Old 2nd January 2012, 12:59   #16

Re: DC Design to launch India’s first supercar

Originally Posted by MuraliR View Post
It is a VW Polo, modified extensively, 2 door, and wheels almost double the normal size.

The photos are published in an Auto magazine.
My friend Vamsi Chelamkuri had spotted the same in Hyderabad recently, here are the snaps !

DC Design to launch India’s first supercar *Update* Scoop pics on Page 2!-194610_290121914371283_100001204306086_918132_587609817_o.jpg

DC Design to launch India’s first supercar *Update* Scoop pics on Page 2!-324788_290121251038016_100001204306086_918128_1167021743_o.jpg

DC Design to launch India’s first supercar *Update* Scoop pics on Page 2!-326025_290122221037919_100001204306086_918135_1080964507_o.jpg

Attachment 862935

DC Design to launch India’s first supercar *Update* Scoop pics on Page 2!-331720_290121994371275_100001204306086_918133_1783052192_o.jpg

DC Design to launch India’s first supercar *Update* Scoop pics on Page 2!-414524_290121707704637_100001204306086_918130_43399843_o.jpg

DC Design to launch India’s first supercar *Update* Scoop pics on Page 2!-415006_290122664371208_100001204306086_918138_1640650528_o.jpg

DC Design to launch India’s first supercar *Update* Scoop pics on Page 2!-415049_290121511037990_100001204306086_918129_1452415407_o.jpg

Last edited by ShortShifter : 2nd January 2012 at 13:04.
ShortShifter is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 2nd January 2012, 13:06   #17

Originally Posted by ShortShifter View Post
My friend Vamsi Chelamkuri had spotted the same in Hyderabad recently, here are the snaps !
I spotted the same on Friday last week at Nizampet.

Ardy
Old 2nd January 2012, 13:27   #18

Overheard from a reliable source
  • The car will be priced at Rs 24 lakhs confirmed.
  • Bookings begin 5th Jan 2012 and Deliveries begin end of the year.
  • 200 cars for the first year.

More details at the Auto Expo

Meanwhile here is leak as to what the car might look like

DC Design to launch India’s first supercar *Update* Scoop pics on Page 2!-dc.jpg

Last edited by Rehaan : 3rd January 2012 at 15:15. Reason: Thanks! Watermarking.
Fireblader85 is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 2nd January 2012, 13:58   #19

DC Supercar at Rs.30lacs

Read this news on motoroids today. If its true, its yet another attempt (hopefully successful) by an Indian company to break the mould and i wish DC Design nothing but absolute success.

DC to unveil Rs. 30 lakhs super car-the Buddh at the Expo

Mods, if this thread exists, please merge or close.
Old 2nd January 2012, 14:46   #20

Whoaa! that DC polo looks hot in that skin,only if it was slapped with some Deep lip/dish designed all black alloys wheels..Its drool to own a wide-bodied car
Old 2nd January 2012, 14:53   #21

Originally Posted by Fireblader85 View Post
Meanwhile here is leak as to what the car might look like

Attachment 862943
Design cues from the 458 and the LP640 it looks like to me.
All the best DC!
Old 2nd January 2012, 14:59   #22

Re: DC Design to launch India’s first supercar *Update* Scoop pics on Page 2!

a car that looks almost like a Lambo from the front and middle and has a 400 BHP turbocharged V6 with a power to weight ratio of 257 bhp/ton sounds too good to be true at 24 Lac. I would have some serious doubts on its reliability.

remember this? cheap and reliable won't be fast, cheap and fast won't be reliable, reliable and fast won't be cheap.
infotech58 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd January 2012, 15:13   #23

That donked out Polo looks odd. With that kinda kit, it should be sitting low.

AND that orange/red thing gives me the creeps. Expect a NA V6, 6.xx seconds to 100. Thats what i've heard anyway.

You need to be a real attention seeker to want to spend 24 lakhs on that. *shivers*

EDIT: 3,000 units annually at 30 lakhs, nominee for t-bhp official joke thread

Last edited by Vid6639 : 2nd January 2012 at 17:34. Reason: fixed typo i.e. attention seeker.
Old 2nd January 2012, 16:01   #24

about that dc polo, it looks like an imported 3 door polo brought in and modified.
notice :
1.the glass line towards the back
2.the black interiors.

