Old 19th April 2011, 15:39   #2281

Re: My Rant on Bangalore Traffic (and now even a note of appreciation... its not all

Originally Posted by Spitfire View Post
My only second fine for jumping a signal and I still am very sure that I did not break it.
I just hate it!!! At many Bangalore signals vehicles block the left turn lane, turn right from the extreme left lane. And standing at these very signals, are cops busy collecting fines from "alleged" signal bunkers.

Originally Posted by amitoj View Post
To the driver of maroon Linea, GA 05 XXXX registration, at Arekere signal on Bannerghatta Road, 4:45 PM 18/4/11:

The reason I was driving slow on the left most lane of the road was that I had a 4 day old baby and her mother in my car and the road was uneven.
Do you have a "Bady on Board" sticker/placard on your rear windscreen?
If not, that could have helped. If yes, then down with the maroon moron.

Oh, and hearty congratulations

Last edited by benbsb29 : 20th April 2011 at 10:43. Reason: Fixed quote tag
Old 19th April 2011, 18:14   #2282

Re: My Rant on Bangalore Traffic (and now even a note of appreciation... its not all

This is not a rant. This is an apology.

This happened today evening. I was on my way home and was approaching the right turn after the HAL museum towards Vignan nagar on old airport road. I was not my usual self and was pissed off at a moron in an omni who kept cutting lanes in front of me. It was my mistake that I was not able to control my emotion (happens once in a while) and I approached the right turn a bit impatiently. The bus driver on the opposite side must have been in a similar state of mind, I guess. I was almost in the half of the right turn, but he still kept coming at me. So, I just had to stop abruptly and go back a bit to avoid him touching my car. I had made the first mistake in not waiting for the bus to go before attempting the turn. The second mistake was an even bigger one. I reversed (although slowly) without noticing a biker behind me. I think I touched him slightly and he got angry at me. I wanted to apologize to him, but couldn't see him. He was so angry that he kept hitting my car with his bike. After that, he just overtook me and went in front of me. Then, I overtook him and went over to him and apologized to him as it was my mistake. He was ok, I think.

Now, a few lessons learnt from this episode :
- Always be patient on the road.
- Control your emotions and don't let your emotions control you.
- Always apologize if you have made a mistake.

Now, to the biker who was the victim here (if he is reading this) : I am sincerely sorry for ruining your evening. It was not intentional and was an honest mistake. And thank you for not damaging the car in your anger. There were just a few scratches. I hope your bike did not take much damage.

It again proves the point that defensive driving is the best thing to do while driving inside the city. I hope people will be able to draw from my experience and drive more carefully in future.
praz is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th April 2011, 20:39   #2283

Got rear ended by an omni near the JC road bus stop, He apoligised at first, and said he'd come to the side of the road, by the time, i could check the damage properly, informed my dad, he got away
To the Omni guy. I know your not educated enough to read this, But what goes around, comes around!
and my precious car's rear bumper stands dislocated! :(
Old 19th April 2011, 21:07   #2284

Originally Posted by praz View Post

It again proves the point that defensive driving is the best thing to do while driving inside the city. I hope people will be able to draw from my experience and drive more carefully in future.
Praz, I couldn't get your story. Was the signal green for you? Or was it blinking orange?
Whatever it may be, the biker DID NOT have any right to damage your car BEFORE you could apologize to him. He should have come up to you, and ranted out if he needed to.

I'm not really sure if you are to be blamed though. Drive safe.:

@Raghav: That's bad. Weren't you able to note down the reg. no.??
Old 19th April 2011, 22:05   #2285

^^

I don't think the junction he mentioned have a signal. But not sure about orange warning signal though.
Old 20th April 2011, 08:48   #2286

^^^ Whatever it was, it takes lot of courage to accept your own mistake in a forum and a broad-mind to apologize.

A big round of applause to you, Praz.

I am sure this incident will make you a safer and cooler driver!!
Old 20th April 2011, 10:46   #2287

Originally Posted by praz View Post

Now, a few lessons learnt from this episode :
- Always be patient on the road.
- Control your emotions and don't let your emotions control you.
- Always apologize if you have made a mistake.
Well said, Praz. At some occassion or the other, we have all been guilty of impatience. However, when you think of it later on, it surely wasnt worth it.
Old 20th April 2011, 19:39   #2288

Phew!
It took me one and a half hour to get back from Yelahanka Satellite town to my OA road residence.
All because of Rahul Gandhiji's arrival. :frustrati
Our Fiesta was lying idle for almost half of that time, or moving at < 5 km/h.
How I wish our politicians could do their work and communication online, rather than troubling us all. :-(

EDIT: Changed from Rajiv to Rahul. My bad . Thanks Libranof1987

Last edited by Arkin evoisrevo : 20th April 2011 at 19:56.
Old 20th April 2011, 19:44   #2289

Originally Posted by Arkin evoisrevo View Post
Phew!
It took me one and a half hour to get back from Yelahanka Satellite town to my OA road residence.
All because of Rajiv Gandhiji's arrival. :frustrati
Our Fiesta was lying idle for almost half of that time, or moving at < 5 km/h.
How I wish our politicians could do their work and communication online, rather than troubling us all. :-(
Rajiv Gandhi is back?! You are obviously referring to Rahul Gandhi.

