Old 25th November 2009, 17:48   #16

Pretty good looking Jeep for Baba.

Now that's life on the road. Any specific reason for the All India Tour?

Guess Baba ain't lying. The Jeep has a decal saying ALL INDIA TOUR. Lucky Baba. What will he do if it rains. Love the reflecting stickers on the roll bars.
Old 25th November 2009, 18:05   #17

The very jeep, the mods on it, the mag wheels and new seats and the baba character - The whole thing is totally out of place. This baba defenitely seems to have a taste for automobiles, maybe an ex or current member of this forum. But arent baba's supposed to make do with bare essentials, who would think that a baba would spend so much on doing up his jeep to look so good.
Old 25th November 2009, 18:10   #18

I think the BABA is high on MANALI CReAM!! and instead of taking his Jeep he's whacked off someone else's.. Man! That can't be his jeep!!
Old 26th November 2009, 08:16   #19

@akshay,

I do remember the registration very vaguely, it started with an 'L'.

@rjstyles,

I asked the baba about the final destination, he said 'Abhi Dekhne keliye bahut hai ", "Gharme kya hai"

Last edited by nandans2005 : 26th November 2009 at 08:17.
Old 26th November 2009, 09:10   #20

Seriously guys, appreciate the spirit of that Baba. Will you guys make such fun of our own travel king, HVK? (HVKji no offense to you Sir)

Surely some other Team-BHPians across the country will spot this Baba again. Talk to the guy and get some details about his journey.

Innocent till proved Guilty.

Rajan

PS: The only state in India to issue registration numbers starting with L is Lakshadweep. If I know my Geography right, Lakshadweep is no where near Kulu. Wonder which other state issued "L" in the olden system of regn.

Last edited by PatchyBoy : 26th November 2009 at 09:15. Reason: Added Details
Old 26th November 2009, 10:18   #21

Originally Posted by PatchyBoy View Post
Seriously guys, appreciate the spirit of that Baba.

PS: The only state in India to issue registration numbers starting with L is Lakshadweep. If I know my Geography right, Lakshadweep is no where near Kulu. Wonder which other state issued "L" in the olden system of regn.

Baba do not belong to any particular state. Whole planet is his home.

regarding registration , L stands for Ravana's Lanka.
Old 26th November 2009, 10:31   #22

O M G! I cant believe my eyes, How are they managing funds to feed that gas guzzler?
Old 26th November 2009, 10:49   #23

Most probably Baba is on his way to Rameshwaram , Kanyakumari etc.
Jeep seems to be purchased from Dabbawali for the excursion or donated by some bhakt.

Guys there is no particular reason to disbelieve.

I read in some magzine few years back with Photos ( both old and new) that there was one Pilot Baba ( Original name Rajesh Kumar) who was Air Force Pilot and participated in 1971 war and later became disillusioned with life and became Naga Sadhu and to rise up to Mahamandaleshwar ( One of the higher one in hirarchy of Sadhus)

On a different note if the guy was not wearing Saffron robe and beard and in normal shirt,trousers and clean shave would you have still wondered about source of the funds or DL as some of the have posed in comments just now ?
Old 26th November 2009, 11:06   #24

I agree with Amit. Let Baba have his fun. Wish we were able to get more info and pictures, would have made for a nice travelogue.
Old 26th November 2009, 11:17   #25

Originally Posted by amitk26 View Post
Most probably Baba is on his way to Rameshwaram , Kanyakumari etc.
Or may be on their way to Ganga Sagar Mela.

Last edited by Rudra Sen : 26th November 2009 at 11:18.
Old 26th November 2009, 14:50   #26

Can we get Baba to join team-bhp?

I am sure Baba will have lots of interesting stories to tell, given his penchant for the all India trip. He should get some television coverage like Aaj Tak / India TV and some sponsorship as well

By the way, did he have a GPS device?
Old 26th November 2009, 16:39   #27

aroop,

I was following these guys for sometime to check their mannerisms. These guys are crazy, smoked like mad, ate out from covers, generally stop anywhere and relieve themselves.

After sometime, they realized i am behind them, the baba started shooing me off. I think these guys were heavily drugged. I got into one of the gas station with them, they just filled 10 litres of diesel. I was quite surprised with this.

I would have taken more pictures, but these guys were getting irritated, So i just left them and carried on.

and No, they didnt have any gps or stuff like that, but they were carrying a spade though !

Last edited by nandans2005 : 26th November 2009 at 16:44.
Old 26th November 2009, 16:52   #28

Originally Posted by nandans2005 View Post
and No, they didnt have any gps or stuff like that, but they were carrying a spade though !
. Its funny the way you have put it across.

From their mannerism I think they are just asking for trouble.
Old 26th November 2009, 17:12   #29

Interesting Jeep that is being used.
Looks like a leaf or two has been removed from the rear springs to soften the ride.
Old 26th November 2009, 17:15   #30

So just imagine if everything is real. i.e BABA is from KULU and imagine if someone ask for details and things about his travel from north to south( after south i don't know where they want to go),and what all things he might tell. If it is true then there might one more thing to think and i.e how can they put up with so much amount for the fuel. Even the jeep looks superb. See the wheels