Team-BHP > Super-Cars & Imports in India

Old 2nd January 2009, 19:19   #31

Originally Posted by canonball View Post
spiff did u find ur 3000gt? There is a black one in Mumbai unfortunately it is the american dodge stealth version in LHD. there is also a black 3000gt with gaudy stickers and mirror tint on the some part fo the glasses. hardly see the cars anymore i am sure they are from central to south mumbai side u find if u hunt
Hey canonball

Yep I did buy one, its currently over at Arush's in Delhi for paint and mech work . Got the Limited Edition Twin-Turbo model from Bangalore .
Old 2nd January 2009, 21:36   #32

Originally Posted by spiff View Post
Hey canonball

Yep I did buy one, its currently over at Arush's in Delhi for paint and mech work . Got the Limited Edition Twin-Turbo model from Bangalore .
When will it be ready
Post pictures when ready
Old 7th January 2009, 12:12   #33

Originally Posted by spiff View Post
Hey canonball

How much did u pay for it?
Old 15th January 2009, 22:47   #34

I was recently shocked to know that some used imports in Mumbai are being repainted at a mumbai suburb garage and sold to unsuspecting buyers .I was on the lookout for an interesting car but have decided not to go for pre-owned cars.
I didnt believe and myself saw about 3 cars in the compound!!These cars were painted in the open!!
So ,be sure of what you buy.
Old 18th January 2009, 20:39   #35

Slowdriver might be usefull to put the make, model, year, and color so all of us are better informed. Better yet put pics without plate obviously. Most dealers are cheats and never bother to report history and our system is least helpful to straight walking people so there is no legal (read prolonged humiliation in court without justics) recourse for innocent buyers so atleast we can know which cars are tampered with
Old 18th January 2009, 21:33   #36

Overheard that the BMW X6 3.0d cost Rs 1.2 cr - grey market
Old 18th January 2009, 23:26   #37

Originally Posted by ajmat View Post
I would laugh hard, but it'd seem childish. So I'll just giggle quietly in the comfort of a land where the same car costs less than half that
Old 18th January 2009, 23:41   #38

Originally Posted by ajmat View Post
How much is it if u get it through BMW showroom?
Old 19th January 2009, 00:01   #39

Originally Posted by f450 View Post
How much is it if u get it through BMW showroom?
I think BMW India is planning to launch the X6 3.0d at about 65 lacs ex-showroom.....
Old 19th January 2009, 00:07   #40

Originally Posted by ecclipse78 View Post
I think BMW India is planning to launch the X6 3.0d at about 65 lacs ex-showroom.....
That's all? . That's far too less!! And it can't be true either. Because Aniguchisan mentioned that it's around 60 lakhs in UK, so it has to be twice that here.

Last edited by f450 : 19th January 2009 at 00:09.
Old 19th January 2009, 00:16   #41

Originally Posted by f450 View Post
That's all? . That's far too less!! And it can't be true either. Because Aniguchisan mentioned that it's around 60 lakhs in UK, so it has to be twice that here.
The X6 is a notch above the X5 right ? And the X5 itself costs some 60L.
Old 19th January 2009, 00:49   #42

Originally Posted by d3adlythegame View Post
Well i just checked the rate of a range over in UK, it says the price starts at 57,455, and when converted to Rupees it comes out to 40,39,412. Put in all kinds of Taxes, it should be around 90,00,000. That is for a brand new one, the ones at the dealers are not brand news are usually few months/years old, Also most of the dealers save on import taxes usin various methods.

So I would say it would be a good buy if you could get a RR for around 85 Lakhs, and a 2007 model for around 75-80.
Note- This is if you import it from UK.

Also, I Checked the price for Audi Q7 3.0TDI, The OTR Comes out to be £38,405.00, which when converted into RS is Rs 27,00,089. Dins, did your friend buy it directly from AUDI or Did he get it from a dealer or did he get the car imported? As i think the Q7 with the above price should be around 60-65 Lakhs. And again this price is for a brand new one
For our ranges in India, we paid 95 for our RR sport tdv8, well loaded in 2008. Our 2008 RR Vogue tdv8 cost 1.1. Again well loaded. Our RR Supercharged cost us 1cr at the time. but we got that in 2006 and sold in 2008 for 90!
As for other prices... i can help with what we paid for our cars in the past.
1. BMW 740Li, 90. Very well loaded.
2. S 600, (no idea)
3. Hummer H2 (bought locally) 1.1
4. Hummer H2 (imported directly) 98
5. Hummer H3 (in 2006) 82
6. CLS 500 (in 2006) 1.1
7. CLS 320 Cdi, 85.
8. S 320 Cdi, 90
9. Land cruiser/Lx 470 (all bought second hand) between 30-65
10.Grand Cherokee V8 (in 2004) 32
11.Bmw 530i (in 2005) 36

All the prices i can think of. Hope it helps...
Old 19th January 2009, 00:55   #43

Originally Posted by liv2drv View Post
For our ranges in India, we paid 95 for our RR sport tdv8, well loaded in 2008. Our 2008 RR Vogue tdv8 cost 1.1. Again well loaded. Our RR Supercharged cost us 1cr at the time. but we got that in 2006 and sold in 2008 for 90!
As for other prices... i can help with what we paid for our cars in the past.
1. BMW 740Li, 90. Very well loaded.
2. S 600, (no idea)
3. Hummer H2 (bought locally) 1.1
4. Hummer H2 (imported directly) 98
5. Hummer H3 (in 2006) 82
6. CLS 500 (in 2006) 1.1
7. CLS 320 Cdi, 85.
8. S 320 Cdi, 90
9. Land cruiser/Lx 470 (all bought second hand) between 30-65
10.Grand Cherokee V8 (in 2004) 32
11.Bmw 530i (in 2005) 36

Why was the H3 so expensive?

Is it true that expensive imported cars have a very good resale value in India, irrespective of usage, year bought, maintenance etc.?
Old 19th January 2009, 14:26   #44

Originally Posted by liv2drv View Post
For our ranges in India, Our RR Supercharged cost us 1cr at the time. but we got that in 2006 and sold in 2008 for 90!

Bought for 1 and sold for 90! Man thats just 10% depreciation..
I've never heard of that strong residual values! You would be knowing that they do shed their values a bit here in UK. Great decision on your part to buy the RR.
Old 19th January 2009, 15:31   #45

f450 no such thing as strong residuals on imports infact it all depends on the captive market for it, and awareness on the part of the buyer. I have seen similar cars get completely different prices pruely because one buyer knew the market well and the other was ignorant.

One thing is clear none of these imports can command or hold premium new or old because anyone can import them, infact unless there is substantial price difference between old and new prices what stops you, me or anyone form going and importing a brand new car from the maker!

The only place I can imgine getting a premium is if there is a lot of cash involved