Old 13th February 2017, 14:50   #13546

Re: Rants on Bangalore's traffic situation

Originally Posted by procrj View Post
Looks like it has been opened based on this advisory of BTP
Not sure I understand this map. Will see if I can find a higher resolution one. What is ADVA parking and Domestic parking? ADVA is for those who only want to see the jets flying, and Domestic parking is for business visitors and general visitors who want to visit the static display?

Also, the regular route from mekhri circle- hebbal- etc. cannot be taken?

TIA
Old 13th February 2017, 14:53   #13547

And Bangalore Mirror reports on the new road to BIAL:
"New KIA road is promising, but it is far from complete"
http://bangaloremirror.indiatimes.co...w/57115968.cms
Old 13th February 2017, 17:21   #13548

Originally Posted by ajayclicks View Post
Well, I just took that route and came back smoothly. There is heavy police presence and I shudder to think what will happen from tomorrow if they ban all vehicles except BMTC buses beyond Hebbal.

What exactly does Public Vehicle mean?!
Old 13th February 2017, 17:56   #13549

Originally Posted by itwasntme View Post
Well, I just took that route and came back smoothly. There is heavy police presence and I shudder to think what will happen from tomorrow if they ban all vehicles except BMTC buses beyond Hebbal.

What exactly does Public Vehicle mean?!
I guess they mean all yellow board? A tleast white boards are generally called private vehicles. But definitely a vague statement either by the newspaper or by the authorities. I am also planning to take this highway tomorrow towards Anantapur, not sure if its going to be a problem.
Old 14th February 2017, 07:09   #13550

A large concrete mixer truck (4 axles) has toppled in front of the firestation on Sarjapur Road, blocking much of the carriageway towards Sarjapur. Those who take this road to Wipro etc. and as a short cut to Electronic City need to be aware and evaluate their alternatives.
binand is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 14th February 2017, 10:26   #13551

TIA
posting what BTP posted on FB. It doesnt explicity say that private cars will not be allowed on Hebbal - Airport route. I would suggest that you do budget extra time to allow for various VIP movements etc. which would happen on that route or take the suggested alternate routes.

#AeroIndia2017*Show Traffic divirsions, Parking and access routes and route for accessing KIAL
BENGALURU TRAFFIC POLICE

: PRESS NOTE:
The World famous Aero India show -2017 has been organized by the Union
Defence ministry at Air Force Station, Yelahanka, Bengaluru from 14-02-2017 to 18-02-2017. In this connection vehicular traffic is expected to be very dense on Bengaluru-Bellary road which connects the Kempegowda International Airport road. Several dignitaries and Lakhs of spectators are expected to attend the show which is likely to cause very dence traffic movement. Therefore to ensure smooth traffic movement the following changes have been made as per the Notification No. Notn/10/Addl.CP(Tr)/2017, Dated: 10.02.2017 issued by the Commissioner of
Police, Bengaluru city which is applicable from morning 06.00 AM on 13-02-2017 to 8.00 PM on 18-02-2017.

Vehicles moving From Bengaluru West / South

Towards KIAL (Airport) : via Goraguntepalya – B.E.L Circle – Gangamma
circle – Mother dairy circle – Unnikrishnan Junction – D.B.Pura road –
Rajanukunte – Addiganahalli – MVIT Cross – Vidya nagara cross – KIAL

Towards Aero Show ADVA Parking : via Goraguntepalya – B.E.L Circle –
Gangamma circle – Mother dairy circle – Unnikrishnan Junction – D.B.Pura
road – Nagenahalli gate – Harohalli - Gantiganahalli – ADVA Parking.

Towards Domestic Parking : via Goraguntepalya – B.E.L Circle – Gangamma
circle – Mother dairy circle – Unnikrishnan Junction – D.B.Pura road –
Rajanukunte – Addiganahalli – MVIT Cross – Vidya nagara cross – U turn –
Hunasamaranahalli – Domestic Parking.

