted by abhinav.gupta88 View Post
How much was 1 DM?
1 DM is about 0,50 EUR which is about 30 Rupees today. So if I calculated correctly this should be about 7 1/2 lakh.

Anyways, that estimate would have had to be proven in any case. Nobody can ever make you pay on such a shaky basis.

I will comment more on that when the story is over.