Team-BHP - Harley Davidson Superlow XL883L - The Comprehensive Review

-   Superbikes & Imports (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/superbikes-imports/)
-   -   Harley Davidson Superlow XL883L - The Comprehensive Review (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/superbikes-imports/141465-harley-davidson-superlow-xl883l-comprehensive-review-7.html)

1st Service Report - 793kms 08-10-2013

As the one month deadline was completing tomorrow, decided to ride down to Delhi to get the HSRP's fitted and also get the 1st service done. The drive was incident free but the rush hour had began early due to Navratras. Plates were ready at the installation centre and were fitted by 10am. At 10.30 I was at the service station of Capital Harley at Okhla, New Delhi.

I was the 1st person in and it was nice to see them waiting for me. My bike was immediately taken inside and the 1st bay besides the lounge area was chosen at my insistence. I was out in about 3 hours.
Harley Davidson Superlow XL883L - The Comprehensive Review-superlow-1st-service-08102013_1.jpg

The engine oil used was fully synthetic. Total 4 litres was used with approx 3L for the engine and 1L for the crankcase/transmission.
Harley Davidson Superlow XL883L - The Comprehensive Review-superlow-1st-service-08102013_2.jpg

Harley Davidson Superlow XL883L - The Comprehensive Review-superlow-1st-service-08102013_3.jpg

Harley Davidson Superlow XL883L - The Comprehensive Review-superlow-1st-service-08102013_4.jpg

Saw a new Iron in Orange (shocking!!) getting its Screaming Eagles Exhaust upgrade and grips changed.
Harley Davidson Superlow XL883L - The Comprehensive Review-orange-iron-exhaust-fitting_1.jpg

Fitted. I am still not too convinced about the noise these make.
Harley Davidson Superlow XL883L - The Comprehensive Review-orange-iron-exhaust-fitting_2.jpg

The grips were nice but costly 6.5K for the pair.
Harley Davidson Superlow XL883L - The Comprehensive Review-orange-iron-hand-grip.jpg

The 1st service was done almost satisfactorily till the technician scratched the bike while changing the rear reflector strip which was done FOC but then it was not new. I raised the complaint about the scratch today after I noticed it. It is quite invisible and livable.
Harley Davidson Superlow XL883L - The Comprehensive Review-superlow-1st-service-08102013-scratch.jpg

The bill came to Rs. 6118/-
Harley Davidson Superlow XL883L - The Comprehensive Review-superlow-1st-service-08102013-bill_1.jpg

The HSRP's
Harley Davidson Superlow XL883L - The Comprehensive Review-superlow-hsrp-rear.jpg

Harley Davidson Superlow XL883L - The Comprehensive Review-superlow-hsrp-front.jpg

Finally the bike today after a polish job at home
Harley Davidson Superlow XL883L - The Comprehensive Review-superlow-after-1st-service.jpg

Sir - when you say NEW Orange - did you mean a new bike in Orange? or the New model? (2014 model in orange?)

Shubz

Originally Posted by Shubz (Post 3261036)
when you say NEW Orange - did you mean a new bike in Orange? or the New model?

This is some new Candy Orange colour that they have launched on their various models. No 2014 model yet anywhere in sight for India. It is still some months away.

They have also increased the rates of all their bikes starting from 20,000/- + from 1st October stating the US dollar. So I have just saved 20k on my Superlow.

Woops appears that am weeks behind Team BHP Forum. Congratulations and I must admit Harleys look best in their blacks and chrome.

Wishing you loads of miles with smiles and when are you planning for the GQ Ride? This bike is capable of doing it quite easily and you should be able to cover atleast 800 kms without breaking a sweat.

Take Care and have fun Man

Originally Posted by ku69rd (Post 3261097)
Wishing you loads of miles with smiles and when are you planning for the GQ Ride? This bike is capable of doing it quite easily and you should be able to cover atleast 800 kms without breaking a sweat.

Thanks. But covering 800kms in one go!! Sure sounds like a task for the butt... lolz. Mine feels sore after a 100kms or so and needs a break. Maybe after a sofa type seat upgrade and specialised under garments. And I never bought the bike for covering such long distances like the GQ but for leisurely drives. But you never know when the maniac in me might wake up.

So there is nothing like "free service"! Gosh!! I got to get out of this mentality! lol:

Everything about this brand is quite expensive. I bought a coffee mug - INR899!

The jackets, the helmets et al - all in 5 digits! lol.

