Old 22nd January 2025, 13:37   #22411

Re: Rants on Bangalore's traffic situation

Originally Posted by KiloAlpha View Post
Still begs the question - since there is the Metro on this stretch, why is there still so much traffic congestion?
My comments on Metro being a niche service, from an earlier post.

Originally Posted by msdivy View Post
While public transport is beneficial, it doesn’t suit everyone’s needs. Each metro line can support up to 4 lakh riders, and with five lines, the network could accommodate 20 lakh riders at best. Buses can support 40 lakh riders. However, public transport is most effective for those carrying only personal luggage. For those needing to carry more than 15 kg, travel at odd hours, or make multiple transfers, public transport isn’t always viable. They need to rely on roads.

Roads are essential for commercial freight carriers, public buses, school buses, public utilities like police, fire, and ambulance services. Therefore, a balanced approach to developing both road infrastructure and public transport is crucial.
msdivy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd January 2025, 13:46   #22412

KIAL Road users, be warned that there is a lot of work taking place near Yelahanka AFB in totally unexpected spots on the medians and verges. Witnessed a near-catastrophic miss with multiple vehicles at 1100 peak time, as someone had decided to pull down the median fencing into the KIAL-bound fast lane with tractors and workmen busily welding etc. The only warning was 2 battered traffic cones!

I appreciate they need to prep for the Aero Show, but there should be far better warning signs on these fast-moving sections, and especially on that deceptive curve where people tend to speed up.
itwasntme is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2025, 09:13   #22413

Amongst all our rants on how smart people are on avoiding cameras and no manning of junctions, BTP's foolishness galore --> https://bangaloremirror.indiatimes.c.../117466282.cms

What baffles me is how is this a priority in a city like Bengaluru? Have all other violations, much more life threatening, been solved? Are there no more 1 way or traffic signal violations in the city to look into? How is it that there is manpower to conduct these but not man important junctions across the city for a smoother traffic flow?

All in all, feels like this is again a scheme to target the aam junta who dare buy a car since
1. This is not applicable to 2W / 3W
2. Yellow number plates will get away with their sob stories, and,
3. The biggest offenders i.e. the white Innovas / Fortuners / Range Rovers with their 100% black tinted windows will simply be saluted forward
ShreyG is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2025, 12:13   #22414

Originally Posted by ShreyG View Post

What baffles me is how is this a priority in a city like Bengaluru? Have all other violations, much more life threatening, been solved?...
BTP is an equal opportunity organisation. They spin their 'what should we target next?' roulette wheel at the bi-weekly revenue update meeting, so give it a while and something you want punished should come up.
Chetan_Rao is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2025, 12:39   #22415

Originally Posted by Chetan_Rao View Post
BTP is an equal opportunity organisation
Sadly they are not an equally fair organization. .

Here they have a airtight hierarchy to catch violatiors -

1. Non KA vehicles - The most tormented lot. Easy money for all parties involved

2. White number plate 4W (non government) - Easily subdued and most likely to concede in an event. BTP attitude has necessitated dashcams as a must have to drive around

3. White number plate 2W - Depends on factors such as the riders willingness to avoid a fine and availability of accessories such as headlight, rear number plate, pressure horn etc. Can be photographed for smaller offences such as crossing a stop line.

4. All others - Traffic rules not applicable. Free for all run on the road and would probably be encouraged by the BTP to go scot free in case of the remotest of connection with our overlords
Old 23rd January 2025, 12:49   #22416

Non KA vehicles - The most tormented lot. Easy money for all parties involved
Do they still stop non-KA registered vehicles just to check papers?

What happened to this directive: https://www.newindianexpress.com/cit...d-2470484.html

I remember bunches of cops used to stand at random junctions just to stop vehicles and check papers. I don't see that happening anymore.

I ride a non-KA registered bike, but that's only for the short distance to and from the Metro station, so not sure what the scene is really like.
am1m is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2025, 13:04   #22417

Originally Posted by am1m View Post
Do they still stop non-KA registered vehicles just to check papers?
So this is not only related to checking papers. Although that practice may have reduced a fair bit, harassment is still quite a lot.

First Hand experience - A friend of mine drove down from Pune for new year's week last year (2023 new year) with a plan to explore Ooty / Madurai etc. He planned to spend the new year's eve at my place. Poor fellow got clamped in HSR layout 27th Main road for parking on the wrong side. The guv overlord on duty was adamant that he cannot produce the receipt for spot fine since his vehicle was out of state.

