Old 4th May 2010, 19:31   #16

Congrats on your new Z4, it looks stunning in this color

Do keep us posted on the overall ownership experience
Old 4th May 2010, 19:45   #17

Dear Suvm- Think you had all the fun ? But driving in this heat (Mumbai- Goa) would have been quite a handful i guess. Was the 3 series a support vehicle or something ?
Saw a Z4 last weekend in Cuffe Parade, silver Gurgaon registered car. It really did take my attention. Well dint know whether to look at the car or the driveress, topdown, cool shades and all.
Old 4th May 2010, 19:46   #18

awesome colour on the Z4, looks spectacular.

both the germans look great together, must have been one hell of a trip!
Old 4th May 2010, 20:22   #19

What a car, what a colour, and what a road to drive on !! NH17 is one of the best experiences this country has to offer to motoring enthusiasts.

I'm doubtful of the 3.5 Z4 beating the M3's 0-100 though.
Old 4th May 2010, 21:29   #20

Originally Posted by Scorcher View Post
Congrats on the buy buddy. Looks a zillion bucks in AW.

OMG, That is Insane. You could have bought a M3 for that sort of money and register it outside Mumbai. But hold it, I just can believe it, a 20L leap ? I mean, for a car which cost 59L ex-showroom (BMW rolls out sports car Z4 at Rs 59 lakh - India Business - Biz - The Times of India), 80L sounds nuts. Even if it is 'lunatically' loaded, 80L ?

Adding up all taxes, insurance and with right boxes ticked it costs about 72odd in cochin
Old 4th May 2010, 21:32   #21

Suvm- you definatly aren't getting the complete juice out of your engine. 97 octane is available in select pumps, do let us know your location and one can suggest a pump in your area.
Old 4th May 2010, 22:02   #22

Originally Posted by suvm View Post
M3 coupe / convertible was out of the question.
Reasons:
I already own a black 3 series sedan which i do not plan to sell yet
Z4 is faster with 0-100 figures compared to M3 - source bmw.in
Z4 is a 2 seater roadster - M3 doesnt match the looks at all (personal choice i beleive, i am sure some would prefer the other way round)

Registration fee for full import cars is higher, i think equivalent to corporate tax rate in mumbai + octoroi . Ex showroom for my car is 63 lacs. (with options) - rest to the government and insurance etc if mumbai registration.
Ouch, owning a 3 series is by no means stopping for going for the M version. Because, other than the '3' part, nothing is the same

Thanks for the info on the price. I'm really surprised on the taxes over there.

Originally Posted by tushar_lalsan View Post
Adding up all taxes, insurance and with right boxes ticked it costs about 72odd in cochin
Tushar, I thought your Z was registered else where(DL?). Anyways, thanks for the info friend
Old 4th May 2010, 22:42   #23
SSP

Congrats on the Z4! Its a great ride. Do post some pictures of the interiors and a close up of the adaptive lights if you can. Thanks.

How many miles you have on it by now? Has the 1st service indicator come on?

The registration in Mumbai is at 19% incl Octroi. Highest in India, I believe.

SSP.

Last edited by SSP : 4th May 2010 at 22:44.
Old 4th May 2010, 23:10   #24

Originally Posted by suvm View Post

Z4 is faster with 0-100 figures compared to M3 - source bmw.in
Are you sure about this? Even the official website says that the Z4 does 0-100 in 5.1sec while the M3 does it in 4.8!
Old 4th May 2010, 23:46   #25

Originally Posted by SSP View Post
The registration in Mumbai is at 19% incl Octroi. Highest in India, I believe.
Bangalore's worse.

Originally Posted by theragingbull View Post
Are you sure about this? Even the official website says that the Z4 does 0-100 in 5.1sec while the M3 does it in 4.8!
The difference is that close? Wow...then in the real world it almost makes no difference. I'm surprised, because the M is supposed to be distinctly ahead. I guess when the Z4 M is made, it'll be a cracker.
Old 5th May 2010, 00:13   #26

There isn't going to be a Z4 M. Atleast not in the near future. BMW has just brought out a more powerful z4. Its the sDrive35is. Its got about 340 BHP.
Old 5th May 2010, 00:22   #27

Originally Posted by theragingbull View Post
Z4 does 0-100 in 5.1sec while the M3 does it in 4.8!
Are you sure about the figures. Autocar says the Z4 does 0-100 in 6.18 seconds.
Moreover, I don't think that the 414 bhp M3 and 301 bhp Z4 are comparable.
Old 5th May 2010, 00:41   #28

Originally Posted by Anand123 View Post
Are you sure about the figures. Autocar says the Z4 does 0-100 in 6.18 seconds.
Moreover, I don't think that the 414 bhp M3 and 301 bhp Z4 are comparable.
Lets' stick to the topic and talk abut the lovely Z4 suvm has got

btw I was talking about official BMW figures. BMW Z4 Roadster : Technical data
Old 5th May 2010, 00:56   #29

What a blast it must've been. What about the dust factor? Isn't that a problem?
Old 5th May 2010, 01:03   #30

hey suvm, I guess I must have spotted you driving the Z4 around bandra east/sion on a sunday evening a couple of weekends ago! It must be you cos I cannot imagine 2 Z4's of the same colour zipping around town.

Nice Ride