Team-BHP > Super-Cars & Imports in India

Old 16th April 2010, 12:22   #16

Sure as hell he'd have a tough time if the car ever faces up to Gurgaon speedbreakers
Why would his car face the Gurgaon speed-breakers ? He uses the car in Chennai.
Old 16th April 2010, 12:51   #17

Sure as hell he'd have a tough time if the car ever faces up to Gurgaon speedbreakers
And why may i ask? This car has more ground clearance than the Ferrari's and Lambo's, R8's, Porsche's and Masser's that drive in and past Gurgaon my friend, besides this car is not going to see Delhi roads for now.
Old 16th April 2010, 12:54   #18

Great. Red on the GTR looks hot. But, i am so used to seeing the white in Hyderabad that i love that color better.

Originally Posted by Scorcher View Post
Yes, I meant the 370Z. In simple words, "1.cr car for endorsing a 60.Lac car?" Got the point ?

@arjun - Gifted car means No tax or Relaxed/Lesser taxes ?
I think both those figures are on higher side. I read somewhere 370Z OTR is around 45L and GTR should be 60-70L.

1 Crore is not worth for a GTR
Old 16th April 2010, 12:58   #19

What a car!

Looks like Nissan India is trying to boost its sales of Passenger cars in India with this stint.

No way, a GT car will be sold in the country. What are we going to drive on?

I remember the 1st time launch of the Nissan GT-R in 2007.
Nissan had created quite a Hype doing it!

The car was simultaneously launched both in the Virtual World and the Real World.

Virtual World - Sony's "Gran Turismo 5 Prologue"
Real World - Tokyo Motor Show 2007

During the Pre-launch, Sony had access to all the dynamics of the car, from Nissan, so that they could incorporate the car in their game.

The car was unveiled with proper formality for both the launches.

Check out a few pics of the car from Gran Turismo.

Have the game in PS3
Pics: Nissan gifts Narain Karthikeyan a GT-R-nissangtr1.jpg  

Pics: Nissan gifts Narain Karthikeyan a GT-R-nissangtr2.jpg  

Pics: Nissan gifts Narain Karthikeyan a GT-R-nissangtr4.jpg  

Old 16th April 2010, 13:34   #20

Wow I'm envious. Wasn't it the GTR that injured Jeremy Clarkson's neck when he tested it? That's testament to what a monster this thing is!
Old 16th April 2010, 13:42   #21

Red GTR was also featured on TG when the trio had gone to Japan. JC was driving the GTR in Japan whilst the other 2, Hammond & Captain used the public transport system. JC simply enjoyed drving the car in its own backyard.
Old 16th April 2010, 13:45   #22

Originally Posted by McLaren Rulez View Post
Wow I'm envious. Wasn't it the GTR that injured Jeremy Clarkson's neck when he tested it? That's testament to what a monster this thing is!
Yes. I've watched that video a zillion times. love it. Also, in JC's words "The car doesnt have cornering lights because the car goes around faster in a corner than the motor that actually swivel around the lights"
Old 16th April 2010, 15:18   #23

I thought Narain already owned a GTR even before Nissan gifted this to him! Have seen pictures in the Chennai thread IIRC.
Anyways, hope Nissan also provides free service to his GTR
Old 16th April 2010, 15:44   #24

Originally Posted by theragingbull View Post
I thought Narain already owned a GTR even before Nissan gifted this to him! Have seen pictures in the Chennai thread IIRC.
Anyways, hope Nissan also provides free service to his GTR
I hope you were just being SARCASTIC This is obviously the same car, Pics came in pretty late !

Yes, Service indeed is an issue. I guess the nissan dealership does it for him.
Old 16th April 2010, 15:52   #25

Originally Posted by Scorcher View Post
Yes, I meant the 370Z. In simple words, "1.cr car for endorsing a 60.Lac car?" Got the point ?

@arjun - Gifted car means No tax or Relaxed/Lesser taxes ?
Originally Posted by mobike008 View Post
Great. Red on the GTR looks hot. But, i am so used to seeing the white in Hyderabad that i love that color better.

I think both those figures are on higher side. I read somewhere 370Z OTR is around 45L and GTR should be 60-70L.

1 Crore is not worth for a GTR
Yes scorch gifted means no tax or very very less of it.
And I think the 370z is no where near 45 lakhs and the skyline no way.
And 1 crore its definitely worth it considering you pay around 95 for a normal 911 and around 90 for an m3 !
You were kidding right !
Old 16th April 2010, 17:15   #26

wow, lucky NK, first he drove F1s on track and now he has a street legal version, now all he needs is someone to gift him a street where he unleash the power

as per my knowledge even if a car is gifted, custom duties have to be paid. If gifting could waive duties our streets would have much more exotics zooming around. Duties are waived for cars imported by foreign embassies and those in Hotel business also get a waiver for cars imported specially to service the clients.
Old 16th April 2010, 17:59   #27

Originally Posted by Sahil View Post
I saw Sachin's Ferrari on marine drive last night, I think the car has been sold now. Personally, if I got a car completely FREE as a gift from Fiat and as a gift by the Indian Govt (by excluding the duty) I would feel guilty to sell it.
Now you understand why many like us cried foul when he just drove it off the runway and wanted the govt/fiat to foot the duty. All these guys are full of double standards added to which we have demi god mad fan following who will put people on such pedestrials that they forget who they are.

One news channel stated that Sharukh Khan is one of the most powerful people in India, I just could not understand that one!! I can understand a very successful actor and now cricket team owner (success to be seen) but most powerful who the hell are these guys to decide - sorry if OT but I just find the middle class watching all the BS as spectators so had to state it
Old 19th April 2010, 13:16   #28

Originally Posted by canonball View Post
Now you understand why many like us cried foul when he just drove it off the runway and wanted the govt/fiat to foot the duty. All these guys are full of double standards added to which we have demi god mad fan following who will put people on such pedestrials that they forget who they are.
I second that!
Selling a gift is second best to not deserving it at all!!
Old 19th April 2010, 14:27   #29

Originally Posted by Monaro CV8 View Post
I second that!
Selling a gift is second best to not deserving it at all!!
. Brothers I think you should keep such opinions about Sachin or anyone else for that matter to yourselves. Once its gifted its his and he has the liberty to do what he wants. Cant think of anyone else who deserves it better than him. And how do you know it was a gift ,it could be a form of payment shown as a gift.
Old 20th April 2010, 11:53   #30

Wow! One of the hottest cars around. Hope to see at Coimbatore pretty soon. Does Narain has Audi R8 as well?

Last edited by funda2max : 20th April 2010 at 11:54.