Team-BHP > Super-Cars & Imports in India

Old 18th February 2019, 22:28   #1261

Re: Pics: Imports gathering dust in India

Originally Posted by ajmat View Post
Was chatting at length to my newly found Euro mechanic. He advised me that any BMW 7 series before the F01-F04 series is a bunch of trouble. Dont even go near it
Originally Posted by akshay4587 View Post
While car window shopping earlier this year, I was surprised to see a 2006 BMW 730D for sale at Maruti Tru Value;
Sales rep there were struggling to sell it for 5L.

It was a trade in for Swift
Originally Posted by aghate View Post
A couple of years ago a friend of mine had been told about a 7-series BMW for sale at 7 lacs.
Originally Posted by v12 View Post
Most of these luxury cars will be available at a very low price (lower than modern hatchbacks) after a decade of usage / abuse.
I foresee an Impala'eque future for these german luxury barges. Soon enough these cars maight be tossed, rolled over and blown up in action movies.

Will be a welcome change from the Scorpios and Sumos, Rohit Shetty are you listening?
shortbread is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th February 2019, 23:04   #1262

I recently spotted this BMW E90, 325i rotting and gathering an immense amount of dust in the parking lot of Atria Mall, in Mumbai. It has apparently been there for more than 2 years. I wonder what the reason for it to be left like this is.

Pics: Imports gathering dust in India-img_0546.jpg
MODS NOTE:-Kindly move this post to the appropriate section in the forum, if it is out of place.
BeemerBug_06 is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 26th February 2019, 15:30   #1263

Quoted from Automobili Ardent Facebook page

That’s @virat.kohli’s ex Audi R8 V10 in a miserable state somewhere in Thane! After being impounded following a fraud by the dude who bought this car, the car has been sitting at police grounds since a year now. The car has been flooded and even floated from one end of to ground to another. Painful to see such good cars in such a dire state. Don’t know if this is even worth rescuing now.
Pics: Imports gathering dust in India-52669951_1225798550911682_1967149816760762368_n.jpg  

Pics: Imports gathering dust in India-52964731_1225798507578353_3385790395236483072_n.jpg  

PapaBravo is offline   (21) Thanks
Old 27th February 2019, 07:08   #1264

Damn, a completely neglected Cadillac:
GTO is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 27th February 2019, 13:45   #1265

Damn, a completely neglected Cadillac
I think this was for sale in 2018. Last, I had spotted this at Prabhadevi in 2018 near the Tata dealership. Don't know where it has moved now. It was in decent state unlike the state in the video.

Last edited by GTO : 3rd March 2019 at 06:33. Reason: Trimming quoted post
300 KMPH is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th February 2019, 14:48   #1266

Originally Posted by 300 KMPH View Post
I think this was for sale in 2018. Last, I had spotted this at Prabhadevi in 2018 near the Tata dealership. Don't know where it has moved now. It was in decent state unlike the state in the video.
Last I saw this car was at Lower Parel and it was pretty much in the same condition as it is in the video. Kamala Mill guys i remember used to own one of these. Is it from their collection by any chance?
Ankoor is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th February 2019, 16:10   #1267
v12

I believe this car is still for sale - have seen it at 2 dealerships - once at Prabhadevi and the other time in Mahim. Probably just waiting gathering dust waiting to be sold.
v12 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 4th March 2019, 07:42   #1268

Originally Posted by Rshrey22 View Post
Sometimes makes me wonder what's the point of investing in luxury cars altogether?
It's no investment. One pays for the experience.

Originally Posted by BeemerBug_06 View Post
I recently spotted this BMW E90, 325i rotting and gathering an immense amount of dust in the parking lot of Atria Mall, in Mumbai.
The E90 325 & 330 were the most unimpressive performance variants I've ever driven. HEAVY steering in the city and a DEAD engine below 3,000 rpm. Not to mention, a bone-breaking ride, cramped back seat & 5 kmpl in the city (4 if you drive it hard).

Had come across a 325i that was on sale for 3 odd lakhs and still had no buyers.
GTO is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 4th March 2019, 11:03   #1269

I recently spotted this Cadillac STS V8 lying at Mahim beach, gathering dust and rust. This image is from a few months ago actually, at present the state of the car is even worse.
The rear windscreen has been smashed and the car seems to have been vandalised This image is from November 2018.

