Team-BHP > Super-Cars & Imports in India

Old 27th April 2008, 02:52   #76

Here is the 300C i just saw today. Have taken permission before taking pictures.
Pics: Chrysler 300C Hemi SRT8 in Mumbai-dsc01662.jpg  

Pics: Chrysler 300C Hemi SRT8 in Mumbai-dsc01663.jpg  

Pics: Chrysler 300C Hemi SRT8 in Mumbai-dsc01664.jpg  

Pics: Chrysler 300C Hemi SRT8 in Mumbai-dsc01665.jpg  

Pics: Chrysler 300C Hemi SRT8 in Mumbai-dsc01666.jpg  

Pics: Chrysler 300C Hemi SRT8 in Mumbai-dsc01667.jpg  

Pics: Chrysler 300C Hemi SRT8 in Mumbai-dsc01668.jpg  

Pics: Chrysler 300C Hemi SRT8 in Mumbai-dsc01669.jpg  

Cyrus43 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th April 2008, 11:12   #77

lets chec k the count
1>hemi srt8 black
2>silver one posted above
3>black no.9661
4>there was one yellow no. plate in pune right? was it a cab or temp?
5>another black in pune

can you guys think of any more of these?
Old 27th April 2008, 11:36   #78

58 laks is not worth this car but wondering in used cars this will be a good buy
Old 27th April 2008, 13:30   #79

I think there is only one 300C in Pune, which Tushky spotted ( separate thread) and the same spotted by Payam (pics: exotics in Pune thread). As some one said the car is usually spotted on SB Road near Chaturshringi Temple and now sports a MH-06 registration plate. I had seen the same car twice on Baner Road aswell.
Old 27th April 2008, 13:47   #80

The interiors are too bad!
Guys the price range is $26k-33k, which means Rs.10-12 lakh.
So the landed price in India should be approx. double right?
So where do these insane figures like Rs.55-60 lakh come from?! That too with those cr@ppy interiors!
Old 27th April 2008, 16:25   #81

You guys always check prices in the US. Thats completely and totally wrong. These cars are RHD and come from the UK where they retail at about 27k GBP. Then there is freight at 2300 GBP. Now calculate duty at 114% on cost plus freight. Plus CHA charges.
Lands at about 47 to 48 Lacs. After that it is dealers margin.
Old 27th April 2008, 23:35   #82

Originally Posted by S600BENZ View Post
You guys always check prices in the US. Thats completely and totally wrong. These cars are RHD and come from the UK where they retail at about 27k GBP. Then there is freight at 2300 GBP. Now calculate duty at 114% on cost plus freight. Plus CHA charges.
Ah, good to see you active after a long time sir.
From what you said the dealers are making great money on a Chrysler! I can't imagine what the dealers margin would be on Ferraris and Lambos.
I too wanna enter into this field! lol

Last edited by Jayabusa : 27th April 2008 at 23:39.
Old 28th April 2008, 00:12   #83

Originally Posted by X-Machine View Post
Here it is....The silver one.

X
Got this off facebook ah? ..
Old 28th April 2008, 01:27   #84

I wonder if its really worth it! Rs 60 lakhs for a 300c?
Probably just me,but I'd use those Rs 60lakhs in a better way.
cheers:
Old 30th April 2008, 19:26   #85

Originally Posted by S600BENZ View Post
A friend was offered the Chrysler for around the same price of an 5 series/E-class. There have been many takers for the this car just to be "different" from the numerous E-classes on the road.
Old 1st May 2008, 09:52   #86

Exactly why they are retailing at 60 odd laks. Its the factor that people who have that kind of money want to be different. They dont want to be seen in the same E/5 series as everybody else. Rather pay a premium and be seen in a 300C.
I was having a discussion with this major car importer, that why are you asking for 75 lakhs for a H3 when they cost about 55 lakhs landed in India. He gave me the simplest of explanations. This is a country of 1 Billion people, will I not find 10 people who will pay that premium for a SUV wich is not available off the shelf in this country and has a major Bling factor in peoples mind because of its connection to the US Military and Hollywood stars and also our local stars( Sunil Shetty). I am ready to wait for those 10 people.
I said yes you surely will find 10 out of 1 Billion. I figured that after he sells 10 H3's he will look for some other different car and the same process will start again.
Old 1st May 2008, 10:37   #87

the car may be built on a MB E class platform, but no way this car is going to be competing against the e / 5 series. In the UAE (LHD) 5.7 V8 300c is priced at AED 162900/- brand new 2008 wheras the 6.1 V8 is AED 199900/-. the base 5 series starts from approx 195000/-.
yes people buy the car for the sheer loks but options wise it lags behind.
Old 3rd May 2008, 02:10   #88

By the way whats with the different grills that both these cars, the 300 C HEMI SRT8 and the 300 C have? while the former has different designed grill ( pics in the first post of the thread) the latter has a honey comb styled grill. I am asking because there is one more brand new black 300 C HEMI (yes its a HEMI) but it has same grill which is there on the normal 300 C, the same honey comb styled grill. Just to check out for yourselves the Pune team bhpians can even go to the Audi showroom on SB Road. The car is parked outside the showroom along with a brand new Range Rover.
Old 3rd May 2008, 03:24   #89

Err does this car deserve such a long thread? Its one of the more common rental cars in the US and frankly having driven it a few times, it drives like crap, interiors are rubbish and so is the badge. Hell it would be an insult to a boat if I say this car handles like a boat . The 6.1L hemi has a bit more grunt than the normal one but that doesn't make the lousy suspension any better. I'd die laughing if anyone buys this piece of crap over an E class or a 5 series.

Last edited by reignofchaos : 3rd May 2008 at 03:26.
Old 3rd May 2008, 04:14   #90

Well second you on that reignofchaos.
I find it a very lame car and perfectly agree to what you said about preferring it over an E or a 5 series. Infact in England people who buy them are oftenly mocked as Rich Emo's.

Last edited by AnniHilat0R : 3rd May 2008 at 04:15.