Team-BHP > Super-Cars & Imports in India

Old 16th April 2008, 18:42   #61

Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post
You can drive LHD car in India (if it is imported). Not sure what extra things are to be done to get approvals.
Are you a 100% sure of that? Because I'd get one tomorrow then. YOu simply canNOT import LHDs AFAIK.
Old 16th April 2008, 18:45   #62

Originally Posted by flyingspur View Post
Are you a 100% sure of that? Because I'd get one tomorrow then. YOu simply canNOT import LHDs AFAIK.

Well Akshay that isn't completely true.. You know that..
Car can be imported under Carnet I guess, but thats like for 6 months or so. But the point is, one can't keep a Veyron here. No matter what. At least not legally. And we all know that Mr. Tata would never do anything illegal.
Old 16th April 2008, 18:46   #63

I just googled and found this -

Left-hand drive car imports allowed by Govt-India Business-Business-The Times of India

Now, Mr Tata is a big name in the Automotive Industry and I would think he can Import anything, Would probably be for R&D. The guy owns Jaguar and Land Rover !!!! Maybe he is aiming for other companies as well
Old 16th April 2008, 18:49   #64

Originally Posted by vkochar View Post
I just googled and found this -

Left-hand drive car imports allowed by Govt-India Business-Business-The Times of India

Now, Mr Tata is a big name in the Automotive Industry and I would think he can Import anything, Would probably be for R&D. The guy owns Jaguar and Land Rover !!!! Maybe he is aiming for other companies as well

Thats for testing purposes only sir. What would you expect mr Tata to do with that? Install the 4 turbo's on the Nano and launch a Nano Turbo!
Old 16th April 2008, 18:52   #65

A wee bit offtopic - Here is one of the 2 Falcon's he uses. I have masked the aircraft serial number for privacy and security. I have interior pictures as well but cannot post due to people on the plane.
Ratan Tata's cars-img_0490.jpg  

Old 16th April 2008, 18:57   #66

Originally Posted by ecksreturns View Post
Well Akshay that isn't completely true.. You know that..
Actually I didn't know that yaar! Thanks. I'm going to dig up some info on this now.
Old 16th April 2008, 19:20   #67

I thought as much!! I knew it was going to be the veyron. Straight6 buddy i believe you.
Old 16th April 2008, 19:43   #68

is this the one ??

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/super-...on-mumbai.html
Old 16th April 2008, 20:17   #69

Originally Posted by vcash View Post
Drive???? psshhh......He has one of the hottest ride's in the country - A Dassault Falcon 2000.

Pre-Indica days, he had an Esteem in Bombay. Not sure now.
In Jamshedpur he is usually driven around in a black W211.
In Calcutta, you will see him either in a black Accord or a silver Camry, both are parked at Tata Center.
Originally Posted by Jayabusa View Post
The pics of his Cadillac have been posted in the 'Multiple imported cars spotting at one spot' thread along with Sachin Tendulkar's previously owned 360 and a Maserati Gransport.
Seriously - What car is this? Gold Leafed Veyron? Or a diamond studded Nano?
A wee bit offtopic - Here is one of the 2 Falcon's he uses. I have masked the aircraft serial number for privacy and security. I have interior pictures as well but cannot post due to people on the plane.
OT - vcash, how do you know all such things. Are you a personal secretary of Mr. Tata
Old 16th April 2008, 20:22   #70

That's when the power of MS Paint comes into play. Do what I do - make everyone a golliwog with some black paintbrush effects.

golliwog - Google Image Search
Old 16th April 2008, 20:24   #71

Nice coincidence.

I also have some snaps of their whole fleet.
Old 16th April 2008, 20:26   #72

Originally Posted by flyingspur View Post
Actually I didn't know that yaar! Thanks. I'm going to dig up some info on this now.
arre your also akshay? cool

shall try and find out about this veyron.
Old 16th April 2008, 20:33   #73

This is something. Thanks for the news .
Originally Posted by straight6 View Post
I have seen him driving something that most people here won't believe so I'm not sure I should name that car.
Originally Posted by straight6 View Post
There is a red/black one in bombay. I have seen it myself. The owner was driving it and he is VERY famous here .
straight 6 claims that he saw Mr. Tata in a Veyron.
Old 16th April 2008, 20:57   #74

Originally Posted by Pal-leo View Post

Yep..That is the same thread.. Apparently people keep making claims of seeing the coolest and most desirable cars in the world, here in india and apparently never have a camera to record it.
Old 16th April 2008, 21:05   #75

Originally Posted by anonymous View Post
OT - vcash, how do you know all such things. Are you a personal secretary of Mr. Tata
I would love to be his exec assistant but unfortunatley that is not what it is! Two generations of my family have worked for the Tata's. And since I have a deep fondness for cars, I used to hang out at all the garages in different cities as a Kid when travelling with family. Some other info is known from very close observation.

Originally Posted by aniguchisan View Post
That's when the power of MS Paint comes into play. Do what I do - make everyone a golliwog with some black paintbrush effects.

golliwog - Google Image Search
I know that I could mask the faces but it is just too sensitive to put up on a public forum. Next time I am in one of the aircrafts, I will take a picture of the cabin.

Originally Posted by artofzen View Post
Nice coincidence.

I also have some snaps of their whole fleet.
Sweet! I have some more pictures of the Kingair / Pilatus / Caravan / Citation and even the yellow bonanzas from the 80's. They really have one of the nicest aircraft fleets in the country.