Team-BHP > Super-Cars & Imports in India

Old 2nd April 2009, 10:01   #1

Cayenne Diesel launched @ Rs. 64.95 lakh, ex-Delhi

Porsche has launched the new Cayenne varient-the Cayenne diesel which has the same engine as the Q7 and toureag 3.0 V6 Tdi with 240 ps.

Only 19 units are allocated for India this year and 3 already booked, says MD, Porsche India.
Old 2nd April 2009, 10:07   #2

did you manage to get any brochures
Old 2nd April 2009, 10:12   #3

19 only? i think it will sell more.
Old 2nd April 2009, 10:21   #4

Originally Posted by vinaydas View Post
19 only? i think it will sell more.
They haven't allocated too many more.. so next year i guess..
Old 2nd April 2009, 10:23   #5

19 units would be sold in a heartbeat in cities like Mumbai & Delhi.
I thought the diesel powerplant would be tuned differently from the Q7 but keeping the same engine without any additional power mapping doesn't make it much more exciting than the Q7.
Old 2nd April 2009, 10:30   #6

but if its just the mapping thats the issue, then its just a chip/remap away right ?
Old 2nd April 2009, 10:37   #7

Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
but if its just the mapping thats the issue, then its just a chip/remap away right ?
Yes it is, but you'd expect Porsche to do the needful before to differentiate itself from the Q7.
Besides most people would rather not chip their cars to avoid voiding warranty. Its easier said than done. I too am in the same boat, when I bought my 525d I was baffled looking at all the remap/chip options there were for that engine. But it's been 1.5 years I still haven't gotten down to doing any kind of modification nor do I see myself doing any in the future.
Old 2nd April 2009, 10:38   #8

A Cayenne deisel in India. Amazing.
It sure will be a great seller as compared to rivals like the q7, touareg.
Old 2nd April 2009, 10:45   #9

India and Diesel are perfect combination like anything... I am sure the 19 No.s will vanish like anything !!

Hope Porsche dealers don't starts selling them for black
Old 2nd April 2009, 11:30   #10

This is gonna be a market Benchmark! Firstly it is a diesel, and then on top of that, it is a Porsche. Absolutely Deadly combo. Speedy Bhai, Do you regret taking the Merc now??? I know how badly you were waiting for this one!
Old 2nd April 2009, 13:06   #11

Well thats quick, but thats what bhpians are...
We have already sold 3 out of those and the others are already under talks... i dont think they are lasting for more time than just a few weeks before we run out of them.
WE NEED MORE.
Old 2nd April 2009, 13:11   #12

Originally Posted by doctorque View Post
Well thats quick, but thats what bhpians are...
We have already sold 3 out of those and the others are already under talks... i dont think they are lasting for more time than just a few weeks before we run out of them.
WE NEED MORE.
Is the red one at the showroom at the moment a diesel?
Old 2nd April 2009, 14:50   #13

brochure is available here:

http://www.porsche.com/all/media/pdf..._Diesel_gb.pdf
Old 2nd April 2009, 15:30   #14

After looking at the brochure, I'm a little less impressed. Performance is at par with a 520d ! Which costs half the price
Old 2nd April 2009, 15:39   #15

Any had a look at the power and torque graph.... 300nm is available idle rpm (1000) while 500 nm can be had at barely 1500 rpm!!!!

@sahil... while the 5 series is cheaper its not half the price. Besides Cayenne isnt just about performance. Its a full blown SUV with a low range gearbox and can take on any terrain.
A all terrain SUV which handles like a saloon isnt too bad @ 65 Lakhs considering it comes as a CBU.

Last edited by extreme_torque : 2nd April 2009 at 15:42.