-Siddharth
SiddVish is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd January 2012, 16:37   #25

Originally Posted by SiddVish View Post
about that dc polo, it looks like an imported 3 door polo brought in and modified.
notice :
1.the glass line towards the back
2.the black interiors.

-Siddharth
It looks like but its not; compare the door lines, the edge of the door starts after the window on the 3 door polo.

Frames less doors on the DC Polo, non-relevant, just pointing it out. Black interiors aren't too difficult to do when you spend 25 lakhs on a Polo

EDIT: Also compare the lower corners of the rear glass.

Last edited by fre2bpowerless : 2nd January 2012 at 16:39.
fre2bpowerless is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd January 2012, 18:34   #26

@fireblader

the car looks like a cross between the 458 and the avetador (or is it just the color?) - and a bad one at that.

i personally feel it's a bit overstyled. they should consider keeping the lines clean and simple to make it look better. just my 2 cents - dunno whether they need it or not. but i am sure they also might have realised it by now - considering how the enthusiasts don't really like what they do with the body lines of all the good looking cars by over-doing it.

but indeed a great effort if they can price the car at 24 lacs and still sell 200 cars per year. the number somehow doesn't feel that big considering the indian market.
Old 2nd January 2012, 19:17   #27

It's a decent looker no doubt but what's with that name- Buddh? Isn't it enough India's first F1 racing track is named that (would be amusing to watch a non-Indian pronounce that- what as wrong with the more conventional and familiar "Buddha"?!)

I wouldn't shell 24 big ones on this- DC has not built much of a reputation for anything other than outlandish exterior mods and I would be very skeptical of this vehicle being a runaway success.
Old 2nd January 2012, 23:05   #28

Ok. Now I have seen this car in person. I have photos too but can't put them up,wht take a risk ?. This car was for a photo shoot at one place in pune & that's where I saw it.

So here are my views on it -

1) Color - red, roof is black. Rear side from roof has those steps like design, gallardo type they too are in back color.

2) Front end - sexy I liked it. Head light design like audi R8 with single projector inside them.One big wiper on the center.

3) Rear end - sad sad !! Doesn't go well with front side actually looks ugly :( even the tail lamps.

4) Interiors - good. I dint get a chance to look much inside but what ever I saw looked great.

5) Engine note - sounded like half Ferrari with more number of cylinders would have sounded exactly like it.

People who came with the car kept on telling its not a modified car. Did they actually build the chassis ? How was the suspension and things calculated ? I dint get a chance to ask them these question

Last edited by Neil.Bhujbal : 2nd January 2012 at 23:10.
Old 2nd January 2012, 23:37   #29

That DC polo is awesome! how much would the cost be approximately to get it done?
Im sure it would be entertaining to see that dc supercar on top gear.
Old 3rd January 2012, 00:58   #30

I don't know what to say about the fact that lot of people are making fun of or ridiculing the fact that DC is coming up with a super car. Well to be honest its the effort we all should be appreciating. All of us are automobile enthusiasts (that's why we are a part of such a great forum) and such an effort by an Indian company should be anything but ridiculed atleast by us. I am personally not a big fan of DC designs as honestly some of the modified cars built by DC design company don't look that great and to be honest some of them are scary. But I feel that we should all have a round of applause for DC to be coming up with something like this. If the figures about the engine mentioned on this thread are true then I feel the car should be great fun to drive atleast. I agree with members who are talking about reliability but even the best of the companies make bad cars. Even earlier day Tata Indica's were prone to breakdowns and even today after a decade of all the tata being launched and selling well in the market we all know that they still have quality issues and even mahindra for that matter. And I'm in no way making fun of Tata cars or Mahindra cars, but all I am trying to say is that there is a room to grow for every company and every company like an individual has to learn. Even Lamborghini's and Ferrari's of today started some day with one car that had many issues as far as quality and reliability is concerned. I want to clear out one thing that I am NOT a big fan of DC but I really appreciate the effort and I truly wish that this car lives up to the promise of delivering everything it mentions on paper. All I'm saying is that let's all of us not be prejudiced and wait for the car to come out. It could be the most pathetic or the most amazing car. Let's not judge before it's launched and tested. Though two things even I wanna mamtion to DC, please let it be the car is red and not the one on page one, and secondly please don't name it BUDDH . No offense to anyone.

Last edited by Somu2009 : 3rd January 2012 at 01:26.
Somu2009 is offline   (3) Thanks