Old 18th March 2025, 10:28   #22531

Re: Rants on Bangalore's traffic situation

Originally Posted by condor View Post
I use NY most the time. And thats where I see this. They include a pick-up charge, and then the drivers want tips too, to accept a ride. Last two days - the fare higher without the tip.
Next time, would you mind taking a screenshot of the fare calculation that Namma Yatri provides upfront and share it here or in PM? In the "Choose your ride" modal, the selected fare range has the "information" button (lowercase i in a circle) that when tapped will show you the fare breakup. The calculated distance is mentioned just above the vehicle options.

As long as I've been using them, their fare calculation follows exactly the government rate - ₹30 for the first 2 kms, ₹15 for each additional km. They use Google Maps' Routes API to get the distance and I have checked that their calculation always matches.

The fare cannot be dependent on the tip you chose, because among other things you choose the tip amount only after the fare is displayed.

They do have these additions: 1. A pickup charge of ₹10, 2. A tip system (capped at ₹30) to encourage drivers to accept your request, and 3. A charge at the driver's discretion to compensate for traffic and other issues (capped at ₹20). But even all of this doesn't add up to numbers that approach ₹30/km for reasonably long rides (say 5km+).

They also do the 1.5x night fare. But I don't think you are talking of that?
binand is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 18th March 2025, 13:51   #22532

Originally Posted by binand View Post
They also do the 1.5x night fare. But I don't think you are talking of that?
Not the night fare.

Though the base fare and distance fare is calculated correctly, the drivers add charges - and the company is hand-in-glove through this official extra-charges.

End of the day, I am paying out isnt it ?

Regarding the map route different from actual route - using the logic in your post, the actual fare should have been lesser than estimated fare because they have taken a shorter route. But it isnt. And here again, the initial fare they show is the estimated fare, and not fixed for the trip. There have been instances of actual fare going up - when this is allowed, a reduction should be allowed too.

All this, added to the standard behaviour of these guys, whether driving or parking, I avoid auto's as much as possible. Even take a BMTC when ever I can
condor is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th March 2025, 15:27   #22533

I forgot to mention:
Pick-up charge looks fixed part of NY charges. The charge will be there even if you are 2 feet away from the auto when you book it.
Old 19th March 2025, 14:14   #22534

Originally Posted by suhaas307 View Post
... and specific MLAs of the CM’s cabinet will be appointed to oversee the 7 proposed municipalities, with the sole intent and purpose of identifying specific wards in the city that generate the highest revenue and accordingly milk these wards for what they’re worth until they are completely dry.
The bottom line is - these babus are not from Bengaluru city. They are from other parts of Karnataka. They hold absolutely no attachment to the city. They do not care about the traffic snarls, water shortages, waste segregation and management, water logging, etc. They only care about making money -...
And sure enough:

"Karnataka MLAs (223 members) collectively hold Rs 14,179 crore, the highest in the country."

Source: https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/indi...dtv_topstories

Corruption has reached the highest levels in our state and Bangalore infra is suffering because of lack of funds? This is getting really ridiculous!
am1m is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 19th March 2025, 21:47   #22535

What was this new experiment near Wells Fargo on ORR? There was a huge traffic jam until the exit there and after that the ORR was empty. Did they close the exit in front of Ecospace? As of now 9:45PM I still see a huge jam. When I passed by at 5PM, All three lanes of main ORR was trying to merge into this exit in front of Wells Fargo and after that the service road was completely jammed while main road had little traffic.
Old 19th March 2025, 22:09   #22536

Originally Posted by audioholic View Post
What was this new experiment near Wells Fargo on ORR
As they were relaying the service road one stretch of the service road was closed from around Wells Fargo to Eco Space on Tuesday night which led to a lot of confusion and jams. Effectively to go from Panathur to Sakra, one had to go all the way till Sarjapur road and take an u turn.

May be they continued it or put some other restrictions today to relay some other part of the service road.
anandhsub is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th March 2025, 09:20   #22537

The Bangalore Char Jam Yatra -
https://www.indiatoday.in/cities/ben...807-2025-03-19

Good to see a sense of humor amidst the continuous and increasingly vigorous assault by our overlords. The city junta is scrappy and has persevered the foolishness and loot mentality that runs through the veins of our milords and will continue to do so.

On a serious note though, it is quite shameful to see my city being the butt of such jokes on a regular basis. And we have the goonish mentality sitting up top nonsensically blabbering about building tunnels and dividing the city without an ounce of shame or concern, just to suck the city dry.

Last edited by ShreyG : 20th March 2025 at 09:22.
ShreyG is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 20th March 2025, 12:29   #22538

Originally Posted by ShreyG View Post
The Bangalore Char Jam Yatra -
https://www.indiatoday.in/cities/ben...807-2025-03-19

<snip>
Though my experience is 10+ years old and it no longer matters (or does it!? who knows, career trajectory could've been better if *that* clicked) - my tryst with Bengaluru traffic has permanently cast some driving pattern changes.