Vehicles moving From Bengaluru East

Towards KIAL (Airport) : K.R.Puram – Hennur Cross – Bagaluru –
Mylanahalli – Beguru – Southwest entrance gate – KIAL

Towards Aero Show ADVA Parking : via K.R.Puram – Nagavara Junction
Right Turn – Thanisandra – narayanapura Cross Left Turn – Telecom Layout –
Jakkur Cross Signal – Allasandra Flyover – Yelahanka Circle – Unnikrishnan Junction – Nagenahalli Gate – Harohalli – Gantiganahalli – ADVA Parking.

Towards Aero Show Domestic Parking : Via K.R.Puram – Hennur Cross –
Bagaluru – Bagaluru layout – Razak playa – Vidyanagara cross –
Hunasamaranahalli – Domestic Parking area.

Vehicles moving From Bengaluru South

Towards KIAL (Airport) : Mysore road – Nayandahalli – Chnadralayout -
Goraguntepalya – B.E.L Circle – Gangamma circle – Mother dairy circle –
Unnikrishnan Junction – D.B.Pura road – Rajanukunte – Addiganahalli –
MVIT Cross – Vidya nagara cross – KIAL

Towards ADVA Parking : Mysore road – Nayandahalli – Chnadralayout -
Unnikrishnan Junction – D.B.Pura road – Nagenahalli gate – Harohalli -
Gantiganahalli – ADVA Parking

Towards Domestic Parking : Mysore road – Nayandahalli – Chnadralayout -
Unnikrishnan Junction – D.B.Pura road – Rajanukunte – Addiganahalli –
MVIT Cross – Vidya nagara cross – U turn – Hunasamaranahalli – Domestic
Parking.

Vehicles moving from Bengaluru towards Devanahalli / KIAL

Vehicles moving from Hebbal Fly over or below the fly over – ring road -
Veerannanapalya Jn. - Manyatha tech park - Nagaravara Service road -
Thanisandra main road - Narayanapura signal - Hegade nagara main road -
Bellalli bridge - Reva university - Reva college right turn - Bagalur main road - Sathanur village bus stand - left turn - Babgalur PS - Bandikodigenahalli -
Mylanahalli cross left turn - Beguru - Beguru power station right turn -
Yarthiganahalli cross left turn - on to B.B Road.

Or

Vehicles moving from Hebbal Fly over or below the fly over – ring road -
Kuvempu circle - BEL circle right turn - Gangamma circle - MS Palya -
Mother dairy Junction - Unnikrishnan junction left turn - DB Pura road -
Nagenahalli gate - Singanayakanahalli - Rajanukunte right turn - Stone hill
junction - MVIT junction left on to B.B Road.

Movement of Lorries, trucks, Private buses and other HTV vehicles except
BMTC, KSRTC busses will be prohibited temporarily from morning 06.00 AM
on 13-02-2017 to 8.00 PM on 18-02-2017, from MVIT Gate to Bengaluru City.

Alternative routes for HTV Vehicles moving from Hyderabad and
Chikkaballapura to NH4 and Bengaluru City D.B.Pura - Dobaspete - Nelamangala - on to NH4 or Bengaluru City

Alternative routes for HTV Vehicles moving from Hyderabad and
Chikkaballapura to KR Pura and Bengaluru City
Devnahalli - Sulibele - Hosakote - on to KR Pura or Bengaluru city

One way traffic will be in effect/ force from 13-02-2017 to 18-02-2017 06.00 AM to 8.00 PM From the Nagenahalli gate to Ambiance Daba cross on Bengaluru-Bellary road.

To ensure smooth movement of traffic parking of vehicles is prohibited on both sides of the road that connects Ambiance daba cross passing through
Nagenahalli from Nagenahalli gate D.B.Pura road. From the Hebbala circle service road to Bupasandra main road via Shettigere route to ring road.
Mylanahalli cross to Yarthiganahalli cross

People travelling towards Airport are requested to leave early in order to reach the Airport on time on the specified dates.
Source: https://www.facebook.com/BangaloreTr...80478772017827
procrj is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th February 2017, 10:30   #13552

I would suggest that you do budget extra time to allow for various VIP movements etc. which would happen on that route or take the suggested alternate routes.
Thanks. I have yet to purchase my tickets. Was thinking of Friday. If i do purchase, might leave my house (from JP Nagar) by 6.30/ 7.00 am. There was a tweet from BTP that mentioned that 5 lac tickets have been sold (though it did not provide a breakup by days). This large number is making me think twice, if its better to sit back at home and relax.
Old 14th February 2017, 10:55   #13553

Originally Posted by itwasntme View Post
From what I heard on the streets this morning, there are no major detours or stopping of any specific type of vehicles on the new Airport road. Don't think there is a ban on private vehicles. But traffic police is actively looking for vehicles stopped on the road side, and they would get towed away immediately. That may stop the people from parking vehicles on the road side and move away to watch the jets flying in & out.

