Old 17th August 2010, 15:31   #496
rkg

Originally Posted by dadu View Post
I do not have any answers to any questions related to this as I got the information from the mailing group. It would be good if someone who had already complained to Insp. Rajesh, goes and checks with him the details and posts it here.

But I agree with you all, we should still be careful and always on guard.
I doubt the authenticity of the mail. it may be a hoax mail just like many bank phishing mails, so that people will lower their guard. To me it appears these guys are reasonably educated and know how to us net also. some of them may be following this and similar threads in different online forums and spread such rumor through mail.

If it is true it would have definitely found a place either in TOI and its new cousin Daily mirror
Old 18th August 2010, 17:13   #497

Originally Posted by rkg View Post
.......To me it appears these guys are reasonably educated and know how to us net also. some of them may be following this and similar threads in different online forums and spread such rumor through mail.......
I really doubt that. Although the mail might not be authentic, but suspecting that the gang is behind these mails! C'mon now

If they were really so net savvy, they would have joined some IT company instead of toiling so hard every night and day in the streets.
Old 25th August 2010, 18:27   #498

Ok seems like there are more copycats out there now.
I was returning home from work today on the ORR near Intel at around 5:20 PM. I was on the service road and had just crossed the Maruti Showroom ( Pratham Motors) and was nearing the Hyundai Showroom. I normally drive with the windows up, but since the weather was pleasant, I had opened the windows a bit which was probably a mistake as these guys could see i was alone. 2 guys on a scooter overtook me from the left side and slowed down ahead of me. The guy sitting on the rear signalled me to stop. It seemed like these guys were a little new coz they seemed a bit tense. Immediately, I waved my hand at them telling them to get lost, and closed my windows and drove off quicker. I was approaching the next junction which was quite busy and i could see in my RVM that these guys had turned back.
This is it, I'm not taking out my car to go to work again . It's not very far anyway and i would have taken my bike if not for the rain in the morning.
Guys, just remember not to leave your windows open while driving and make sure they are tinted. And don't stop for these guys whatever happens.

Last edited by Newpunter : 25th August 2010 at 18:28.
Old 25th August 2010, 21:21   #499
rkg

Originally Posted by atrisarkar View Post
I really doubt that. Although the mail might not be authentic, but suspecting that the gang is behind these mails! C'mon now

If they were really so net savvy, they would have joined some IT company instead of toiling so hard every night and day in the streets.
Never underestimate any one. Greed knows no boundaries. Easy money attracts all and sundry
Some of the well paid IT guys were caught recently in some bank hacking scam.
one small scale guy in viziawada created a email account in the name of euro lottery and cheated even the CM of AP Chandra babu and also some banks by taking loans to the extent of Rs 30 crores by claiming he has won 80 odd crores about 8 years back much before the emails some of us are getting about winning some xyz lottery
Old 25th August 2010, 21:31   #500

Originally Posted by rkg View Post
Never underestimate any one. Greed knows no boundaries. Easy money attracts all and sundry
Some of the well paid IT guys were caught recently in some bank hacking scam.
one small scale guy in viziawada created a email account in the name of euro lottery and cheated even the CM of AP Chandra babu and also some banks by taking loans to the extent of Rs 30 crores by claiming he has won 80 odd crores about 8 years back much before the emails some of us are getting about winning some xyz lottery
Agreed, but IT guys would rather use their brains to cheat and get money rather than do any hard work like beating up someone for cash. You probably don't realize that most IT guys including myself are inherently quite lazy
Old 26th August 2010, 02:55   #501

Have there been any new cases reported in the recent past?
Old 26th August 2010, 11:17   #502

Originally Posted by Nitin View Post
Have there been any new cases reported in the recent past?
Some guys attempted to mug me yesterday, as i had said in my previous post. But these were definitely not the Pulsar gang and were probably some copycats and were driving an old Bajaj Scooter. I think i will go on that route again today on my 2 wheeler and see if i can find those guys again.
Old 26th August 2010, 11:20   #503

Originally Posted by Newpunter View Post
Some guys attempted to mug me yesterday, as i had said in my previous post. But these were definitely not the Pulsar gang and were probably some copycats and were driving an old Bajaj Scooter. I think i will go on that route again today on my 2 wheeler and see if i can find those guys again.
Did you report this incident to the police. Although nothing happened for which you can lodge an FIR, but its always prudent to report such incidents to the police so they are at least aware that something can brew up in that locality.
What they do with the information is another story though.
Old 26th August 2010, 12:38   #504

Originally Posted by Newpunter View Post
Ok seems like there are more copycats out there now.
I was returning home from work today on the ORR near Intel at around 5:20 PM.
Outer Ring Road - 5:20 pm. ???

These people are gaining more and more confidence and courage to do this in peak hour on a busy road.
Gone are the days when mugging happened on lone roads such as Jail road, Haralur road in off-peak hours.