The SOP explained was that he would have to submit his license, which would then be posted to the concerned RTO (in this case Pune) which would entail a 5K fine and 3 months suspension. Obviously, all this went away with the right motivations and a whole lot of folded hands and negotiations.

Now I understand such stringent protocols for major offences such as DUI, but wrong parking when most of the city is usually unmarked? I doubt it.

I remember paying a spot fine once in Delhi (PB registered vehicle) for overspeeding ( 70 in a 60 zone IIRC), but that was quick, efficient and done in <1min.

Last edited by ShreyG : 23rd January 2025 at 13:05.
Old 23rd January 2025, 13:52   #22418

Poor fellow got clamped in HSR layout 27th Main road for parking on the wrong side... but wrong parking when most of the city is usually unmarked?
HSR Layout 27th main's parking/no-parking zones are well-signposted. Also the cops manning the area usually give you some grace time (wait for about 5-10 minutes for you to return) before clamping. Lastly, all the cross roads perpendicular to it are free to park.
binand is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2025, 17:07   #22419

Originally Posted by binand View Post
HSR Layout 27th main's parking/no-parking zones are well-signposted. Also the cops manning the area usually give you some grace time (wait for about 5-10 minutes for you to return) before clamping. Lastly, all the cross roads perpendicular to it are free to park.
The contention was not if the parking was right or wrong. I guess we can accept it was wrongly parked. But the process should be simple as paying the fine and moving on.

I missed a red light in Chennai (in my KA registered car) by following a bus and was pulled over. No drama. They asked for my KA DL, generated the fine of 500 Rs., I paid it and went my way.

Last edited by Axe77 : 23rd January 2025 at 18:20. Reason: lic > DL, helps in understanding the terminology better. Thanks.
m8002? is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 26th January 2025, 20:44   #22420
NPV

I had an event to attend in a part of the city that I’m unfamiliar with and haven’t been to in a while.

On my way back home, at a traffic light I had to make a right turn. There was the usual barricade jugaad of traffic cops to separate traffic making U turns VS those making right turns and generally traffic was well behaved but very slow and over cautious which I could sense.

I saw the right turn green light was still lit so I turned right and just then the light turns amber and a cabbie in front of me brakes and stops abruptly. The reason - well he decided he needed to make a U turn not a right turn! Now the light turns red and oncoming traffic is about to move forward. I didn’t want to block the intersection so moved forward gingerly to see a horde of traffic cops and one of them gesturing to me to stop. I stop the car and he says I turned on a red light and gets the handheld device for the challan. I told him that I would never violate a traffic rule knowingly and it happened because the cabbie stopped suddenly in front of my car. I told him he can check if there are any pending violations to which he said there aren’t and then he muttered that I still have to pay the fine. I told him I’ll pay the fine but it feels unfair and I have dashcam footage. He was shocked for a moment and after confirming that I had a working dashcam, he waved me off!

Last edited by NPV : 26th January 2025 at 20:50.
NPV is offline   (19) Thanks
Old 27th January 2025, 08:56   #22421

VERY IMPORTANT TRAFFIC ADVISORY: MUST READ

Major Traffic diversion scheduled at ORR Doddenakkundi RUB: Night of 27th JAN to 30th JAN. Plz note that BMRCL has planned to erect the composite Girder across the Railway line at ORR Doddenakkundi.

Railways has provided permission for power shutdown and rail traffic stoppage. Traffic Police also have given the permission to go ahead.

Traffic movement at ORR Doddenakkundi Railway underpass will be closed as per this schedule

27-Jan-2025 : 9:00 PM to 6:00 AM
28-Jan-2025 : 9:00 PM to 6:00 AM
29-Jan-2025 : 9:00 PM to 6:00 AM
30-Jan-2025 : 9:00 PM to 6:00 AM

Advisory for ORR Commuters in Marathahalli/KR PURA Stretch and surrounding areas
1. Plz LEAVE OFFICE before 7:00 PM to avoid Traffic blockages and help emergency vehicle movement
2. ⁠Work from Home if you are working in shifts ending at 9:30 PM till 6:00 AM
3. ⁠Plan for alternative routes and additional commute time if you are heading towards Airport late in the night
4. ⁠Residents of Doddenakkundi, Garudacharpalaya, Chinnapanahalli, Karthik Nagar and AECS Layout are requested to reach back home before 7:30 PM on these 4 days
5. ⁠Plz call 112 if there is an Emergency Vehicle movement required
6. ⁠Request all companies in ORR, EPIP and Whitefield areas to make note of this traffic disruption in the night and communicate to their staff
Rants on Bangalore's traffic situation-whatsapp-image-20250126-19.26.38.jpeg  