Pics: Imports gathering dust in India-img_3552.jpg
BeemerBug_06 is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 4th March 2019, 11:23   #1270

Saw this W202 in Pune recently. Not a fan of this model personally, but any Merc rotting away is always a sad scene.

Pics: Imports gathering dust in India-img_20181130_12120601.jpeg

Pics: Imports gathering dust in India-img_20181130_12124601.jpeg
///RMan is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 4th March 2019, 16:07   #1271
v12

Sad to see the Caddy in such a state - its been there since more than a year. Was in a good condition when it was brought there - but then over the last few months it started deteriorating. Maybe the car was stuck there due to non-availability of parts.

@RMan - I may not be 100% right - but I think that's a Mumbai Merc - seems to have a fake / incorrect registration. I believe it is originally a MH-01-S registration. Using a local made / fabricated front bumper as well.

Recently on Instagram someone also posted a pic of the white Lotus Esprit in a dilapidated condition.
v12 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 4th March 2019, 17:17   #1272

Originally Posted by v12 View Post
@RMan - I may not be 100% right - but I think that's a Mumbai Merc - seems to have a fake / incorrect registration. I believe it is originally a MH-01-S registration. Using a local made / fabricated front bumper as well.

Recently on Instagram someone also posted a pic of the white Lotus Esprit in a dilapidated condition.
It is a Mumbai registration but the pic is clicked in Pune, Karve Nagar to be precise.I have just messed around with the plates instead of blanking them out haha

And yes, the Espirit has been rotting away on the outskirts of Bombay for many years now.
///RMan is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 5th March 2019, 17:47   #1273

Spotted these 2 in Dadar in quite a sad state. Does anyone know which van is it?
The rear end of the Merc is rested on the ground and the van tilted to one side. The area has many other abandoned vehicles but don't come under "supercars and imports" so didn't mention them here.

Mercedes (w203?)
Pics: Imports gathering dust in India-20190218_185915.jpg

Pics: Imports gathering dust in India-20190218_185853.jpg
AKV10 is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 7th March 2019, 09:40   #1274

Originally Posted by AKV10 View Post
Spotted these 2 in Dadar in quite a sad state. Does anyone know which van is it?
The rear end of the Merc is rested on the ground and the van tilted to one side. The area has many other abandoned vehicles but don't come under "supercars and imports" so didn't mention them here.

Mercedes (w203?)
Attachment 1855702

Attachment 1855703

Hey Buddy! That place is just behind my house,I've been seeing that Van in the same spot since the time I was a kid . The White Van is a 1980 Volkswagen Vanagon Transporter. It has been parked in that same spot since 2006! Prior to that it used to run, but now for the last 12 years its just been in that same spot and has decayed to death! It has had an engine swap too. It has an Isuzu Water cooled engine, in place of the original VW air cooled engine.

Pics: Imports gathering dust in India-van.jpg
This is an earlier picture from 2010.

Pics: Imports gathering dust in India-img_6559.jpg
This is a more recent image! Damnn it looks scary now!!

In that same area there was also an Isuzu Gemini and a Buick Skylark rotting alongside the Transporter, but I'm assuming they've been scrapped now. The Transporter is a storage place for the mechanics to keep their knick knacks

That Blue Mercedes is a W220 S class. It's a 2004 or 2005 model as per my knowledge. It's been lying there since 2 years now because the air suspension has gone bust. It isn't abandoned though, it belongs to somebody but it hasn't been attended to. Look at how the poor thing is sagging.

Pics: Imports gathering dust in India-15895095_1612732388756188_3025153294182284179_n.jpg

CHEERS!!
BeemerBug_06

Last edited by BeemerBug_06 : 7th March 2019 at 09:42.
BeemerBug_06 is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 7th March 2019, 09:57   #1275

Here are a couple of Old Toyota Corollas that I recently spotted in Mumbai.

Pics: Imports gathering dust in India-img_2211.jpg

Pics: Imports gathering dust in India-img_2212.jpg
This car has been lying unused at Worli since quite a while. Its rusted through and through:( Any idea which generation of the Corolla this is?

Pics: Imports gathering dust in India-img_3602.jpg

Pics: Imports gathering dust in India-img_3603.jpg
This is an 8th Generation Corolla at Mahim. It's in decent shape but is sparingly used and is often seen gathering dust.
BeemerBug_06 is offline   (5) Thanks