Where are we safe?
Old 26th August 2010, 13:45   #505

Originally Posted by Ranjan Sharma View Post
Dude, good reflex but isn't this heights? It seems there is "Gunda-raaj" everywhere. You just feel so helpless some times.

The ATM scene is something most of us would be aware. I go only to ATM's at night which are at a posh area with security guards.

I do wonder why we people blame these petty theives (I am sarcastic here).
when we allow (if we ever vote) these politicians to loot and rape this nation of crores of rupees; these city theives are proxy children of these politicians who want to grow following their path. Check background of most politicians and they too have grown in the same fashion (somewhat similar not exactly same). May be you might find big photoframes of corrupt politicians in these conman / cheaters homes. This is how they grow and this is from who they get protection from; a growing nexus that is not good for this country.
All we can do is be alert at all times. You would never find your future written anywhere in this earth atleast!
Old 26th August 2010, 20:25   #506

Originally Posted by ch.nathan View Post
Outer Ring Road - 5:20 pm. ???

These people are gaining more and more confidence and courage to do this in peak hour on a busy road.
Gone are the days when mugging happened on lone roads such as Jail road, Haralur road in off-peak hours.

Where are we safe?
I think it was the timing that saved me, coz the only area which had less traffic on the entire road was the stretch between the Maruti and Hyundai showrooms, on the service road. And this is exactly where they tried to stop me, and when i didn't stop , they didn't chase me and turned back, as there was a lot of traffic near the Hyundai showroom just ahead.

I didn't report to the police coz nothing really happened. I might look like a paranoid fool if i go to the cops saying someone signalled me to stop and did nothing when i didn't stop. But yeah, after this incident, I am not going alone on this road in my car unless i can't avoid it at all.

Last edited by Newpunter : 26th August 2010 at 20:27.
Old 28th August 2010, 11:17   #507

The way my boss was robbed of in blr!

Hey guys

I am in bangalore now and was talking to my boss casually regarding the muggings in bangalore and he was surprised when I spoke on the same.On asking why he seemed so surprised he said just 2 weeks back he had experienced the same.
His story in brief:
He was in Lavelle road near cafe coffee day and was about to enter his car when a couple stopped him and told him they were visiting bangalore and someone had pickpotted the guys wallet and he had no money to go to where he was staying with his relatives.They asked my boss where he was was going and then said that was where they wanted to go and asked him to drop them and my unsuspecting boss told them to get into the car.The guy sat in front and the girl in the behind seat.
After a while, the guy started talking to my boss and told him that he wanted money else the lady behind would tear her clothes and say my boss had attempted to ra** her.
My boss panicked and he ended paying 15k withdrawing it from the atm.

He never reported/complained to the cops.Just wondering how many more people these couple would have cheated in the same way and these cases are never reported as the victim would think about their reputation/family and take the route to paying up and moving on.

These couple were very well dressed and did not look like any lower class/uneducated people.

Glad never heard of the same in chennai till date.

The above is only a reproduction of what I head.
Old 28th August 2010, 17:50   #508

Originally Posted by rajinibm View Post
They asked my boss where he was was going and then said that was where they wanted to go and asked him to drop them and my unsuspecting boss told them to get into the car.
First of all, sad to hear that your boss had to go through this.

How could your boss trust some stranger couple and let them get into his car?

If some stranger couple walks into his house and say some story and they request him to let them stay in his house overnight, will he allow them?
I don't think so.
The car is no different from your his own house.

The smart thing to do would have been to give them some 100 or 200 bucks and tell them to take an auto rickshaw and go.

Moral here is that one should never ever allow anybody get into your car no matter what. Your own safety is more important than anything else.
Old 28th August 2010, 18:32   #509

Originally Posted by coolfyre View Post
If some stranger couple walks into his house and say some story and they request him to let them stay in his house overnight, will he allow them?
I don't think so.
The car is no different from your his own house.
Giving a ride to an apparently innocuous stranger couple is different from letting the same couple stay overnight in your house. There are plenty of reasons, couple of the important ones being:
1) the ride is not going to be overnight (most likely)
2) while they are with you in the car very likely they can't steal anything from your car as long as they get off right at the end of the ride provided you've not left any tiny valuables around.
This is perhaps why people assume such acts are just kind ones and many times won't think of any potential trouble.
Also, by the tokens above a car is way different from one's own house in the context of discussion.

Originally Posted by coolfyre View Post
Moral here is that one should never ever allow anybody get into your car no matter what. Your own safety is more important than anything else.
Very well said!
Old 28th August 2010, 19:22   #510

Originally Posted by rajinibm View Post
He never reported/complained to the cops.Just wondering how many more people these couple would have cheated in the same way and these cases are never reported as the victim would think about their reputation/family and take the route to paying up and moving on.

These couple were very well dressed and did not look like any lower class/uneducated people.

Glad never heard of the same in chennai till date.

The above is only a reproduction of what I head.
It is very sad to hear such stories, I believe one should not hesitate to approach police or media to report such incidents.

I am sorry for your boss, but it is better to be considered rude by not helping strangers rather than risking one's safety.