Team-BHP > Super-Cars & Imports in India

Old 25th May 2011, 19:11   #4606

re: Supercars & Imports : Chennai

Originally Posted by ShortShifter View Post
Whoaa ! Nice snaps. That definetly looks like Harris Jayaraj's Maserati GranTurismo. Guess he got the wheels changed to a Stock Maserati GranTurismo S rims which have been powder coated to black. Looks hot though !

OT: I am still confused if this a plain jane 4.2ltr V8 GranTurismo or a 4.7ltr V8 GranTurismo Automatic ! The only way to prove it is to look under the hood.
Saw one Gran Turismo of the same colour parked in Stallin's house. I pass through the area everyday on my way to the office. I think it is the same car.
Old 25th May 2011, 19:29   #4607

Spotted the Rangie Vogue at TVH Belicia Towers. It shares the garage with a BMW 5 and a Prado and all three have the same reg no: 9999... Porsche was spotted in RK Salai this evening.. Supercars & Imports : Chennai-20052011043.jpg

Supercars & Imports : Chennai-20052011044.jpg

Supercars & Imports : Chennai-20052011045.jpg

Supercars & Imports : Chennai-25052011053.jpg

Supercars & Imports : Chennai-25052011055.jpg

Supercars & Imports : Chennai-25052011056.jpg

Supercars & Imports : Chennai-25052011058.jpg

Supercars & Imports : Chennai-25052011059.jpg

Supercars & Imports : Chennai-25052011061.jpg

Supercars & Imports : Chennai-25052011064.jpg
Old 26th May 2011, 01:11   #4608

Originally Posted by aravind511 View Post
Saw one Gran Turismo of the same colour parked in Stallin's house. I pass through the area everyday on my way to the office. I think it is the same car.
Hi, that one is White. Please do watch it closely.
Old 26th May 2011, 03:29   #4609

How disgusting those desi bullbars look on the Rangie.

Ugh !!
Old 26th May 2011, 03:49   #4610

Originally Posted by toiingg View Post
How disgusting those desi bullbars look on the Rangie.

Ugh !!
That was exactly the same feeling I got when I looked at the pictures. It took a few seconds for me to realise that it was indeed a RR Vogue. Absolutely distasteful. At the first instance I thought it was some TATA Sumo or something. Those Vogue Style 9 19" rims are pretty boring too. BTW Check out those Lights, the horns and those oversized mud flaps ! A beauty gone waste I say.

Last edited by ShortShifter : 26th May 2011 at 04:00.
Old 26th May 2011, 10:16   #4611

Spotted a Jaguar XK near Spencers signal and a Porsche in OMR.
Supercars & Imports : Chennai-15052011002.jpg

Supercars & Imports : Chennai-23052011.jpg
Old 26th May 2011, 11:54   #4612

Spotted the Rangie Vogue at TVH Belicia Towers. It shares the garage with a BMW 5 and a Prado and all three have the same reg no: 9999... Porsche was spotted in RK Salai this evening..
Nice pics dude.. I am no saint - but just take care while masking the registration number. You have masked the RTO code in one photo (TN -- AT) and the series in the other (TN 04 --)!

BTW, I caught this BMW GT yesterday at St.Mary's Road. Followed it till Kotturpuram after which I couldn't match up to its speed. At first, from a distance I thought it to be a X6 - but its low height made me think again and take a closer look.
Supercars & Imports : Chennai-dsc01023.jpg  

Last edited by callvvijay : 26th May 2011 at 11:55.
Old 26th May 2011, 13:53   #4613

At first when I saw the Bull Bars on the Rangie, I thought the Owner loved his car too much, and hence the Bull Bars. You know, Rear Ending, Scratches and India are very good pals! But after I saw that horn, I changed my mind!

I think I saw that Silver Supra( Rear windscreen Wipers! ) this morning, parked near Ethiraj College. Could it be the same?

Last edited by Eddy : 26th May 2011 at 14:00. Reason: Please use the edit / multiquote option instead of posting back to back posts within 30 mins. Thanks.
Old 26th May 2011, 14:16   #4614

Spotted the Rangie Vogue at TVH Belicia Towers.
The rangie deserves to be in the Weird and Whacky thread. At first glance i was wondering what a sumo is doing on this thread.
Old 26th May 2011, 14:37   #4615

Originally Posted by callvvijay View Post
BTW, I caught this BMW GT yesterday at St.Mary's Road. .
If the Silver 5 GT's stock rims were powder coated to black, then its the same one I saw on Adyar Bridge a couple of weeks ago.

Anyways I managed to recover a crashed partition on my laptop today and I found some old pictures.

Supercars & Imports : Chennai-1.jpg

Supercars & Imports : Chennai-2.jpg

Supercars & Imports : Chennai-3.jpg

Supercars & Imports : Chennai-4.jpg

Supercars & Imports : Chennai-5.jpg

Supercars & Imports : Chennai-6.jpg

Last edited by ShortShifter : 26th May 2011 at 14:45.
Old 26th May 2011, 14:59   #4616

IIRC I've seen that RR in Madurai just after the Assembly elections. It had a red beacon light (covered) at that time. It isn't a surprise that politicians cars have BIG bull bars, oversized multiple horns etc.

P.S: aravind511 - With your masking it's easy to unmask the RR number. You have masked '04' in one pic and 'AT' in another pic :P Intentional?

Last edited by kiku007 : 26th May 2011 at 15:02.
Old 26th May 2011, 15:00   #4617

Originally Posted by ShortShifter View Post
Anyways I managed to recover a crashed partition on my laptop today and I found some old pictures.

Attachment 550906
Looks like the picture of the Volvos were taken in the Maya Motors parking lot in Adyar. Have seen the white Volvo many times there.
Old 26th May 2011, 15:58   #4618

Originally Posted by Baleno7811 View Post
Am quite sure even Pondy itself does not have so many such expensive cars as what Bangalore has with PY registration.
When you register a car in Pondy worth 1 crore, tax will around 50K.
For the same car you will have pay around 15 Lakh, if it's chennai.
So many of these cars are registered in Pondy, with some fake address.

Last edited by Daewood : 26th May 2011 at 16:03.
Daewood is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th May 2011, 17:38   #4619

Originally Posted by n_aditya View Post
Saw this Maser on Arcot road near Virugambakkam on Monday evening.

Attachment 550439

Attachment 550440
This car has been doing rounds with the same " for registration " sticker for god knows how long ! The last time i saw this very car was in april !
Has there been a number plate exemption for expensive imports ?
Old 26th May 2011, 21:17   #4620

Forgot to post this picture of a Hummer H3 in my previous post.

Supercars & Imports : Chennai-12.jpg