Had an interview with a certain company in Ecospace, way back in 2012 - time given was 11:00am. Started at 09:30am from home near Kundalahalli gate, thinking 1:30hrs is good enough to reach my destination.

Reached spicegarden before 10:00am. Could see heavy jam towards Marathahalli overbridge, so took a decision to go via Munnekolala diversion that joins ORR in front of Innovative multiplex. THIS one decision screwed my job opportunity Got into the winding inner roads - encountered tractors/haphazard cars/bikes/bullock carts/dug up roads/what-not... to cut a long agonizing story short, emerged from this hellhole onto ORR after a grueling 1 hour commute - to cover hardly 2km. Another 45min on ORR to reach Ecospace, finally reached by 12:00pm, parked & got into the office by 12:15 or so.

The interviewer was kind enough to meet me, but she reminded my appointment was a good 1+ hour back, and that extended interview panel was to join from abroad via web-conf. Apologized profusely, but guess this delay might've cast a negative impression about me. Anyway no interview happened, she asked me to retry and waved a curt bye-bye.

I no longer drive/ride to office, use bike/auto to reach nearest metro station, park there & hop on to BMTC bus for office commutes / metro for any CBD works. Within city, use car only for mundane/non-time-dependent trips or for family outings. If I've to honour an important meeting or catch a flight/bus/train etc, give a 1hr buffer now. Once bitten twice shy
Old 20th March 2025, 14:09   #22539

Today was a "fun day" for me. 24 kms covered in 2 hours 30 mins !! Started from home at 08:15Hrs to reach office on Bannerghatta road at 10:45 Hrs. There was a closure of Elevated Highway (Veerasandra side) for some time. So I had to travel via the ground level route. And looks like after I reached Hosa Road Jn, the elevated highway was open for traffic.
Old 20th March 2025, 14:43   #22540

Originally Posted by sachinpk View Post
Today was a "fun day" for me. 24 kms covered in 2 hours 30 mins !! Started from home at 08:15Hrs to reach office on Bannerghatta road at 10:45 Hrs. There was a closure of Elevated Highway (Veerasandra side) for some time. So I had to travel via the ground level route. And looks like after I reached Hosa Road Jn, the elevated highway was open for traffic.
From where do you start? I travel in opposite direction from BG road to Bellandur and its more than 1 hour for 12km.
fordday is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th March 2025, 15:08   #22541

The recent metro hikes have had a negative impact for sure. The traffic on the roads have increased significantly. In my known circles, people have ditched metro for 2W, since they can save a lot of money and don't have to struggle with last mile connectivity. Talk about misplaced priorities of the people in power.
dass is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 20th March 2025, 15:28   #22542

Originally Posted by fordday View Post
From where do you start? I travel in opposite direction from BG road to Bellandur and its more than 1 hour for 12km.
I start from Chandapura side (which is actually outside Bangalore City limits). Usually, it takes around 25-30 minutes to reach Silk Board Jn if I am coming via elevated highway. And another 30-40 minutes just to cover Silk Board to Bannerghatta Road Vega mall area.
Old 20th March 2025, 16:09   #22543

The roads leading from Hoodi to ITPL Main Road were really nice to travel on today. Seems like exams are over and summer vacations have started, so traffic is quite less today, or else I would get stuck in Hoodi signal, SAP Labs Road, Prestige Technostar Signal and then right outside CMRIT College, but the traffic was very less, if not non-existent.

God, to see my city like this is a blessing. I would love for the roads to be like this everyday, especially after a tiring day in college
nova.19_exe is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st March 2025, 10:40   #22544

I travel 3 times in a week from Gunjur to MG road. one hour and 30 minutes is a given. I have tried all roads, Munnekolal, Vibgyor road, Balagere, Panathur, nothing works.

I just curate my favorite playlist for the next day. Tune to it. And then drive in a zen mode, keep your ego in your pocket. If someone wants to overtake me, be my guest. See you at the next signal :-)

When I come to Bangalore 16 years ago, the answer to the question "eshtu duraide" or "how far is it" was in kms, now the answer is a function of time ( similar to my home town, Mumbai)

Jasraj
jasraj_jog is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 21st March 2025, 11:33   #22545

Funny Anecdote on Bangalore Traffic

It was 2012, me and my deputy were travelling to HQ for a meeting, some miles from destination our car broke down and it was evident things would get delayed.

In 2012 Ola taxi were making a mark in the city. As we stood wondering what next my deputy a man of huge proportions said "Ola" and stood to stop the first Wagon R that he spotted, he told the driver we needed to reach this place in this time and we would pay this amount, the confused driver did utter some words but it fell on our deaf ears as we had to reach the destination on time, finally we did and deputy gave him a crisp note of a certain denomination saying "keep the change"

Today i presume what the guy was saying was

1. This is not how Ola works
2. This is not a Ola taxi and i am no Ola driver
3. What on earth are you two guys doing in my car i too have to reach my office

Well someone out there does have a story to tell and to protect our ignorance we say "If its a Wagon R its a Ola"
tatafanatic is offline   (4) Thanks