Old 18th November 2014, 13:26   #31

Re: Hyderabad traffic police-money making racket

How will wearing a camera stop corruption?
In India everyone knows, sees and works on corruption.
The seniors know what their juniors are up to. The public knows how to get their stuff done with the govt employees.

How does capturing a thing on camera disrupt this status quo?
Old 21st November 2014, 20:53   #32

Good to see the preception about Hyderabad traffic police is changing these days. Many comments on their FB page say it all. Few as below.
Hyderabad traffic police-money making racket-1920136_817450151651392_1977178796298825726_n.jpg  

Hyderabad traffic police-money making racket-10710886_817763931620014_5173885186049285473_n.jpg  

Last edited by JoseVijay : 21st November 2014 at 21:00.
Old 29th November 2014, 17:54   #33

Hyderabad Traffic Police enforce cashless facility for traffic violators. Please.check the below link. A violator can pay fines through Credit card or debit card.

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?sto...31&__tn__=%2As
Old 29th November 2014, 18:06   #34

Originally Posted by JoseVijay View Post
Hyderabad Traffic Police enforce cashless facility for traffic violators. Please.check the below link. A violator can pay fines through Credit card or debit card.

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?sto...31&__tn__=%2As

In 2002 I had paid parking violation fine in Bangalore through credit card. Those days cops used to carry the manual card swipe machine with them, am not sure if it's still followed.
Old 11th February 2015, 13:28   #35

TOI Report: No Policeman below the rank of SI can check your vehicle documents

Source link: http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/c...w/46193696.cms

HYDERABAD: If you are stopped and ordered to produce your vehicle documents by a traffic policeman below the rank of a sub-inspector, you can click his photograph and upload it on the Hyderabad Traffic Police Facebook page or lodge a written complaint.

Addressing the media here on Tuesday, Hyderabad additional commissioner of police (Traffic) Jitender appealed to the motorists to click the photograph of erring traffic policemen and upload it on traffic police FB page or give a written complaint. The additional CP said only a sub-inspector or an officer above that rank could demand production of documents.

If any other lower-rung policeman stops the vehicle, the driver could give feedback through www.facebook.com/hydtp or cal 9010203626, 27852482, 9490598985. Ironically, though the same set of guidelines were issued during the tenure of Jitender's predecessors, the fiat was thrown to the wind by police personnel. With the advent of cashless enforcement for traffic violations, Jitender said that on Monday alone 10,000 persons paid penalty against e-challan sent by police using cashless service. Prior to cashless enforcement, around 3,000 to 4,000 violators used to pay fine every day. Since November, 2.5 lakh persons slapped with e-challans paid the fine, but still 10 lakh e-challans are pending. By March, 100 SIs would be given body cameras to improve the conduct of policemen on the roads. Presently, four are being used on trial basis.

"Already, purchase orders have been placed for 100 body cameras and it will be used by SIs from March," the additional CP said. As the government gave Rs 21 crore for modernisation of Hyderabad traffic management, the city police want to use technology for detection of automatic stop line violation, automatic redline violation, wrong side driving, over-speeding and racing.
Old 10th July 2015, 15:15   #36

Originally Posted by JoseVijay View Post
TOI Report: No Policeman below the rank of SI can check your vehicle documents

Source link: http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/c...w/46193696.cms
Wish I knew about this earlier. I was stopped without any violation while visiting Hyderabad driving a KA registered vehicle, was able to show all requested documents (DL, RC, Insurance and Current PUC) an then the policemen took to pestering me for not having an NOC.

Spent valuable time which I could have used better elsewhere, arguing and sticking to my guns, and the disgusted cop finally gave up when I offered to show my toll receipts which clearly showed that I had travelled into the state the same day.