Team-BHP > Super-Cars & Imports in India

Old 1st July 2009, 11:46   #16

Are these pics from a BMW Warehouse or something ?
I see two BMWs right in front of the Z4.
And if i have to stick my neck out and say the other two on the right seem to be BMWs as well.
Old 1st July 2009, 12:20   #17

56 and 59lacs are for which variant? The 3.5 Twin Turbo Sdrive35i (disgusting nomenclature) at those prices are worth it. But if its a smaller engine Im not so sure. I never understood why SLKs are so overpriced in India. The Boxster will always rule this segment. Reviews I've read on the new Z4 say its become softer in comparison to the previous one. As usual BMW has denied any possibilities of an M version, but they said that about the Z3, the first gen Z4, and the X5.
Old 1st July 2009, 20:11   #18

Its the 3.5 litre that is ..56 ex showroom, ow it would not make sense, they are willing to take bookings now. But yes bm3r, even i think the slk is over priced, i drove one which had 17k miles on clock and it was ..****. And they will for sure have an M its the one division thats making a lot of money for them
Old 1st July 2009, 20:25   #19

There is no 3.5 litre straight-six engine currently available in the BMW range. The 35si moniker of the Z4 indicates that it is powered by the 3.0 litre straight-six, twin-turbocharged engine.
Old 1st July 2009, 20:38   #20

like pointed out by ishaan it is a 3 litre straight six, turbo charged engine. They also do have a M variant for this and in the program that i saw it was the M that was being thrown around the bend. It also had a hardtop convertible. I feel most of the cars are over priced and thats because of the duties and the taxes here. What cost pittens we pay a fortune for and yet have to make do with what is given. The slk 350 and the Amg is good with the power but yet again guys like Mlcarrera would know better as they have lived with a sports car, i have only had pleasure rides in them .
Old 1st July 2009, 21:08   #21

Nice! =) To be honest, though, I would take a Boxster over a Z4. Not that I've driven either!
Old 2nd July 2009, 00:32   #22

It goes like this , you will always find someone who knows a lot more than you do, but you go by your experience at the end of the day. I asked some one (who knows a lot about cars for 40 yrs)about the diff between an m3 and a 911 basic..he goes..porsche is a porsche..SO .....
Old 2nd July 2009, 10:21   #23

Originally Posted by speedy View Post
They also do have a M variant for this and in the program that i saw it was the M that was being thrown around the bend. .
BMW stated that there wont be any M versions of the current generation Z4. They have decided against it atleast for now.

BimmerFile E86 Z4 M Coupe
It’s been reported previously here and elsewhere on the web but last week the M Division once again stated that they had no plans to develop the current Z4 into an M product.
Old 2nd July 2009, 12:35   #24

Z4 is quite a beautifull machine. And this time BMW has made it hard top conertible, but added around 135 kgs. But in every test it is behind the Porsche boxster. Boxster is an icon, it has made its mark as one of the best handling convertible. Anyways lets not compare them.
This new Z4 seems to be bigger in size then the old one, since i have seen the older model it's quite compact.
Old 2nd July 2009, 14:02   #25

@iraghava: Wow thanks for pointing that out dude. I assumed they only did these on the 525ds and such. Its pretty lame naming a 335i that then.

@speedy: Theres no M version for the new Z4 yet, so they couldnt have been throwing it about.

I think its some strategy within BMW to sell as many regular Z4s as possible. And they always bring the M Z4s as the last hurrah. In a way its nice cause they become that much more collectible. But if you dont have the opportunity to buy them new, finding good used ones are extremely hard. I wish BMW came to india like 10 years ago. Oh well.
Old 2nd July 2009, 17:26   #26

This is the 2010 BMW Z4 right?

I never liked the previous Z4 or Z3 because they were so small/compact, but this new Z4 looks amazing. It's still obviously small, but looks much more meaner. Though I think Porsche takes the home the trophee at the end of the day with the Boxter. And I think 56/59 lakhs is a rip-off for such a machine, pay 20 lakhs more and enjoy an 8 cylinder M3.
Old 9th July 2009, 14:22   #27

Its one Hot machine..
Love to see its presence on the Indian roads..
lets see which State will get the first Z4 in India..
Old 11th October 2009, 06:38   #28

Spied BMW Z4

The BMW Z4 which is launching soon was spied 3days back, heres the link.
BMW Z4 Spied in India - a set on Flickr
Old 11th October 2009, 11:11   #29

The pictures of the Z4 at a dealership are already on the forum.
Old 11th October 2009, 13:16   #30

I asked about the Z4 at Krishna Automobiles , Chandigarh (The BMW dealer) . The manager says that the Z4 would be launched soon . I think he said October . But i don't remember if it was 2009 or 10 !