Team-BHP > Motorbikes > Superbikes & Imports

Old 11th July 2006, 07:04   #1

Harley Davidson is Here - Website Launched

Bike lovers, there is something to look forward to. American bike maker, Harley Davidson wants to come to India and has uncle Sam working for them with the Indian authorities to lower duties and emission norms for their products. The company wants to import 500 cc bikes into the country! So all you performance bike lovers out there, start saving up for a Harley. Price? About Rs. 2 to 3 lakhs, unless the Indian government lowers duties.

Source: The Economic Times.

Last edited by amit : 11th July 2006 at 07:06.
Old 11th July 2006, 08:32   #2

2 to 3 lakhs sounds reasonable to me.....but then, I dont knwo how much Harleys cost in the US......so I cant really judge....
Old 11th July 2006, 10:28   #3

Amit.. somehow HD does not strike me as a 'PERFORMANCE BIKE'.
It's like saying the Bullet is a performance bike.
Don't get me wrong here.. both Bullet's and HD's are good on their own.. but would prefer it if the Jap companies that are already set up here brought in their goodies first..we really don't need another poser bike..(imo naturally)
Old 11th July 2006, 12:42   #4

i didnt know harleys had 500cc bikes! i thought minimum engine capacity was 833cc or nearabouts!
Old 11th July 2006, 13:34   #5

500 cc Harley????

thats like saying a 100 CC Bullet!

But if this news is accurate (capacity of the bike notwithstanding), I am putting all my expenses on hold and saving BIGTIME, and will be the first lot of customers for HD in India.
Old 11th July 2006, 13:57   #6

Location: Windsor, Canada... But still a Bombay-Boy at heart !!!

Theres a Harley showroom right besdies where I live. I'll go poke around trying to find something on a 500cc. As far as I am aware of, no 2005 models are below 883cc. But this means, no XL1200 R roadster or the V-Rod . Guess I'm saving up for nothing then.
Who else here can feel the pain???
As for price, an aquaintance imported a second-hand 2002 Springer Softail Custom legally for just over 9 lakhs.
Old 11th July 2006, 15:02   #7

a Harley @ 2-3lac? Hello? Did I read it right? A comet costs 2lac, teh Beemer costed 4lac.

edit:

got it http://www.powersportsnetwork.com/us...cles340050.htm
500cc Harley

Last edited by jkdas : 11th July 2006 at 15:13.
Old 14th July 2006, 16:20   #8

When they said 500cc, they probably had the entry level Buell blast in mind.
It retails for about $4.5k which is approximately 2-3 lacs as mentioned in the article.
The design is a bit radical with a huge disc up front and a kevlar belt !!
Not very powerful, but then with 34hp, not bad either

http://www.buell.com/en_us/bikes_gea...last/index.asp

Old 14th July 2006, 16:43   #9

But then the buell stable also has more powerful and sexier looking streetbikes like these which come in options of 900 & 1200ccs.
Pricewise, they're about 2-3 times the cost of the blast.

Buell lightning

Buell firebolt
http://www.sportrider.com/bikes/2004...xb12r-d3-1.jpg

Golden firebolt
http://www.mcnews.com.au/Wallpaper/B..._gold_1024.jpg

Buell ulysses, an off roader.

These are sure to follow
So keep your fingers crossed guys and get ready to welcome the Buells !!!
Old 14th July 2006, 17:14   #10

Buells coming to India ??!! I have died and gone to Heaven.
Old 15th July 2006, 00:30   #11

Buells *** i would love to get one
Old 15th July 2006, 02:34   #12

As if!!
Old 16th July 2006, 21:09   #13

as far as i know harley r loking for a tie up with either bajaj or hero prefering the former one cos hero is tied up with honda which competes with harley outside india...the price range should b around 4 to five lacks...they r having probs with emission norms, v follow eropean standards here n these bikes dont meet hese norms...so the price could go up...the assembly of these will b done here with the indian tie up...the american congress is very eager for harley to start operations in india...
Old 16th July 2006, 21:50   #14

harleys in India sounds good but looking to their maintainence problems and service history on models its a bigger money blackhole than A royal enfield.

Would prefer a royal enfield to A harley anyday.

If you want to buy a 500cc bike, get a bullet 500. Its got a bucketful of torque for your leisurely drive.
Old 17th July 2006, 03:42   #15

Originally Posted by devarshi84
harleys in India sounds good but looking to their maintainence problems and service history on models its a bigger money blackhole than A royal enfield.

Would prefer a royal enfield to A harley anyday.

If you want to buy a 500cc bike, get a bullet 500. Its got a bucketful of torque for your leisurely drive.
There is no 500cc harley in the market right now, which means they would most likely be Buells. That would put them in a totally different class than the RE. Buells are superbikes, whereas REs are tourers (i'm not sure what a RE is exactly - more like a cruiser/tourer). And personally, I would go for a Buell anyday for 500cc.