Rants on Bangalore's traffic situation-whatsapp-image-20250127-08.49.14.jpeg  

sbalagru6 is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 28th January 2025, 07:40   #22422

'Bengaluru's soul murdered': Rajeev Chandrasekhar blames corrupt ministers for city's decline amid Ahmedabad comparison
https://www.hindustantimes.com/citie...99467-amp.html

Looking at Bangalore, I used to believe that Indian road quality is going down. After looking at Ahmedabad, I realised that It's not India, it's just Bangalore! I couldn't find any potholes on Ahmedabad roads,
It’s a surreal experience for Bangaloreans to visit another city that has good roads and great traffic sense!

All the Bangaloreans who visited Ahmedabad for Coldplay concert, etc. share this feeling. For that matter, this applies to most other cities when compared to Bangalore. Apart from Govt., I think people are also contributing to this decline. Every homeowner wants a speed breaker in front of his/her house - sadly the rash driving culture here makes it impossible not to want speed breakers. Some serious cultural renaissance is required in this city!

We all blame population growth and high traffic density but there are many places in the world (even in India) with high traffic density but still it’s not as stressful to drive as it is in Bangalore.
androdev is online now   (12) Thanks
Old 28th January 2025, 08:02   #22423

Not just roads. But in a few small years, it will be quite likely be Bye Bye Bangalore, Hello Amaravati.
condor is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 28th January 2025, 09:16   #22424

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/.../117611323.cms

Name:  image.png
Views: 136
Size:  234.8 KB

I do remember noticing this but never paid much heed to it. Visitors will definitely have a tough time differentiating between "Bengaluru" and "Bangaluru". Maybe the CBD area wanted to keep the essence of Bangalore in Bengaluru for old times sake.

How can they expect us to believe that they can build under ground tunnels in a city notorious for being difficult to dig when they can't even spell the city correctly.

I re-iterate my point --> Politicos and the government functionaries can claim all their love for the culture and language but actions indicate that they do not care about the city at the slightest. It is merely a cash cow for them to fund their luxuries and respective party politics. (irrespective of who is in power).

Last edited by ShreyG : 28th January 2025 at 09:18.
ShreyG is offline   (16) Thanks
Old 28th January 2025, 11:30   #22425

I may had a chance to witness a "run over" this morning. This happened on Hosur Road between Chandapura flyover and Narayana Hrudayalaya. There was a truck & car collission on the extreme right of the road (towards the city). So, vehicles were using the two left most lanes to move forward. Ahead of me was a Ashok Leyland chassis being driven by a clueless driver. He kept on pushing towards the left, without realising he was a trapping a bike rider between the front and rear wheels of his chassis. Finally the bike & the rider was getting sqeezed by the rear wheels of the chassis. People started yelling and got the chassis vehicle stopped. The bike rider had a very severe injury on his thigh, and he was crying in pain. He and the bike were moved to the side of the road. The chassis driver did try to make an escape but looks like the local people and security guards from nearby chased him down.

Originally Posted by ShreyG
The SOP explained was that he would have to submit his license, which would then be posted to the concerned RTO (in this case Pune) which would entail a 5K fine and 3 months suspension. Obviously, all this went away with the right motivations and a whole lot of folded hands and negotiations.
The police officer was misusing your ignorance. For parking violation the process is to issue a challan using their hand held device, and collect the fine. That system can take any vehicle registration number (AFAIK it is linked to Parivahan database). This offence is usually charged as a MV Petty Case. There was a provision in the old Indian Penal Code (IPC) which was for causing obstructions for free movement on the road or on river. That provision is not used often.

Originally Posted by m8002?
I missed a red light in Chennai (in my KA registered car) by following a bus and was pulled over. No drama. They asked for my KA DL, generated the fine of 500 Rs., I paid it and went my way.
That is the process. My KA vehicle was stopped by KL Police at the KL border (near Walayar) for overspeeding. My wife was driving, and they actually cut a slack and changed the offence to driving without the seat belt. That was because I feel the polite conversations from our side, and we spoke the same language. And they issued a receipt as well.

Originally Posted by androdev
For that matter, this applies to most other cities when compared to Bangalore. Apart from Govt., I think people are also contributing to this decline.
I had made a trip to Bekal (KL) and Kukke Subrahmanya (KA) in the month of December 2024. The roads in Mysore side, Coorg side seems to be much much better than the Bangalore city roads. Did the return journey via Shiradi Ghat, which was in shambles (but there is heavy construction going on there - hopefully for a permanent solution).