Old 2nd November 2015, 22:11   #9661

Re: Rants on Bangalore's traffic situation

One of my worst days in Bangalore traffic. Office cab started from Prestige tech park, ORR at 5.30PM. Reached RRNagar at 9.30PM. Traffic gridlocks all along with no remorse. Even though, I was not driving, the 4 hour drive back from work is a killer. I was watching google traffic all along and it was very accurate. I guess google updates traffic by tracking each android phone user and their movement patterns.
Old 2nd November 2015, 23:01   #9662

Originally Posted by naveenroy View Post

Even the BETL was jammed from way behind the lay-bye! I just cannot imagine the plight of people who would have had to travel further. And the car guys too.
I started around the same time (7:10 PM) and it took one hour for me to reach the end of BETL. Reason there was an accident just near the lay-bye between a TATA 407 and a Tata sumo(I think). Thought the worst was over but no the entire stretch from bosch till total mall madivala was having the worst traffic. Reached home at 9 45. Never ever will I start from office again at that time!
Old 3rd November 2015, 06:46   #9663

Torrential rain for a large part of the night here in north BLR. Expect a lot of gridlock today!
Old 3rd November 2015, 06:52   #9664

Originally Posted by itwasntme View Post
Torrential rain for a large part of the night here in north BLR. Expect a lot of gridlock today!
Considering the amount of rain yesterday night, there was absolutely no water logging from Gottigere till Whitefield along the ring road. I was surprised.

Also, there was an accident involving Sumo Cab and a Nissan Sunny right in front of Fern Hill Apartment. There was damage to Sunny on the rear right side and Sumo fellow some how manage to perfectly balance the vehicle on the divider
Old 3rd November 2015, 06:53   #9665

Folks

Thanks to Lord Varuna, the potholes in the city have opened up apparently to welcome him.
I am reminded of the famous quote from the Hindi Film DON. I am modifying the quote from the pothole perspective
POTHOLE KO COVER KARNA MUSHKIL NAHI NAMUMKIN HAI.
Old 3rd November 2015, 07:28   #9666

A huge crater has opened up bang in the middle of the road in front of ABB when coming from KR Puram to add to the already present mess. Either find an alternative or stick to the left lane of the road. Had created a huge pile up of traffic.
Old 3rd November 2015, 08:10   #9667

Originally Posted by gopikb View Post
I was watching google traffic all along and it was very accurate. I guess google updates traffic by tracking each android phone user and their movement patterns.
Yup, that is how Google maps calculates the traffic movement.

I was told it rained a lot on the old Airport road.
Yeah, heavy rains everywhere. But I was thankful it didn't rain during my commute - I travel by bike.
Old 3rd November 2015, 08:17   #9668

I understand the fact that many companies here don't have flexible hours, that means leaving office at 5-5:30 pm for folks working in whitefield and EC area. A little rain and all hell breaks loose on our roads.

Leave home early and reach home early, it works for me. My total commute of 20-22kms, up and down included from Koramangala to Kadubisnahalli takes less than 45 minutes. Never liked the idea of WFH, IMO it is not quite the solution to escape from traffic.

My working hours are between 7:45 am and 4:15 pm. The downside to this approach is lack of quality sleep, but that's something I am ready to forego to avoid getting stuck in traffic.
Old 3rd November 2015, 08:29   #9669

Originally Posted by Mr_Bean View Post
My working hours are between 7:45 am and 4:15 pm. The downside to this approach is lack of quality sleep, but that's something I am ready to forego to avoid getting stuck in traffic.
Even my work timings are from 6 30 AM to 3 30 PM. There are benefits of getting up early . I get up at 5 AM. Of course we need to have a good night sleep.
Considering the pathetic traffic situation in bangalore, I would endorse working in I shift.
Old 3rd November 2015, 09:23   #9670

Bellandur lake must be foaming again. Google Maps traffic shows dark red all the way. I avoided that road.
My guess is there is some VIP visiting (not sure if it was the CM but there were at least 5 Innovas escorted by cops). Saw a convoy rushing towards the lake near Logica Tech park. I do hope that VIP gets caught in the traffic and gets a sneak preview of what the commuters face every day and he enjoys the stench wafting from the lake while being stuck in traffic. Maybe that might wake up the authorities.
Old 3rd November 2015, 09:31   #9671

Originally Posted by Mr_Bean
I understand the fact that many companies here don't have flexible hours, that means leaving office at 5-5:30 pm for folks working in whitefield and EC area. A little rain and all hell breaks loose on our roads.
My understanding is that these kind of rigid office timings are mainly seen in Indian IT companies (the IT "majors" as some calls it). Many smaller companies, product companies have started the flexi-timing concept.

Leave home early and reach home early, it works for me.
It also depends upon the managers a person have. I have seen cases where the managers prefer coming late and going late, and the folks under him have to follow the same pattern.

Originally Posted by ambivalent_98
My guess is there is some VIP visiting (not sure if it was the CM but there were at least 5 Innovas escorted by cops).
May not be the CM, but the earlier HM Mr. George. He has now been made the minister exclusively focusing on Bangalore's concern. And the stinking and foaming Bellanduri lake would be the best place to start understanding the concerns.

Last edited by sachinpk : 3rd November 2015 at 09:32.
Old 3rd November 2015, 09:42   #9672

Originally Posted by sachinpk View Post
My understanding is that these kind of rigid office timings are mainly seen in Indian IT companies (the IT "majors" as some calls it). Many smaller companies, product companies have started the flexi-timing concept.
We have flexible timings at work but still people prefer coming early and leaving early. Only those who stay close by come late. This early concept works wonderfully for me except that I took a long time to adjust my sleep to this. I manage to avoid most of the jams and bottlenecks and reach home by 6PM leaving ITPL at 430 odd.

Originally Posted by sachinpk View Post
It also depends upon the managers a person have. I have seen cases where the managers prefer coming late and going late, and the folks under him have to follow the same pattern.
Exactly. My cousin faces this issue having a horrible manager at work. She expects people to work from 9-6PM in ITPL and leave work at 6 which is the worst timing to commute

Bangalore is just getting worse by the day. Not sure where this is going to end at.
Old 3rd November 2015, 09:55   #9673

It took me 30 mins for a 2kms drive yesterday and no power form 7pm to 11pm.

Today, in the morning I had to get down from my car and analyse the depth of a newly created pothole in my street. Somebody had already taken a dump in it, there were deep tire marks (it's a kachha road). Also, had to remove a big garbage bag next to it. Didn't want to drive over it, who knows what was inside.

Potholes, Water Logs, Traffic Jams, Power Cuts: New identification of Bengaluru. Why are the authorities quiet about this?

Last edited by sidzz : 3rd November 2015 at 10:03.
sidzz is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd November 2015, 10:01   #9674

Originally Posted by sidzz View Post
Potholes, Water Logs Traffic Jams, Power Cuts: New identification of Bengaluru. Why are the authorities quiet about this?
What authorities? What government? What? Last I heard we're on our own. Yes there are some buildings to collect road tax, property tax etc but its for NGO purposes (No Gain for Others).
dark.knight is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 3rd November 2015, 10:09   #9675

Originally Posted by dark.knight View Post
What authorities? What government? What? Last I heard we're on our own. Yes there are some buildings to collect road tax, property tax etc but its for NGO purposes (No Gain for Others).
Yeah!

But, after all those snarls, a cup of coffee and www.team-bhp.com really relaxes my mind.