Old 20th November 2024, 11:26   #22216

Re: Rants on Bangalore's traffic situation

In some positive news, the Marathalli road from the bridge to the yamalur junction is finally getting a good layer or tar.

Waiting for the next agency to dig it up, but then will enjoy it till it lasts. First time the full road is getting laid in over 10 years I guess. This one had multiple layers of patch work and then a pothole on top of that. The traffic does move a little better now.
dass is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 20th November 2024, 18:08   #22217

Right turn below Hebbal flyover prohibited for commuters from Nagawara, KR Puram
Read more at: https://www.deccanherald.com/india/k...-puram-3283490

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/.../115461104.cms

Going to help the KIAL to BLR city traffic navigate Hebbal flyover, but I dread to think of the mess at New BEL Road and ultimately Mekhri Circle. But am confused about where the KIAL-bound traffic will turn right.

Last edited by itwasntme : 20th November 2024 at 18:20.
Old 20th November 2024, 19:02   #22218

Originally Posted by itwasntme View Post
Right turn below Hebbal flyover prohibited for commuters from Nagawara, KR Puram
Read more at: https://www.deccanherald.com/india/k...-puram-3283490

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/.../115461104.cms

Going to help the KIAL to BLR city traffic navigate Hebbal flyover, but I dread to think of the mess at New BEL Road and ultimately Mekhri Circle. But am confused about where the KIAL-bound traffic will turn right.
I assume the traffic from Nagwara side heading to the airport road can still continue taking the right that goes under the flyover.
I think this is for the traffic that takes a U-turn coming from Nagwara and gets on to the ramp immediately that leads to Mekhri circle.

If there is no option for airport bound traffic to take a right at Hebbal coming from Nagwara , it is going to add a lot to the already slow commute.
Old 20th November 2024, 19:32   #22219

Originally Posted by tharian View Post
I assume the traffic from Nagwara side heading to the airport road can still continue taking the right that goes under the flyover.
Agree, but how will they parse the KIAL-bound traffic vs the City-bound one? Our super intelligent commuters will immediately hack it by claiming to go to KIAL, but promptly take an U at the old places.

Unless they are planning to shut all U turns and right turns till beyond Kodigehalli. That has its own challenges!
Old 20th November 2024, 19:45   #22220

Originally Posted by itwasntme View Post
Our super intelligent commuters will immediately hack it by claiming to go to KIAL, but promptly take an U at the old places.
They'll learn the hard-way, by having to go back all the way to the fly-over near Country Inn & Suites ...
condor is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st November 2024, 07:52   #22221

I’m guessing they will force all North-bound traffic whether to Yelahanka or KIAL (or anywhere north like HYD), to take the Hennur or Nagawara or any other turnoffs well before Hebbal.
Old 21st November 2024, 11:10   #22222

Originally Posted by dass View Post
In some positive news, the Marathalli road from the bridge to the yamalur junction is finally getting a good layer or tar.

Waiting for the next agency to dig it up, but then will enjoy it till it lasts. First time the full road is getting laid in over 10 years I guess. This one had multiple layers of patch work and then a pothole on top of that. The traffic does move a little better now.
But at the same time the sakra hospital road is being blocked off for two months for white topping (why they couldn't just decently tar it beats me )

Which means all the extra Indiranagar/EGL traffic is going to be added back on to the main road again
Old 21st November 2024, 12:36   #22223

A relatively smooth ride from airport meets a horrendous gridlock at Hebbal, followed by slower (surely) but atleast moving traffic flow from Ganganagar, Mekhri circle and thereafter. I have always wondered whether the service road barricades near Esteem Mall should exist at all.

Can there be multiple entry/exit points between the service road and the main airport lanes to facilitate the inevitable merging of traffic? It might also help vehicles enter the service lane to drop passengers and get back as they invariably stop on the road. It is not that the city bound traffic from the airport is cruising at high speeds near Esteem Mall. The pressure build up due to one lane being stopped for the other is immense

Last edited by GeeTee TSI : 21st November 2024 at 12:44.
Old 21st November 2024, 18:46   #22224

I have read thru most part of this thread and one point is glaringly evident, that we [government, officials, citizens] are squeezing the city off its last drop of blood.

We can shout/cry/suggest at the top of our throat, but, if things need to improve, the city needs to be urgently de-congested.

There are numerous ways of doing it, but, do the babus and netas have the Will to do it and does the aam janata have the Courage to take/accept it?

We need/expect good public transport + wide roads + spacious & luxourious living spaces + neat and clean air, water, but, it is not going to appear from thin air, nor it is humanly possible to keep sustaining within the confines of a single place/city.

