Old 11th July 2011, 21:57   #91
DKG

Re: A Harley dream comes true !!

Originally Posted by miharbe View Post
my dad is dead against bikes but one look at the pictures of your harley and the mouth watering price point and he has given me the green signal to purchase one. now there is only the small matter of finance speaking of which i know its a question not many harley buyers would ask but are there any finance options available.
Yes there are finance options, I wouldn't know the details as I didn't opt for finance

i will in some way have to thank you
We'll take our Harleys out for a long ride !!

Originally Posted by Urban_Nomad View Post
My very humble suggestion would be to keep it bone - stock, just as the (motorcycling) gods intended it.

Ride safe.
You said it !! My VFR remains 100% stock even after 13 years. On the Harley too I intend not to do anything that detracts from its factory look. The foot pegs don't match the rest of the bike in detail so those will get upgraded to ones with a more refined finish but nothing ornate. Even on my new Thar I plan on keeping it stock as I am beginning to like it that way, its growing on me !! Some months ago a bought a sparingly used Punto and the first thing I did was take off all the "extras" the previous owner added on. I am a sucker for the factory finish look

Originally Posted by shyn View Post
the moment I saw the SuperLow, it reminded me of your bike.
Attaching a pic (haven't blanked the plates because it is still on T/R)
that's my bike in the picture ! Yes I thoroughly enjoyed the ride on Saturday. Will post some videos taken by a friend. The scene on ORR was crazy too with 25 bikes all in a convoy

Last edited by DKG : 11th July 2011 at 22:04.
DKG is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th July 2011, 06:14   #92

=axp817;2422907]Your friends are right, the 883 can quickly start to feel small especially in America.
That's the feedback I get from everyone out here. I think I am going to look for a higher capacity bike now.

I'd recommend finding a Harley dealer in your area that has rentals (and a lot of dealers do) and renting a Sportster for a day (~$90/day) and then a big twin after that (~$130/day), before making your purchase decision.
Unfortunately New-Roc HD dealership in New Rochelle does not rent out Harley's. I need to figure out some other rentals before I finalize on my pick.

Either way, congratulations on getting your motorcycle license and keep us posted with pictures and stories.
Thanks a lot. Attending the MSF Course was really interesting and informative.

Originally Posted by shrini78 View Post
Man get a 1200 & even that you'll out grow.
I bought a 1200 & I'm 6'2" and just rode for 100mls and traded it for a dyna.
My luck at that time HD was offering a full buy back on their sporty if you traded for a big V-Twin so I didnt lose any money.
883 is really not a beginners bike but its more marketed towards lady riders (even though I used to ride with lotsa ladies who rode softails/dynas/baggers)
My best bet would be New-Roc HD in New Rochelle,NY and they give out pretty good deals every now & then.
@Shrini I live in Pelham and New Roc HD is the one close to me. I am going to check them out this weekend. Btw are u still around here?
Old 12th July 2011, 11:55   #93

[quote=DKG;2426000]

Even on my new Thar I plan on keeping it stock as I am beginning to like it that way, its growing on me !!

Woah!! So deepak ji it was your thar that was parked outside banjara Harley a couple of days back that i drooled over. Anyways Congrats on your buy and Happy Riding!!
Acclero is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th July 2011, 13:16   #94
DKG

Originally Posted by Acclero View Post
it was your thar that was parked outside banjara Harley a couple of days back that i drooled over
if it was the Green Thar then yes that was me
Old 12th July 2011, 16:33   #95

Originally Posted by jango View Post
@Shrini I live in Pelham and New Roc HD is the one close to me. I am going to check them out this weekend. Btw are u still around here?
Nope, I used to live in Houston,TX relocated to India.

Check my posts and you'd see my HD.

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/motorb...-bike-usa.html

I've already shipped out my 1600cc badboy to IND..
Old 12th July 2011, 17:35   #96

WOW Sir..!! She certainly is a beauty and its my favorite shade too ! Hope you are enjoying the sound.!! Happy Riding.
bilalsyed is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th July 2011, 23:10   #97

Congratulations DKG,

I have been travelling (supposed to be on holiday in Kerala) and hence been away from TBHP for last few days.

So officially you are a HOG now.

DKG your friend from Honda/Trading Ent. - Rob ?

Best Regards & Ride Safe

Ram
Old 13th July 2011, 23:24   #98

DKG, Congratulations.... Awesome bike!!!

Is the Superlow 883 available in white?

Also, by any chance did you ride the XL 1200N to get a comparison?
A Harley dream comes true !!-superlow-883-s.jpg  

vijays15 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th July 2011, 02:21   #99

Congratulation DKG, thats an awesome machine.
I am presently in USA.planning for HD soon.

happy riding....
msvg is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th July 2011, 08:48   #100

Originally Posted by DKG View Post
if it was the Green Thar then yes that was me

Yes Deepak ji it was the green thar and boy was i drooling over the combination of a Thar in front of HD showroom, Well happy riding again and do keep us posted on the upkeep of the bike. I would be planning on getting one too when my vitamin M shoots up .
Acclero is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th July 2011, 11:38   #101

I love the way they un pack the bike . It looks quiet sophisticated even to start the motor cycle for the first time .
But one day I will buy one too.
BTW congratulation to the owner . Ride Safe .
ksgehlot is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th July 2011, 14:22   #102

Sir would you recommend this bike for me?
Just two days back is celebrated my 40th birthday and started feeling like now fast sports bikes are not for me now, I usually rides my RD's, RX's and recently hunted BMW K1000, Honda CBX 1100, Kawasaki KZ1300, Yamaha RZ350 and one old skool 900 cc Ninja, I have to choose one of them and after seeing your thread I added Harley Davidson Super Low in this list.
Appreciate your inputs.
What's the waiting period and booking amount.
This weekend surely visiting their showroom over here.
Old 14th July 2011, 14:49   #103
DKG

Originally Posted by Ajaybiz View Post
Sir would you recommend this bike for me?
I always lusted after a Heritage Softail and fell completely in love with the ride of the Road King after riding it but both these bikes were way beyond my budget. I settled for the least expensive Harley and what a surprise its been. For Indian road conditions the Super Low is more than enough in terms of power. Its only downside is the low ground clearance but if you avoid speed breakers that ceases to be a problem Also you cannot lean the bike too much. If you feel you can work around these issues as I have then the Super Low is a fab buy.
Old 14th July 2011, 14:57   #104

I think that can be taken care easily when someone is riding so expensive bike, even my car suffers low GC and I mastered in taking her in crossed angel on those big humps, only need to control over leaning, thanks for the input sir.
Old 14th July 2011, 17:58   #105

Originally Posted by DKG View Post
Regular fuel is fine as these are not high compression engines. I think its 8.9:1
Congratulations!

One typical Desi question: kitna deti hai ?

What is the odometer reading now? How is the service plan? How many free services, after free service how are the next.. 6months or 5000 km or whatever? How much does it cost per service?

Please keep posting the updates about the HD owners life experience.
Tommie is offline   (1) Thanks