I would suggest that you do budget extra time to allow for various VIP movements etc. which would happen on that route or take the suggested alternate routes.
True, from what I read in the news papers some of these VIPs may also be moving in the city areas, which means that there could be road blocks in city area as well (not just on Hebbal, Yelahanka side).
Old 14th February 2017, 12:58   #13554

Thanks. I have yet to purchase my tickets. Was thinking of Friday. If i do purchase, might leave my house (from JP Nagar) by 6.30/ 7.00 am. There was a tweet from BTP that mentioned that 5 lac tickets have been sold (though it did not provide a breakup by days). This large number is making me think twice, if its better to sit back at home and relax.
This is almost similar to what happens during every air show, nothing to be worried about.
More so, since you are planning on Fri, Sunday afternoon is usually the peak time. During earlier air shows, I had visited on Sat morning or afternoon on all occasions apart from once which was on Sunday. The Sunday one was worse with crowded BMTC buses and chaos.

Regarding the parking query you had posted. I am not sure of the current setup, but the parking on left side is for near the entry to Rs 600 tickets. For the Rs 1500 / business tickets you need to cross air field and proceed towards Devanahalli airport, take U turn and park the vehicle inside air force campus.

There will be shuttle bus from there which takes you to the entry gate through a underpass below the airport road.

Just make sure you start early to avoid weekday crowd enroute.
mpksuhas is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 14th February 2017, 14:40   #13555

Originally Posted by mpksuhas View Post
..... Sunday afternoon is usually the peak time. During earlier air shows, I had visited on Sat morning or afternoon on all occasions apart from once which was on Sunday. The Sunday one was worse with crowded BMTC buses and chaos.....
This time 18th Saturday is the concluding day, no Sunday mentioned in the schedules. Parking areas is same for many years as you pointed out. Personally, I would never visit that space again after my 1st and last visit back in 2011 ! I was sick for a week with the dust that I had breathed in kilos ! Previous year, my neighbor took his kids in spite of my warning and they were hospitalized for 5 days Unfortunately, they had to park their car 2 kms away from the venue and walk all the way in the heat and dust !

The best way to enjoy this show is finding a colleague or friend or family living around Yelahanka, Jakkur or within the 5 kms radius. If they are on a high rise building (anything above 3 floors), you have an added bonus of a clean view.
Old 14th February 2017, 15:08   #13556

^^ Agree about the dust part if you are visiting with Rs 600 ticket. The business ticket doesn't have dust issue since its near aircraft hangers, hence floor is asphalted.
Old 14th February 2017, 15:36   #13557

Originally Posted by mpksuhas View Post
^^ Agree about the dust part if you are visiting with Rs 600 ticket. The business ticket doesn't have dust issue since its near aircraft hangers, hence floor is asphalted.
Any info on the area where you land up with the 1500 tickets? Dust is a big problem for me as well. I remember going in 2011 - it was a royal mess with the 500 tickets.

And is it safe to take the car as well? Last time I had to walk a good 30 mins to reach the gates after collecting the tickets.
Old 14th February 2017, 16:22   #13558

Do they allow kids in the 1500 rupee area ? Else can only go to the general area. Watching the flying formation etc is not an issue for the general area.
Old 14th February 2017, 16:42   #13559

Is anyone aware of the BTMC bus schedules to Aero Show from Yeswantpur. Checked in BMTC website but no information in schedule.
Planning to avoid taking car looking at the comments
Old 14th February 2017, 17:31   #13560

Originally Posted by srinivasmhn View Post
Is anyone aware of the BTMC bus schedules to Aero Show from Yeswantpur. Checked in BMTC website but no information in schedule.
Planning to avoid taking car looking at the comments
https://www.mybmtc.com/quick-press-release
itwasntme is online now   (1) Thanks