Team-BHP > Motorbikes > Superbikes & Imports
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 19th January 2018, 00:48   #61
Senior - BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by naveenroy View Post

I am new to this country so I am guessing I will have to pay higher premiums for a motorcycle - both for insurance and the motorcycle loan. Hopefully some of your motorcycle enthusiasts here in the USofA will notice this thread and will be able to help me with my queries on loans, insurance etc, riding routes etc.

Definitely happy to help with whatever I've learned. One thing I did to figure out Insurance before choosing a bike is, get online quotes from Geico for various models of various years.

Even within the same segment, there is huge variance across comparable models. For example a CBR1000RR of the same year costs me twice as much to insure compared to an S1000RR. I guess some of that just comes from theft statistics (CBR and GSXR are the most stolen).

The year makes a huge difference too, so keep that in mind when choosing a bike. Even between a brand new 2018 bike and a brand new 2017 bike of the same model I see a huge difference in the cost to insure.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bhatman510 View Post
I hear you on that one. Used to do CA17 every day now commute to SF on 280 (Clear in morning, splitting in the afternoon).

Hayward,Sunol are my old stomping grounds as a kid...now its way to crowded...

+1 to the MSF course and adv training, highly recommend some dirt riding too since it teaches you more control in sticky situations.

I was actually thinking about doing Garrahan Off-road Training Intro to Dirt.
rajushank84 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th January 2018, 01:34   #62
Senior - BHPian

Re: Advice on buying a motorcycle in USA?