Team-BHP > Street Experiences
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 17th November 2009, 13:54   #1
BHPian

A frustrated Delhi Citizen

There is daily talk of how Delhi is going to turn in to a world class city before the common wealth games. A lot of money is being pumped in to development of infrastructure including roads and flyovers. Introduction of low floor buses, expansion of metro and push towards CNG have all been steps in the positive direction and are yielding good results as well. However this is one flashy face of the city which I think still has its own set of problems which no one seems to be there to address.

Yes I studied in a good university, have a good income, can afford a nice car and enjoy some luxuries of life but
  • Is that all that I need to be content with?
  • Has the government done enough for me?
  • How am I going to be benefited by the Common Wealth games as an a common man/citizen of Delhi?
OK - Why am I getting all this philosophical? Is it just some frustration within me OR am I speaking sense?

The reason goes as follows - This is what I saw today and all of the above thoughts cross my mind.

I have been living in South Delhi for past 10 years and typically have been using pretty much the same route for every day commute. In those past 10 years, I know for a matter of fact that whenever it rains, water will get accumulated at the beginning of Chirag Delhi flyover while coming from CR Park and going towards Panchsheel. Every time it has rained, this has happened without fail

Yesterday night also it rained and today morning while I am crossing the flyover from the opposite direction - guess what do I see. Again the same jam extending till 3-4 Kms because of water accumulation at the beginning of that flyover. Some cars stuck in water, others honking and trying to move on from the area where water accumulation level is slightly low.

Notice the place corresponding to the red dot on the map