Old 27th April 2009, 20:53   #46

Dial 100 and report this immediately. If its a long road with few exits, chances of getting caught are easy.
Old 27th April 2009, 22:40   #47

all of you talking about slow moving vehicles on the rightmost lane - what happened with me today takes the cake
I was in a cab to electronic city - the cab was in rightmost lane speeding nicely and suddenly on the same lane there is a 2 wheeler coming towards us it seems the divider is too high for the 2 wheeler to jump to the proper side - so he drives with a pillion onto oncoming traffic in the fastest lane
This is bangalore - forget slow cars in fast lanes, now you have oncoming traffic in fast lanes !!!
Old 28th April 2009, 07:10   #48

I think what is the big takeaway here is the ability to spot someone bearing down really fast on you (and in a way that could be accidental/suicidal) and get out of the way.

Those days that I bike on the Gurgaon expressway, I stick in the 4th lane, and spend half my time looking in RVMs for any wild overtaking maneuver taking place behind me. I guess the UK standard of checking RVMs once in 7s is a pretty good idea.
Old 28th April 2009, 07:20   #49

Like most of you, I too get pissed off about people driving slowly in the fast / overtaking lane. On the top of it, many of them do not give way to faster cars. Most important though, the Team-BHP sticker that you put on your cars should act like a bench mark symbolizing sensible driving and not become a symbol for rash driving. Be smart, Drive safely.

Last edited by Stratos : 28th April 2009 at 07:34.
Old 28th April 2009, 07:26   #50

For all you know someone would have got the sticker made and put on his car. Just a thought.
Old 28th April 2009, 08:05   #51

Here in OZ, there is a $200 fine and 3 demerit points (12 demerits = good bye to your license) for road users who don't keep to the left lane on roads where the speed limit is more than 80kmph. i.e the right lane is meant only for overtaking.

People's driving license should be revoked if they hog the right lane AND driving at 60-70kmph on highways.
Old 28th April 2009, 12:32   #52

The UK has the same sytem and it works. They should start implementing points and revoking of licences in India - a) It would help (slightly) to ease congestion, b)people will start to drive smart (slowly but eventually).
Only thing is, it all boils down down to one thing, cops should stop taking bribes and actually start enforcing the law.

Originally Posted by spadival View Post
Here in OZ, there is a $200 fine and 3 demerit points (12 demerits = good bye to your license) for road users who don't keep to the left lane on roads where the speed limit is more than 80kmph. i.e the right lane is meant only for overtaking.

People's driving license should be revoked if they hog the right lane AND driving at 60-70kmph on highways.
Old 29th April 2009, 00:07   #53

Originally Posted by Samir Taheer View Post
The UK has the same sytem and it works. They should start implementing points and revoking of licences in India - a) It would help (slightly) to ease congestion, b)people will start to drive smart (slowly but eventually).
Only thing is, it all boils down down to one thing, cops should stop taking bribes and actually start enforcing the law.
We would have to start from proper driver training. I mean, any person who has reasonable steering control, knows which pedal does what and can manage to do an '8' is granted a license in India. Majority of the driving instructors here don't know how to drive properly themselves let alone teach others! More than half the drivers in Kerala think hazard lights are for going straight at junctions !!

The police will have to actually start working before we can expect them to enforce the law. They've all got cool-looking vehicles nowadays, but I'm yet to see any of them chase down an errant big shot driver. Then again, they probably can't because none of the drivers are pursuit trained (funny because police drivers are a specialist category) and their new MUVs could never take down a determined driver at the wheel of a Verna or an MJD Swift anyway.
Old 29th April 2009, 00:49   #54

Well, about this funda of lanes is all good but then in India if Police were to start flagging down such violations they will have their hands full all day doing just that. Everyone here does that. It works elsewhere because that is the rule everyone follows and the violators are far less. Here it is just the opposite.

Moreover, one of my friends had an argument sometime back with a cop in Gachibowli. He was running late for a meeting but was not able to overtake a khatara minidor people's career which was on the rightmost lane and was refusing to budge. The left was also jam packed. Ultimately he lost his cool and somwhere ahead managed to squeeze ahead of the minidor and stopped it. His BP was running high and it almost ended in a fisticuff when a police Qualis stopped next to them and the officer wanted to know what was going on. On being briefed of the situation his question to my friend was "which rule book says that right lane is only for people like you to dart around? rasta tumhare ghar se nahi jaata, ye aam rasta hai. Gaadi utthao aur chalte bano nahito thane leke jaaunga. Yahaan dadagiri nahi karna". So you see.

Originally Posted by siddartha View Post
since when did team bhp become a brand?
Welllllllllllll... it is my dear friend, it is. One that is now pretty well known in the auto industry. Its a brand comparable to any other auto journal in this country. Wait a few more days (and I mean very few days) and you will see quite a few examples.

