Team-BHP > Super-Cars & Imports in India

Old 31st January 2013, 12:27   #16

Re: Spotted: 2011 Audi A8L W12 in Mumbai

Originally Posted by akshay1234 View Post
Order a set of Germanplates.com . The only issue is for the proper Euro plate 9 digits is the limit, so instead of MH01, you will have to write MH1. 10 digit lookalikes are also possible but then they don't really look that good. The frame is available there too.

Surprising the A8 was rejected considering the Bentleys were in.
You can get more than 9 characters now. Found this flash link on their website that showed an MH plate and provided you with an option to add upto 15 characters.

Here is the link: http://www.germanplates.com/german-p...own-plate.html
Old 31st January 2013, 12:38   #17

Originally Posted by Sahil View Post
You can get more than 9 characters now. Found this flash link on their website that showed an MH plate and provided you with an option to add upto 15 characters.

Here is the link: http://www.germanplates.com/german-p...own-plate.html
Thats what I was talking about, look at the font. While it does look nice its certainly not as good as the proper German plates like on the W12.
Akshay1234 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 31st January 2013, 12:51   #18

I know you ordered your plates from there, and I would prefer the 9 digit plate because of the different or larger font.
As per the RTO rule 10 digits have to be there on the car..minusing one digit to make it look good is breaking the law.

Well then what are Z4s doing in the show? Of course if they are allowing cars which are only 300 odd bhp then why not let it a 760li or an S600?
My question to you what were 90% of the cars doing at the show including my own, would you consider all the cars at the event a Supercar?

why get behind a Bentley or Rolls Royce..would you call an M3 or even a Porsche 911 S a supercar?

The A8, S and the 7 series are shapes you see everyday and are not unique..if say a S65 was there it would be allowed for the uniqueness. For arguement sake you can say the Bentleys and Rolls Royces are also seen on the roads..the point to be seen they are still over and above the common mans reach and cars the people want to see at shows.

We are going majorly off topic here and i would not be replying after you reply and would take it up privately if need be. Cheers.
speedy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 31st January 2013, 13:58   #19

But in indian termanology it is a supercar.
Old 31st January 2013, 20:25   #20
PPS

Originally Posted by Sahil View Post
PPS: What were the last few digits of the regn numb?
Those seems like the best EU plates I have seen locally here. Quite like the frame on it too, minus any dealer branding. I want !
Here you go. I'm not very sure but this could be Audi India's demo car.

Spotted: 2011 Audi A8L W12 in Mumbai-12.jpg
PPS is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 31st January 2013, 20:48   #21

Originally Posted by PPS View Post
Here you go. I'm not very sure but this could be Audi India's demo car.

Attachment 1045688
I think it's an ex-Audi demo car. It was bought by one of the owners of the new Audi South showroom in Mumbai. If this is the same car then it is up for sale, its done approx 70,000 kms.
Old 1st February 2013, 12:54   #22

Originally Posted by i<3turbo View Post
But in indian termanology it is a supercar.
If a Bentley Flying Spur can be a super car, This one sure should classify. Bentley uses this very Chassis,engine and drive line etc etc on the FS.
I would opt for this A8 at 1.70cr vis a vis a Flying Spur at 3.00cr
Old 1st February 2013, 13:06   #23

The VW Phaeton could also be considered a supercar then!
ajmat is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st February 2013, 13:26   #24

VW Phaeton did a W16 version too didnt they? That is probably inching towards Hypercar in our' Indian terminology'.

70,000km done on the Audi A8 W12? Its a display/test drive vehicle. I would say its a bad choice for anyone to buy that vehicle....unless its coming at the price of a 5 series.
Old 1st February 2013, 18:49   #25

Originally Posted by Fullrevs View Post
VW Phaeton did a W16 version too didnt they? That is probably inching towards Hypercar in our' Indian terminology'.

70,000km done on the Audi A8 W12? Its a display/test drive vehicle. I would say its a bad choice for anyone to buy that vehicle....unless its coming at the price of a 5 series.

Nope that was a hoax IIRC . The biggest engine the Phaeton has is the 6.0 W12 shared with the Bentley Continental series.
diffuser is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st February 2013, 22:12   #26

Originally Posted by diffuser View Post
Nope that was a hoax IIRC . The biggest engine the Phaeton has is the 6.0 W12 shared with the Bentley Continental series.
Which is the same motor used in the w12 a8.
Old 4th May 2014, 20:33   #27

Audi A8L gets a makeover, launched at Rs 1.11 crore. ( ex showroom Mumbai) - as a CBU .
Audi has introduced A8L in India with a face lift and a host of cosmetic changes with more efficient engines.
The new Audi A8L gets minor design changes including the optioThe engine line-up has also been tweaked to churn out more power and at the same time improve efficiency. India will get two diesel engines - the 3.0-litre TDI producing 250PS and the highly powerful 385PS, 4.2-litre TDI. The sole petrol option will be the 4.0-litre TFSI which develops an impressive 435PS. The three engines will come mated to eight-speed Triptronic automatic gearbox.nal Matirx LED headlamps, plusher interiors and revised dampers to improve ride quality.
http://auto.economictimes.indiatimes...crore/34629074
Old 26th June 2016, 20:19   #28

Spotted the ultimate sleeper car for the first time.

2011 A8l w12
Spotted: 2011 Audi A8L W12 in Mumbai-img_20160626_1127042.jpg  

tharian is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 22nd June 2018, 15:14   #29
PPS

Businessman-actor Sachin Joshi and Pune-based realtor Avinash Bhosale have accused Audi India, the Indian subsidiary of the German carmaker, of providing them allegedly “defective” Audi A8L W12 models!

https://mumbaimirror.indiatimes.com/...w/64688839.cms

Joshi has sought refund of Rs 1.22 crore at which he bought the car, Rs 27.27 lakh he spent in carrying out repeated servicing, a compensation of Rs 5 crore, Rs 10 lakh towards cost of the complaint.
“We have firm reasons to believe that Audi India has sold us a defective, substandard vehicle and Audi dealerships do not have the necessary training or expertise to identify and resolve issues pertaining to the high-end vehicle portfolio. Audi workshops are not equipped to carry out repairs or their staff is not trained or competent enough to carry out the maintenance jobs,” alleged Bhosale.
Audi India spokesperson said: “Both the vehicles were sold in 2012 and are out of warranty period. All reported concerns (about the cars) were addressed at the relevant time and necessary support was extended on the repairs".
PPS is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 22nd June 2018, 17:59   #30

Originally Posted by PPS View Post
Businessman-actor Sachin Joshi and Pune-based realtor Avinash Bhosale have accused Audi India, the Indian subsidiary of the German carmaker, of providing them allegedly “defective” Audi A8L W12 models!
From what I've read on international forums, the W12 is an absolute nightmare in terms of reliability & maintenance. Plus, the usual Audi workshop mechanic won't even have a clue about the motor. The luxury brands should frankly not launch these variants here at all. It just comes back to bite them in the end. Their sales are so minuscule that they don't make a difference to the bottomline at all.

Originally Posted by tharian View Post
Spotted the ultimate sleeper car for the first time.
More like a 'sleeping' car, considering how much time it spends off the road . Sorry, couldn't resist.