1 VIP car and 10 escort cars/ambulances/pilot cars etc etc. is the norm in India. People have died waiting for them to pass; people have screamed their hearts out against it but this ain't changing.
Old 20th April 2011, 19:59   #2290

^^^ I guessed so.
Arkin - we can understand your frustration level..
Old 20th April 2011, 20:52   #2291

NDTV keeps reporting news of Rahul baba travelling via 2nd class and sitting with the commoners in cricket stadiums as if he is doing us a favour. I wonder why he cant do the same while travelling inside the city and travel in an auto?
By the way, this applies to all the netas. We elect you guys, pay taxes for your salary and what do we get in return? More taxes and endless waits while you guys travel in your convoys.
Old 20th April 2011, 20:59   #2292

Originally Posted by Arkin evoisrevo View Post
Phew!
It took me one and a half hour to get back.
All because of Rahul Gandhiji's arrival.
Well this is nothing new, is it? There was this JDS mega conference in Palace grounds around 2 years ago where people from all over the state had come to attend. That day was the worst traffic that I'd ever seen. To get from R.T nagar to Rajajinagar, it took more than 6 hours!! Can you believe that?! I had to literally abandon my vehicle in my friend's place and walk home! On top of it, my gf was with me. So you can only imagine my plight! On getting back home, I wrote a strongly worded e-mail to TOI. Don't know what happened to it tho'. I bet those of you who had gotten stuck in that insane jam will never forget it for the rest of their lives.
Old 20th April 2011, 21:46   #2293

Well, today, apparently, it was not completely the fault of his convoy (in fact I don't know even if it was around).
There were hoards of these people near the Metroplus expo, and dozens of MUVs with Congress flags, that kept flowing in the traffic.
Radio Indigo said something about a political rally in Mekhri circle.
Old 28th April 2011, 06:26   #2294

Originally Posted by Selective View Post
Welcome to India!!!.

Beware of junctions in road Bangalore.

In Feb-2011 I got a Traffic violation a fine of Rs.100. The violation date was Nov-18, 2010 and the location was Malleswaram 18th Cross and the violation was "Stopping/Parking on Zebra Crossing". As I was out of station during the said period I logged in to traffic Dept website and checked the "Picture of Violation". And there it was my car waiting on the zebra crossing for the signal to change, in the 1st Picture and also there were about 6 Bikers on the Zebra crossing.. The 2nd picture is a Zoom-in of the number plate.

My wife had gone to Malleswaram for shopping on that day. I promptle paid the fine.

All the major junctions are monitored by Web-Cams 24hrs. a day by the Traffic Control Centre. Any Traffic violations happening here will be Fined and you may get a "Traffic Fine Notice" may be after a few months.

Also as per the new rules, if you don't pay the fine after a few notices, the traffic police may appear at your doorstep.

( These will happen only if you are the registered owner.!!!!!!!! )

You can see the webcam high in the air on the junction corners. They look like Semi-Black Balls.

So please check the Traffic Dept website for Traffic violation by inputting your vehicle number at regular intervel.

Last edited by sudharma : 28th April 2011 at 06:28. Reason: correction
Old 1st May 2011, 10:56   #2295

I am sharing a bad experience which happened with my close friend last Thursday.

He own a i10 and been driving since his early years and I would call him a careful driver. He was on a trip to Yellagiri the day before and it was a nice one. The next day he had an accident in J P Nagar. It was around 8:30 PM when he was out for dinner along with his wife. In one of the bylanes of J P Nagar, 2 biker dudes doing a wheelie came and rammed into front of his car.

Yes they were doing a wheelie in a residential neighborhood. However hard the biker guy tried he could not brake. After that those dudes tried abusing my friend for not stopping in time. He however managed to get away from there. His car had to be towed as the front tire burst and the entire front right panel needs a change. Estimates for repair cross 50k.

Everyday I see young guys driving rash, without helmet. Especially dudes from slum areas don't have head lights on their bikes.

My friend says he has learnt the lesson and he is not going to stop for any minor incident. For anything big in which car cannot move, call 100 from car. Come out and don't argue with anyone.

I have told him to get a set of Team-Bhp stickers as he is a part of this forum.