Our beloved city is gasping and de-congesting it by spreading out at least the next set of SEZs, living spaces, populace is one way of doing it.

Unless this is accepted and achieved, the thread here will keep growing!!

In the early 2000s a vision for Karnataka [particularly Namma Bengaluru] was thought of by one man owing to which Bangalore attracted tech companies from all over the world.

If the city needs to now at least sustain its 'Brand', a govt. with a Will and Vision for Bengaluru is needed.

The question is, from where will we get such Government!!

Last edited by suhaas307 : 22nd November 2024 at 10:10. Reason: Spacing and formatting
DiMaGo is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st November 2024, 18:55   #22225

Originally Posted by paperpuli View Post
(why they couldn't just decently tar it beats me )
The answer is pretty simple. There is more money to be made in 'white topping' the road, than a simple tar. I always thought this marathalli stretch also would be white topped, surprised they are not doing it.

Which means all the extra Indiranagar/EGL traffic is going to be added back on to the main road again
You got this right, the traffic on this stretch was the heaviest I have seen in recent past, with the exceptions being when it rains.
dass is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st November 2024, 22:52   #22226

Originally Posted by msdivy View Post
I agree on the roads. On the tunnel, if BMRCL can build tunnels for the metro, why not for roads?
Because there is a thing called induced demand. Let's say the tunnel road is created and it reduces travel time. Now some people who were using public transport who have a private vehicle and were on the edge will shift to their private vehicle. Over time you incentivise people to drive and thus more traffic. Also building a tunnel for cars carrying 1-2 person for a few km at such high cost is unjustified in my opinion.
itspatra is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd November 2024, 10:04   #22227

Originally Posted by ShreyG View Post
That was posted sarcastically

I re-iterate, this seems like another long term retirement plan for the current generation of babus at BBMP, similar to the Bangalore Stonehenge. Just in this case, there is particular interest from a certain minister who portrays himself to be the boss of Bengaluru, making this a scam to the tune of a few thousand crores rather than a few hundred. And we are to just go with it, as usual
The smoke up party seems to be in full swing at the BBMP. Hangover of the extended Diwali break still seems to be on. Or they have started celebrating the onset of the December month early. 3 or even 5 years for 18km tunnel roads seems to be a joke they laugh about on their way to the banks. This is the same institution that spent well over 7 years for <1km underpasses along the old airport road.
https://indianexpress.com/article/ci...=latestnews_hp

How shameless do you have to become to make such claims publicly? Rather, how much do these public sector employees hate Bangalore to have it suffer to this extent and literally suck out the financial resources of the city? White topping, half finished projects in limbo and now this?

Fix the existing roads, let the BTP deal with law breakers with an iron fist, expedite the metro and revamp BMTC for last mile connectivity. But the this is not where the moolah or priority is!

Last edited by ShreyG : 22nd November 2024 at 10:07.
ShreyG is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd November 2024, 13:15   #22228

<Rant Begin>
I have been using OMR stretch from Suranjan Das road towards city, since more than 20 years now. But I have never seen such a bad state of road condition that exists now, especially after Indiranagar Depot till Trinity.
And I guess, the road condition must be almost the same in other parts of the Bangalore as well?
Forget about relaying the road, BBMP don’t seems to have money to even fill the potholes properly?
Sad situation for commuters in Bangalore now.
<Rant End>
Old 22nd November 2024, 13:42   #22229

Originally Posted by Chetan_Rao View Post
What evidence can you supply of Bangalore's civic authorities' competence? On what basis are we supposed to believe they can deliver what they're proposing? 'Trust me bro! We'll totally get it right this time.'?
The newly opened double-decker flyover has potholes.
The layer of tar in some patches has come off with the underlying concrete structure visible.
There were many such patches, most of them have been filled up with 3-4 currently present.
The fact these these appeared in the first place is concerning.

Last edited by rajathv8 : 22nd November 2024 at 13:44.
Old 22nd November 2024, 13:57   #22230

Originally Posted by rajathv8 View Post
The newly opened double-decker flyover has potholes.
Isn’t the maintenance of the double-decker flyover still under BMRCL? It seems like yet another organization slipping into inefficiency, continually pushing deadlines.

To make matters worse, the exit of this flyover leads directly onto the service road of the ORR with a sharp 90-degree turn to join the ORR. This same opening is also used by BMTC buses to merge onto the service road from the ORR. The outcome? Chaos—no surprises there.
msdivy is online now   (1) Thanks