Originally Posted by Shubz (Post 3261591)
So there is nothing like "free service"! Gosh!! I got to get out of this mentality! lol:

Its more like a bank, just that the returns/interest/saving would be the feeling of your heart. :D

Originally Posted by jkdas (Post 3261843)
Its more like a bank, just that the returns/interest/saving would be the feeling of your heart. :D

How true! :)

But honestly - even if one were to buy the over-priced stuff (viz, the crash guards, the foot pegs, seats etc) - at least one would have the satisfaction of getting quality stuff.

On another note - They shouldn't be so stringent as to - even if you get an aftermarket crash guard fitted - Warranty is lost! :Shockked:

Originally Posted by Shubz (Post 3261852)
even if you get an aftermarket crash guard fitted - Warranty is lost!

That's impossible. Crash Guard has nothing to do with warranty. 2 of my Harley mates are using crash guards fabricated at their own factory. In worst case scenario you can always remove it before taking your bike to the workshop for warranty claims.

I also saw a Iron with after-market rear seat and footpegs fitted from Riders, Karol Bagh, Delhi. The seat was OK but the footpeg quality was suspect. He saved about 6-7k on both but I don't think it was worth it. The OE accessories are SOLID. You can stand on the OE footpegs, even if you are 100kgs, and these will not snap off. Also the paint component even on footpeg mounts is a 7 layer process to prevent any future rusting.

Originally Posted by Shubz (Post 3261591)
So there is nothing like "free service"!

Yes, service is costly but not prohibitory. OE accessories are expensive but a class apart in quality.

One interesting thing Shubz. I met a guy with a 15 day old Iron from Gurgaon who had come for his 1st service. He used to ride a Fat Bob in the US and had just returned back. He had done Stage-3 Screaming Eagle Mods and accessorised his bike heavily with a fuel gauge, seats, pegs, sissy bar, ecu upgrade, etc. etc. He told me that his bike's cost was now 11 lacs!! I told him why he did not go for a Street Bob at that price. His explanation was that in Indian riding conditions, the 883s are the most practical bikes, easily maneuverable and drivable. He said his bike was capable of 170+ speeds, a gain of about 10% over stock and a lot rev happy. The heavier bikes are drivable only once in a while as road conditions will get tiring for regular riders. I somehow agreed with his apprehensions.

Originally Posted by dkaile (Post 3261907)
Yes, service is costly but not prohibitory. OE accessories are expensive but a class apart in quality.

One interesting thing Shubz. I met a guy with a 15 day old Iron from Gurgaon who had come for his 1st service. He used to ride a Fat Bob in the US and had just returned back. He had done Stage-3 Screaming Eagle Mods and accessorised his bike heavily with a fuel gauge, seats, pegs, sissy bar, ecu upgrade, etc. etc. He told me that his bike's cost was now 11 lacs!! I told him why he did not go for a Street Bob at that price. His explanation was that in Indian riding conditions, the 883s are the most practical bikes, easily maneuverable and drivable. He said his bike was capable of 170+ speeds, a gain of about 10% over stock and a lot rev happy. The heavier bikes are drivable only once in a while as road conditions will get tiring for regular riders. I somehow agreed with his apprehensions.

Wow! thats interesting! The On-road price of Iron 883 in Bangalore (currently) is a shade over 8 lakhs. So with all those yummy accessories you mentioned, for "just" 3 lakhs - sounds cool.

And he is so right, the heavier Bob's and Glides - maneuverability is a big question in Indian conditions and as you rightly put it.

What is the actual top speed on SL? 130? 140?

hi dkaile,

Super bike! You can do justice by posting more detailed pictures to motivate us for the future.

Very nice to go through the thread!

Happy gliding!!

Thanks for the first service details, good for guys pooling in money to join the HOG. Looks like owning one would be nearing my retirement :D.

Welcome kit looks icing on cake, can understand your excitement. Just like the moment Team-BHP memebership was accepted. clap:

Originally Posted by Shubz (Post 3261923)
What is the actual top speed on SL? 130? 140?

It is supposedly 165. Though I doubt that can be achieved on many roads in India except the Yamuna Agra Expressway. I have done 120+ and anything above 130~140 should not be practical.

Originally Posted by dkaile (Post 3261934)
It is supposedly 165. Though I doubt that can be achieved on many roads in India except the Yamuna Agra Expressway. I have done 120+ and anything above 130~140 should not be practical.

Fair enough sir. around 120 is safe and doable on this kind of bike. without straining self or the machine. With the Duke - when we head out to places like Yercaud - there are arrow straight highways - where we have maxed out very often (rev limiter kicking in - with favorable wind)

the question I'd ask myself - Would I spend 3 lakhs to get a few BHP more? a few kms more top speed? :) (besides all those cool extra's of course)

On this thread -- http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/superb...-2013-a-3.html -- I even read this --> "With the suspension tuned in properly, the bike can handle upto 170"