And we do stand for some ideals. Its better that each one of us uphold those ideals when we drive something that sports the branding. Afterall, I am sure none of us want to be the reason that sullies our brand image, now do we?
Old 29th April 2009, 11:51   #55

Might be OT (for the thread title)

I'm having a US client visiting my company currently. I casually asked him how he is liking his trip. He said that he has been to Hyderabad thrice and Poona twice before The last time he was in Poona, he asked his office hosts if the Red, Yellow and Green signal lights mean the same here as in the US. When asked why, he said, well on the way to office the driver drove right through 2 red lights and when he came to a green light, he slowed down, looked both sides and then drove on!

My Sales Manager (an American) who accompanied him said that while he is fine with the traffic and roads, the one thing he just cannot get used to is the (excessive) honking. Back in the US it is pretty rare to have someone honk the horn.
Old 30th April 2009, 19:59   #56

I know it sounds sick, but being an erstwhile Mumbaiite who is looking forward to coming back soon, this sort of driving and the absolutely horrible driving conditions are what have made me lock in a SUV. Its going to be a Safari or a Scorpio and he is going to have bull bars all over. I wont be dricing rash, but neither will I be giving way needlessly for such jerks. If they are suicidal then its their wish. But I have seen from my own experience and from what these SUV owners say, that they are not bothered by such jerks. Its gotten to the point where we dont feel safe in our hatchbacks no more.

Originally Posted by UniqueMods View Post
Any guesses what happens to a Santro when a 1.5 ton Skoka side-swipes it at 70kp/hr.

UM
Old 4th May 2009, 16:38   #57

Wow, I don't believe that people here are actually trying to justify the Skoda's moves.

Guys, don't go by its name. The Western Express 'Highway' is anything but that during peak hours. We have vehicles doing 60-70 kph average occupying any lane they please. So yes, you have to cut from the left-right-centre, but you have to be careful! Else, emergency or not, you yourself could end up in the emergency ward, along with others!

And like UM has cleary said, he was in the middle lane, and seeing the cab refusing to budge was proactively trying to make space for the Skoda to move ahead. That Skoda was just plain rash.

As regards the stickers... I believe they just say you love to drive. How is an altogether different story...
Old 4th May 2009, 17:49   #58

Slowmovers are always a pain on Indian highways, especially since they don't seem to know what is the lane they should be driving on. Trucks, cars, two wheelers, what not, everyone seems to drive on the fast lane with scant regard for faster vehicles and refuse to move away. So guess it was fair on the Skoda guys part to try and overtake from the left, but then he was also exhibiting disregard to another vehicle on the road, in the process endangering the occupants of the Santro also. Dangerous driving with team bhp stickers is not good representation of what we stand for, I suppose.
Old 23rd May 2009, 15:49   #59

Originally Posted by UniqueMods View Post
Couple of months back I was cutoff and squashed between a Bright Blue OHC with a huge aftermarket sticker work of “ www.Team-Bhp.com” on its back wind screen and the divider. I was riding my bike. Again had to lock and come extremely close to a divider to avoid contact. he OHC continued ahead driving in the same manner.
All I can say is
And no, my OHC isn't bright blue so it's not me.
Old 23rd May 2009, 16:03   #60

Originally Posted by Zappo View Post
Well, about this funda of lanes is all good but then in India if Police were to start flagging down such violations they will have their hands full all day doing just that. Everyone here does that. It works elsewhere because that is the rule everyone follows and the violators are far less. Here it is just the opposite.

Moreover, one of my friends had an argument sometime back with a cop in Gachibowli. He was running late for a meeting but was not able to overtake a khatara minidor people's career which was on the rightmost lane and was refusing to budge. The left was also jam packed. Ultimately he lost his cool and somwhere ahead managed to squeeze ahead of the minidor and stopped it. His BP was running high and it almost ended in a fisticuff when a police Qualis stopped next to them and the officer wanted to know what was going on. On being briefed of the situation his question to my friend was "which rule book says that right lane is only for people like you to dart around? rasta tumhare ghar se nahi jaata, ye aam rasta hai. Gaadi utthao aur chalte bano nahito thane leke jaaunga. Yahaan dadagiri nahi karna". So you see.

Welllllllllllll... it is my dear friend, it is. One that is now pretty well known in the auto industry. Its a brand comparable to any other auto journal in this country. Wait a few more days (and I mean very few days) and you will see quite a few examples.

And we do stand for some ideals. Its better that each one of us uphold those ideals when we drive something that sports the branding. Afterall, I am sure none of us want to be the reason that sullies our brand image, now do we?
a brand of what? if i may ask?